We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic , peaceful, relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scheherazade Hotel Sousse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sousse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scheherazade Hotel Sousse
Save
You added Scheherazade Hotel Sousse to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bloulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Sousse
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic , peaceful, relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We went in April for 1 week and it was hot! It rained on the day we left so we were lucky indeed.

We booked through Thompson so our transfer was included, there will be people who work at the airport who will try to take your bag, it's there job and they only get paid in tips so your choice if you want to use them. We used one and he knew which coach we were in so made it convenient for us!

When you get to the hotel you are greeted by some staff who welcome you and whisk you off to reception they will get you checked in and bring you drinks and chocolates to make the wait and checking in process not so miserable, Tunisia only has 2 days of flights so checking in will always be a busy affair (prepare for the busiest airport when returning home!)

The room was amazing, I was really impressed, standard room it's not huge but has a balcony with a table and chairs, we were given complimentary wine and fruit which was sweet as well as water and coke. They also make towel art and the bed had rose petals.

The whole hotel has a couples feel, there were more younger couples than I was expecting but certainly older people too and it was never loud or rowdy, everyone was chill and relaxed.

We went before peak season but I think the hotel was still quite full but it never felt crowded, the four poster sun loungers everyone wants but we still got to go on them quite a few times and there's always free loungers on the private beach.

The guy selling excursions is Ok! he was always around the pool but if you just "hear the pitch" all he would do was say Hi to you when he saw you, I think it's peoples own problem if that bothers you a lot! We actually did buy 2 excursions from him and both worth it, one was the quad bikes (I don't drive and found it scary but loved it all the same, please note part of the track goes on to the main road where there's chickens and kids they will move though! But maybe only for the experienced people or adrenaline junkies)
The other was the pirate ship, it's a show, barbecue fish lunch and fishing /swimming

We went into the town with another couple to the market, be wary of people near the entrance who say they're from your hotel, this hotel doesn't have wristbands so they guess it's this hotel, inside the market the vendors are really nice and respectful, I never felt pressured to buy anything which is a nice change! We found an amazing little cafe tucked away where locals go it's 3 floors and the smoothies are amazing!

The hotel staff were 5* honestly every little touch was thought of, like the information for your departure and checking out details were left the night before with a macaroon! Every member of staff I came across was lovely and my waiter who kept our table and had our drinks ready every night was a little star.

No one asks for tips and we tipped on the day before we left, the staff are so great you want to tip they really go the extra mile and it makes the place!

Everything was clean, very good standards everywhere including outside. The shower/bath could be more modern but honestly it didn't stop me enjoying this place.

I really liked the food, I always ate too much! My fiance is a chef so you could say we're a bit of a foodie couple every night we always found something that tasted amazing but we did literally try to taste everything! The theme night keeps it from being boring although they're not authentic themed food so think of tunisian ingredients making Italian food etc but we enjoyed it all the same :-)

At night they sometimes have live singers in the bar area there were some really good ones! They also put on a beach party on Saturday night which was fun, if you like it a bit lively.

All and all I'm really glad we came here it was really reasonably priced, the hotel is nice, staff are amazing and the food was good, we were looking for a couples mini relaxing holiday and this was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    306
    90
    26
    6
See reviews for
36
1,147
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Myself and my wife loved this hotel. We went on our honeymoon and we received a bottle of sparkling wine and a basket of fruit in our room on arrival, was a very nice gift in our room to walk into on arrival, we then got an invitation to a special get together for people celebrating something. Thick white bedrobe each, comfy white slippers, was great we both wore then all week to relax. The food was great, fed up of the food tasting the same every night in other hotels, not this one, never had the same evening meal twice. Our room was fab, maids were very friendy. Never had any problems booking a table in the restaurants. The evening entertainment wasn't the best but better than nothing. Nothing outside the hotel within walking distance apart from a shop. 10 min taxi ride to the harbour, a couple of quid. Harbour is worth the trip if you like to sit outside in the sun with a drink or meal and watch the boats sail in, plenty of boats to take a trip in and catamarans. Hotel was very clean and modern. Our TV signal was poor, only a couple of English channels, we don't go on holiday to watch TV BUT we do like to chill out in our room for a couple of hours before we go out in the evening. Grab yourself some tea bags from the restaurant if you like your tea as you don't get much in the room and trying to ask for English tea bags is a nightmare, kept getting flavoured bags, and milk from the bar. The pools are nice, small but just fine. If you like peace then this is the place for you, you are left to yourself to eat and drink all day, no noise or activities in your face. Get down early to get your sunbed as this is a major problem. Would we go back again????? Yes we would.... Why? Mainly because we loved the food, we felt like we were having a romantic meal every night. If you like things to do outside your hotel and to be kept busy at the hotel then this is not the place for you. If you like a touch of luxury, great food, peace and quiet then you will love this hotel. Paragliding on the beach. Beach is nice. Other hotels next to you. Airport a nightmare, takes ages.

