We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two comparisons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escargot

Escargot
87, route de la Corniche, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Tél :(73) 224 779 .
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“two comparisons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

hi, i visited here from 2006 until 2012 and each time i found big change, moneywise, in 06 it was amazing, whether it had to do with management of the recession, i dont know but then it was amazing, then recently i found that i could sit in a corner and be unrecognizable, i felt none of the staff cared, the food was the same, it was beautiful but i just felt the personality of the restaurant had changed. for the worst. there was no atmosphere, something missing. but i could not fault the food, it was beautiful and professional. pity about the service and the ambience.........

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    32
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

food service atmosphere --------------brilliant went in with 7 friends we were welcomed by the owner straight away ,-- the waiter brought us a selection of savoury nibbles , my friend & Ihad the lamb cooked in the oven was tender & tasty the food came on hot plates was first class presentation had a great night little xpensive for Tunisia but was worth it will def go in there again as I go to Tunisia very often so will b on my list

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“friendly and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This restaurant is well positioned for the beach hotels in Sousse, and was busy whenever we passed. There are a few tables outside and more inside, and the staff are friendly without being pushy. The food is French in style, with few if any local dishes, but there is a good selection and it is well cooked, and the prices reasonable.

Seems to be very reliable, and one of the better restaurants in Sousse.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing food resonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Food was great I had a prawn cocktail and steak and chips , this was one of the best meals I have had in Tunisia!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemsworth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Probably the best restaurant in Sousse. Staff very attentive but kept their distance until needed. The food was fantastic throughout every course.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escargot also viewed

Sousse, Sousse Governorate
Sousse, Sousse Governorate
 
Sousse, Sousse Governorate
Sousse, Sousse Governorate
 

Been to Escargot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escargot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.