We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Sousse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard du 14 Janvier | P.O. Box 114, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 hotels in Sousse
Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in Sousse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Terrific hotel. Good service, clean, helpful staff. As all food buffet plenty of choice. Noisy of at the front of the hotel with a disco below until the early hours but Sea view beautiful and peaceful (apart from the birdsong) I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade to sea view if possible, but, there can be a premium,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Responsable relations publiques at Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing the time to review and comment your experience at the Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your encouragements are much appreciated and we wish to reassure you that no effort will be spared to maintain our quality of service at a level that meets the expectations of our discerning guests.

We thank you again for your kindness and look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    475
    215
    116
    61
    38
See reviews for
256
359
71
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week 2nd - 9th march as a family. 2 adults and 1 infant. The hotel is lovely. Very clean and the service is really friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they accommodated our 5 month old baby even at the a la carte restaurants. The only place he wasn't allowed was the spa. We loved the meals in "la villa"...the stuffed chicken with mango was to die for! my partner was partial to salmon strawberries and tunisian brut for breakfast! They cater for everyone. Eggs, omelettes, youghurt, fruit, cereals, cheese meats etc. There is even a pancake station. The tapas bar was good at lunch time..the meatballs were gorgeous. We had "late" lunch most days so ate off the snack menu in the cosy foyer area. The club sandwich or quiche were our favourites. You can sit in the impressive foyer area and watch the world go by. Been March the weather was hit and miss so the heated salt water pool was a dream. Our little boy loved it in there. Just like getting in the bath! We would definitely recommend the hotel. The only thing that let's it down is the location....sousse! Had it been in port el kantaoui I think it would have appealed so much more but if you are looking for a relaxing holiday and don't want to venture out then this is the perfect choice. It's a shame we went out of season as I would have loved to see the beach bar and jacuzzi grill bar in operation. Maybe next year!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Responsable relations publiques at Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing the time to review and comment your experience at the Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your encouragements are much appreciated and we wish to reassure you that no effort will be spared to maintain our quality of service at a level that meets the expectations of our discerning guests.

We thank you again for your kindness and look forward to welcoming you again at our property, perhaps next year in summer of late spring, as the Levant Grill & Jacuzzi on the beach has reopened its doors since April 1.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Don't stay anywhere else in this area of Tunisia. This hotel is fantastic. We paid to upgrade from a low quality hotel and it was our best decision as we loved our short holiday after this and would now return to Tunisia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Responsable relations publiques at Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing the time to review and comment your experience at the Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your encouragements are much appreciated and we wish to reassure you that no effort will be spared to maintain our quality of service at a level that meets the expectations of our discerning guests.

We were especially glad to hear that this last stay with us probably turned you into one of the destination's most fervent ambassadors. We know the importance of having won such a friend for Tunisia, and would like to tell you how much we value your friendship.

We thank you again for your kindness and look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Having just returned from my 3rd visit to the Moevenpick Hotel , Sousse i felt i had to write and say the service at this amazing hotel just gets better and better with each visit,from the friendly and polite security guys on duty in the forecourt of the hotel to the reception staff.to waiters to feme de chambre who allways left my room imaculate and well stocked with sachets of tea,coffee sugar and milk every member of staff could not do enough for me thus making my stay a delight. I will be returning.

Room Tip: Any rooms overlooking the swimming pools are excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Responsable relations publiques at Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing the time to review and comment your experience at the Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your third stay with us and would like to seize this opportunity tio thank you for your loyalty. Your encouragements are much appreciated and we wish to reassure you that no effort will be spared to maintain our quality of service at a level that meets the expectations of our discerning guests.

We thank you again for your kindness and look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The movenpick hotel is a nice and actually huge hotel in the Sousse hotel zone. If you expect some little hotel far away from the touristic zone, you are wrong here in the first place. The Movenpick is designed as a high class hotel, not only but mainly for a beach holiday. So, in the summer time, it must be crowded. We went there in winter, so it was to cold to swim. We cannot judge the beach, but it seemed well maintained and clean. During Off-Season, the hotel is calm, few customers there. You don´t have to wait for service, all of the staff speak several languages (english, frensh) and were quick to help us. Although we didn´t stay long (2 nights) it was enough to get an overall good impression of the hotel. It was clearly the best of the big and high-class hotels we visited in Tunesia. The rooms are new, modern and have a nice design, the bathrooms are spacious and have (nearly) everything you expect from them. The beds however are not very solid. Everytime i leaned my back against the wall while sitting on them, they were moving away from the wall. We had a nice view an the pools and the beach and didn´t pay extra for it. Although I think this would not happen in high season, I still appreciated it. The Spa is very nice. In Winter time you can use a heated in- and outdoor seawater pool. The whole hotel, especially the lobby, show luxury everywhere. Sometimes too much for me, but that is just my personal opinion. The breakfast (we only had B&B, so I cannot judge the restaurants) was really good and tasty, the best we had in Tunesia. Again, since it was Off-Season, there were no queues at the buffet. Maybe it is different in summer time. If you go there in the winter, you will not only find a good service, but maybe also you can make a good bargain, since the locations in the hotel zones like Hammamet, Djerba or Sousse make discounts! At the end I have to criticize one thing: Although the Movenpick is a new 5 Star-Hotel from 2010, you find little worn-off traces and some minor "construction mistakes" if you look closer. (for example: all hinges of the doors in the Spa (toiletts, showers) have broken the surrounding tiles.) They do not bother at all. I just don´t understand sometimes (also in other hotels around the planet) that such little things are not prevented, for the sake of the hotel itself. Overall: An excellent hotel that I can recommend without a doubt, especially during Off-Season!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Responsable relations publiques at Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing the time to review and comment your experience at the Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your encouragements are much appreciated and we wish to reassure you that no effort will be spared to maintain our quality of service at a level that meets the expectations of our discerning guests.