Room Tip: Top floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I would just like to say how Friendy the people were at the Scheherazade Hotel in Sousse.

The staff could not do enough for you and the hotel is lovely and right on the beach. There are 2 pools and plenty of sun loungers, even four poster ones if you are feeling romantic. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a holiday.

The food quality is great with lots of choice.

The entertainment team were fabulous and got people involved in the fun and games.

It is such a shame about the horrific terrorist attack on a place that relies on tourism.

All the people we met in Tunisia were really Friendly

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself & my partner arrived at the hotel around 9pm on 24th June 2 days before the terrorist attack happened, so we only saw the hotel at its fullest for those two days as a lot of guests went home & no other guests were allowed into Tunisia.
When we did arrive the reception staff was very friendly & the porter showed us to our room which had an amazing view over looking the pool & the beach,the room was big enough for your needs & the bathroom had a bath & a shower which was ok,we didn't experience any change of water temperatures that some guests mention.there was a safe in the wardrobe but there is a charge for this.
The main pool was lovely & we tried out all the different beds which was situated around it,yes it's true, there are some people that get up at silly a clock to get certain beds one time a guest was there reserving his bed at 4.45am!!!!! There were only around 30 guests at the end of our holiday so we didn't need to bother reserving any beds as there were always plenty everywhere around the pools beach & grass areas.
The hotel as a beach & part of the sea which is roped off & private but I must say its not the cleanest sea we have been in & if you leave the hotels beach & walk along further up the coast it's very dirty with litter & soiled nappies on the sand.The hotel has security guys who were absolutely amazing especially the big guy Ali which kept everyone in check & we also had armed police after the attack which was also a good thing.
The breakfast was good but definitely need more fruit as a lot of people don't eat loads first thing & need something light to eat.The lunch was very good with a mixture of cooked & cold food on offer in the main restaurant & pizza, burgers, wraps, pasta, chicken, chips, salad in the pool cafe with a sit down service.The evening meals were excellent with different theme nights.
The alcoholic drinks were awful especially the spirits & cocktails, the wine was ok.
The entertainment in the courtyard was good the first week but it's the same the following week so maybe in the bar upstairs there could be some music playing instead of TV programme s the bar staff want to watch so there's another option.
The activity guy was crazy but kept us entertained with his so called dance moves his fantastic volleyball & football skills he didn't have clue with, but he was a nice hard working fella.
The manager came & spoke to the guests on a dairy basis & would help you with anything. Hedi/keep fit 77777 was fantastic & you must try his water keep fit.The first maid we only had for 4/5 days & we tipped her but on our last day she knocked on our door at 6.30am wanting another tip even tho she didn't clean our room which I thought was disgusting...Hidi the other maid/ cleaner was so sweet & everyone was her baby.
I found some waiters were really lazy who couldn't be bothered to fill up your glasses & the guests had to keep asking over & over for a drink even tho there were hardly any guests, the tables were not cleared especially at breakfast which we did ourselves most mornings so that really needs to be addressed, The other waiters were fantastic especially the trainees who seemed more experienced & a few waiters at the pool cafe were nice.
The pool/beach boys were lovely friendly guys,& need more music CDs for all the pool guests as the music is awful & years old....
The hotel complex was lovely & had stunning views but we didn't experience the full atmosphere of it because of the terrorist attack,we meet some really wonderful people & will be keeping in touch with them & I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was lovely and clean. Stayed in September 2014 with my girlfriend and it was a perfect hotel for our first couples holiday. The Thomson reps were very helpful and knowledgable about the local area and excursions. Both swimming pools are very good and clean and the entertainment around the pool very funny.
The food was brilliant. Buffet style food was served was served three times a day at meal times. Each night had different themed food such as Italian/French. There was also a 'Tunisian Corner' which was worth tasting as it can sometimes be difficult to taste local style food in an all inclusive hotel.
Evening entertainment was ok. Some nights it was just nice background noise to listen to when having an evening drink, other nights were very entertaining.
Good local beer served throughout the day as well as other soft drinks. Snack bars open in the pool bar are very handy during the day.

