We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, clean rooms, helpful staff and simple but good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Faracha

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Faracha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Faracha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du papillon, Sousse 4000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 39 hotels in Sousse
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value for money, clean rooms, helpful staff and simple but good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our holiday in Tunisia. We used the Hotel El Faracha in Sousse as a base for our backpacking trip around the south of Tunisia.

We stayed in rooms 404 for two nights at the beginning of the week and room 505 at the end of the week. While room 404 was a corner room, a double bed and a single bed, my wife Heather preferred room 505 as the en suite bathroom was bigger. Both rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The shower fixtures and fittings could have done with a with a bit of love, but the hot water was hot and the cold water was cold, so not a problem.

Both rooms had balconies, with a view over the neighbourhood. Both rooms had a tv with local channels. Both rooms had air conditioning, which we didn't need (it being January and all)

The reception staff were friendly and helpful, they all spoke English and French and let us leave our luggage at the hotel while we travelled around the rest of the country.

Breakfast was hot fresh coffee served in a pot along with a pot of hot milk, baguette bread slices butter and jam, croissants and or pain chocolate and on some days a boiled egg or a yogurt. Simple, but a good start to the day. My wife loves her coffee in the morning and was happy with the freshly brewed coffee served to us.

The room cost us 25 tunisian dinar, per person per night for a non-smoking double room with en suite toilet and shower and continental breakfast. This is the low season rate and both my wife and I thought this was great value for money.

The Hotel El Faracha is walking distance from both the town centre and the railway station. There is an ecumenical church 200 metres away with a Catholic Mass at 9.30am and a Protestant service at 11am on Sunday mornings. The sea front with a sandy beach is 200 metres down the hill across the road. If you don't want to walk then a taxi into town should cost you no more than 2 dinar or 3 dinar to the louage station. There is a cafe on the corner and shops where you can buy water, soft drinks, sweets and toiletries etc on the main road. There is also a small supermarket open during the day, less than 5 minutes walk away down the main road in the direction heading away from the town centre.

So if you are looking a great value for money hotel, simple accommodation without any extra frills and thrills in a location close to town, then the Hotel El Faracha is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking on the 4th or 5th floor - (By the way, you'll be pleased to know there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
12
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Were staying at El Hanna Beach but closed down half way through our stay, got chucked out, found this hotel close to beach and town. Cheap, basic breakfast but clean a little hotel noise. I would stay here again if looking for a cheap place no frills to stay.

Room Tip: go for inside facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is centrally located just behind the Corniche. 2 minutes to the sea. Rooms are spacious & comfortable with TV, fridge & A/C. One of the quieter hotels in Sousse. Breakfast is simple but fine. Rooms 25 Dinar = £10

Room Tip: Upper floors better. Check windows close properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was on business and did not want to stay in one of the many large beachfront hotels that cater to package group tourists. Also I didn't want to stay out of the way in Port Kantouri which is where so many of the supposedly "Sousse" hotels are really located. There's nothing authentic Tunisian about that area and I wanted to be in Sousse itself. This hotel proved to be entirely satisfactory. It's an older structure but the rooms are in good condition and the location is good, close to the beach and the medina. I didn't care for the food in the hotel restaurant but there are plenty of restaurants in the area. This place is good value for money and a good place to stay as long as you don't want all the trappings of a big modern tourist-market hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

For sure a veey good hotel with good quality price ratio. New rooms and equiPment close to a very nice beach. Nice and welcoming staff. Good breakfast. I recommend for few days or the weekend. Building is way more modern than the rest of the hotels in sousse.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is a bit old and dated but is definitely excellent value for money: for 45 Euro we got a kitchen, living room, two bedrooms, one bathroom and two balconies (one with see view). Beach is nearby. Location is ok with a lot of restaurants in surroundings.
"Free private parking" is advertised by the hotel, but basically, you park on a side street.
The hotel is a bit difficult to find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was in this hotel months ago. It was good experiences. Hotel is with great location. Rooms are spacious and cllined every day. Breakfast is, as others already write, pour.
Be careful when u take a room. Make sure that you pay room which u wanted. The TV, AC and mini Frigidaire are extra payable. Of course, some agency are included TV and AC in it's arrangements, so check it, otherwise you'll be asked to pay 1-1,5 euros per day for each of this goods. There are only 2 sockets for laptops in restaurant. Wi-fi in lobby is only for phones or tablets.The staff was helpful spatially younger man who work during a day.
It will be beter if there are Wi-fi in rooms, but my be it will be in future.
Global impression isn't so bad.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor are no smoking, for others I don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Faracha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Faracha

Address: Rue du papillon, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Faracha 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city center of Sousse, a bautiful city which associates quiet and leisure and 50 m from fascinating “Boujaafar ”beach, the hotel EL FARACHA will charm you with its great confort and priviliged situation, it is luxiriously equipped and air conditionned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel El Faracha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Faracha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.