We have noted your comments about the hinges (among other details) and have added that particular detail to our to-do maintenance list. We congratulate you on your sharp eyes and thank you for pointing such details out, as this sort of help is instrumental in keeping the property as we like to see it.

We thank you again for your kindness and look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is truly one of the best hotels in Tunisia - spotlessly clean, nice food at La Ville, so many staff...so many managers (they ought to own shares in Tunisian suit manufacturers). Strangely, most people would associate Movenpick with fantastic ice cream, but not a single scoop of their own brand will be served to you - a missed opportunity to link with their brand. The only other curious thing is that the bath towels are far from fluffy, however if you fancy exfoliating your skin then they are just the ticket

Room Tip: Get the sea view or you will REALLY regret it...this comes from the man who normally doesn't con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Responsable relations publiques at Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing the time to review and comment your experience at the Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your encouragements are much appreciated and we wish to reassure you that no effort will be spared to maintain our quality of service at a level that meets the expectations of our discerning guests.

The ice cream issue is due to a small problem with imports, which we are told should be resolved soon. As for the not-so-fluffy towels you referred to, thank you for pointing this out. Your remarks have been forwarded to our Executive Housekeeper along with your room number and dates of stay so that one can better understand what happened. At any rate, please accept our apologies if the towels in your room were not up to your expectations.

We thank you again for your kindness and look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were both relieved and delighted when the coach finally dropped us off at the Movenpick hotel...compared to the other hotels along the way, it certainly was the pick of the bunch...and according to travellers at the airport on the way home...the other hotels were not a patch on the Movenpick.

There are several outdoor pools in excellent condition, one of which is heated sea water. The sun loungers are very comfortable...though the beach towels rather holey and stained...take your own and you'll be fine.

The beach had beautiful clean, fine sand and the sea was clean....other than the abundance of jelly fish. Best to take water shoes to go on the beach to avoid treading on an unsuspecting jelly fish.

The room was large, clean and with a lovely view...we had 5058. It is absolutely worth upgrading to a sea view otherwise your room overlooks the road and is noisy and smelly.

The Movenpick wifi is very expensive...about £22 for he week, but if you sit in the lobby it is possible to pick up a free wifi network.

We were half board. Dinner was in one of four places, the buffet....terrible but children might like it...the tapas ....quite good, the Japanese....good and the Villa....superb. We ate in the Villa for five nights and the quality of food was outstanding. The beef tenderloin was superb. You have to book 24 hours in advance....don't forget....this restaurant is fab. Wine is expensive other than the Tunisian wine which isn't great. We stuck to beer and fresh orange juice.

The spa.....a bit of a hassle....you have to change and walk all the way down the corridor wearing shoe protectors...you get your towel once you get to the pool. The water is salt water and there is a range of jets that are sometimes working. I booked a pedicure which was a 55 minute treatment. It started 15 minutes late, the quality of the manicure was terrible...a bit like getting your kid sister to shape and paint your nails! There was no paraffin treatment as promised and it finished after 30 minutes which included waiting for the girl to wash out the foot bath and sterilise the implements I queried the length of the treatment and was firstly told that my feet were in such a good state that they did not require a full length treatment...bollocks!!! Then I was told that due to the veins in my feet I did not medically qualify for the paraffin treatment...as if my kid sister was qualified to make a medical diagnosis! After a quick survey of the clients waiting for treatments, it was agreed that my feet did not have veins...they initially offered me a 15 per cent discount...but then decided it was best to provide the brief unsatisfactory treatment free. Needless to say, I did not book any other treatments...the general consensus of other guests was that the spa staff cut corners and keep treatments as short as possible ...up to you!

We hired a car and driver...Tunisian driving is crazy.....this was far better than the coach trips and only marginally more expensive but we did twice as much.

Back to the hotel...the staff were smart, polite, helpful and always at your service. It was well positioned and very safe.

The hotel was very quiet which was great...I dread to think what it would be like in the high season...as it was....we didn't get a seat at breakfast on a couple of occasions and opted to go across the road to the Italian which was fab! Breakfast was disappointing, but it didn't spoil our overall enjoyment of the holiday.

If you are traveling to Sousse I suggest you pick the Movenpick or your holiday in the sun might not be as enjoyable as you hoped.

Room Tip: Book a sea view or you will overlook the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse

Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier | P.O. Box 114, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#5 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is located at the entertainment heart of Sousse, and just minutes away from the city centre. Opened in April 2010, this luxury resort is the first International chain resort in the city of Sousse. LocationThe Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is located on a prime 300-metre beachfront location in the heart of the city, only 20 km away from Habib Bourguiba Monastir Airport and 135 km from downtown Tunis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse Hotel Sousse
Moevenpick Resort And Marine Spa Sousse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.