Room Tip: Get a cab into town for 5 dinar and experience the Sousse Souk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

after a distinctly average beach holiday this year we realize how lucky we were last year to have found the Scheherazade. Very welcoming and friendly staff, beautiful, chilled out hotel, lovely clean room, great entertainment and activities, lovely food- the list goes on! only thing i can think for improvement was the beach was often quite littered, so could do with regular clean ups, and the pool could maybe do with heating in the off peak months! other than that 10/10. Really hope recent events don't deter people from this great place.

Room Tip: Get a higher-level balcony room overlooking the pool and beach. So lovely at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I decided to treat ourselves to a last minute holiday at the end of April. I cannot fault a single part of the holiday (except for a minor hiccup at check in, where I felt we and another couple were slightly put as last priority out of our whole coach of guests due to our ages) but we were then assured we would be given a nicer room to compensate for the wait. The room was laid out beautifully with rose petals everywhere, and a fruit basket with a bottle of wine. Our own balcony with a gorgeous sea view was a great place to spend the evenings before and after dinner. The pool area had enough sun beds for all guests, so no need to get up super early (although if you want a special double-bed or round one with a shade option, we had to wake up at 6!) but the beach is also well stocked with plastic sun beds, comfy cushions and grass umbrellas. Everything is so clean and the grounds are beautifully kept, with bright flowers wherever you look. The vibe was perfect for a couples holiday, although I didn't realise how coupley it would be until we got there! It's very chilled but with lots of activities should you so wish. The evenings were maybe a bit slow for a slightly shy couple in their early twenties on their own, but we enjoyed the Shisha and unlimited alcohol, and it would have been a great laugh if we'd been there with another couple. There was a bonfire party on the beach one night which was really fun, and a pool party with a raffle one afternoon- everything was thought through and well coordinated by the reps.
The food was really nice, lots of choice and something for even the fussiest. Every night had a different theme which prompts variety in your choice, and the food in "Tunisian corner" was always very nice. The wine was also really really delicious, with lovely waiters are constantly on hand to top up your drink and clear your plates.

I am deeply devastated by the attacks that occurred the month after our visit, and am worried on the affect they will have on the tourism in Tunisia. If, despite this, you are still thinking of a holiday to Tunisia in the future, I honestly cannot recommend Scheherazade Sousse enough!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.7 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 40 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 stars 1,872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 40 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 stars 1,444 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 40 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 1,509 reviews
0.4 mi away
LTI Thalassa Sousse
LTI Thalassa Sousse
#10 of 40 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#4 of 40 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scheherazade Hotel Sousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scheherazade Hotel Sousse

Address: Bloulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Sousse
Hotel Class:3 star — Scheherazade Hotel Sousse 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Scheherazade" concept is "Couples only" with romantic settings and new features such as; Spa, Swim-up pools, buffet restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants and more...We hope the service which we are prepared to render will be extremely satisfactory.Have a Magic Moments!!! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scheherazade Hotel Sousse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.