We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scheherazade Hotel Sousse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sousse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scheherazade Hotel Sousse
Save
You added Scheherazade Hotel Sousse to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bloulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous trip to this hotel. On arrival at 2am we were greeted and sent down to the restaurant for something to eat before we checked in. The check in process was swift but we were disappointed to find our room had single beds pushed together. I spoke to reception at 8.30am the next day and by 10am they had changed our room and our maid had moved all our cases over before we had a chance to. Our room was spotlessly clean everyday and we were never short of towels or toilet roll.
Both pools were amazing and they were both cleaned every night, the lifeguards,water sports guys and waiters were all great and it was no hardship to go and get your own drinks if you needed too. I believe the pool area is being refurbished at the end of the season so hopefully the bar will improve. It was disappointing to only get beer,wine and soft drinks there but it was adequate.
On the subject of drink, the quality could have been a little better but the bar teams and the bar manager could not do enough for you, once you "educated" the bar team as to how you liked your drink everything was fine.
The hotel does need to improve on the quality of their glasses and to make sure they have enough wine glasses and ladies beer glasses, I did not like drinking out of a half pint jug!
The food was excellent with plenty of choice and cooked fresh, the omelette lady was amazing and both the Food and Beverage Manager and Restaurant Manager could not do enough for you.

What makes this hotel stand out for me was the Management and all the staff, they wowed all the guests everyday, it is not often you see the Manager and Assistant Manager engaging with their guests on a daily basis. Hedi was an absolute star and truly lived up to all the reviews I read about him, I loved the Arabic lessons.

It makes me sad to read negative comments about Kirstie and Dan, they were happy to talk to everyone and were both doing a great job, I think guests sometimes have to understand the restraints Thomsons put on them, they are doing a job not on holiday! Emma was fab when she stepped in to cover the gap Jess left and did a much better job, Marcus was also brilliant.

The entertainment was low key but if you read your brochure you would have known that. Each evening was different and if you wanted to party until dawn you should have gone to Ibiza and not a Couples Hotel.

Overall we had a great time and Tunisia lived up to our expectations, I have already recommended the hotel to friends and family and one day in the next couple of years we will return.
Thanks to all, you were brilliant.

Room Tip: We had room 222, it was a double bed and had no issues, the maid kept everything spotless and we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    225
    73
    25
    6
See reviews for
19
815
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Firstly I will say that I agree with the review below by Chris W; it was pretty dire.

My Girlfriend and I arrived here in the third week of july for two weeks and were not impressed. The atmosphere is awful and who serves only beer and crap wine at a pool bar?

Our room was actually really nice although not worth the extra £200 for the junior sweet as all it included was an extra box room with a TV and two uncomfortable seats in it.

The food was the worst part for us; so much so as i was already planning our exit on the first night. The entertainment improved as the first week with the white night by the pool actually being quite good.

We decided by about the 4th day that we were going to cut the holiday a week short and left after 6 days to fly over to the south of france. I wouldn't have done this but because of work i couldn't take more than two weeks this summer and felt it would be worth writing off the holiday in favor of spending the same money again to spend a week in france.... if that doesn't say it then i don't know what will.

Whilst on holiday we did meet a really nice couple who did improve it for us a lot and some of the staff were really nice.

I assumed since the hotel was new and the reviews were so good that this would be a holiday to remember... the french part was.

Our thoughts were spend a lot of money on the bar and drinks selection, train the chefs, get some bacon and stop playing old school songs over a dated hi-fi system and calling it entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two weeks, the hotel is very nice and very well kept, always clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, Thompson reps were very nice, hedi (gok won) was fantastic so helpful friendly and had time for everyone, we had the same room cleaner for two weeks and she was lovely, always made the room up to a high standard, the room itself was ok, bed a bit hard, bathroom was not nice thought it was a newly refurnished hotel !! Not the bathroom very old and dated, all pool areas we very good as was the beach, on a slightly negative note we personally found the food not all that, very repetitive, the evening entertainment was poor, and if u like a nice Indian meal don't go to the Indian in this hotel it's very poor by far the worst Indian we have ever had, location is so so, you need to get a cab to any sort of night life, in general if you want a peaceful relaxing week away it's a good place to go.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just stayed here for a week. Every member of staff works so hard to make this a wonderful experience. All areas and rooms in hotel immaculately clean. Food was fantastic and lots to choose from. The breakfast staff (lady who makes omelettes) and the young, tall lad who makes pancakes and suchi fresh for you are really the happiest people in the world and seem very proud and pleased to be doing their job. Our waiter, Sami was an amazing guy and we wanted to bring him home! Also, the shorter pool guy around the main outdoor pool, worked his socks off and never stopped smiling.
Our room was great and yes, there are little things that may be improved in here but for the amount of money we paid and the little amount of time we actually spent in our room, this didn't matter one bit to us. If you want 5*, pay 5* money, that's what I say!!
Great info from Hedi and Kirsty at the welcome meeting with lots of extra tips about bartering, markets, general info etc. Hedi was a great, genuine guy and it is obvious that he loves his job and loves people.
The day time entertainment was good - (pool games, pool keep fit, cookery etc). Some evening activites were good - the beach party and the gala night were amazing and very romantic, however, our only critisim would be that some evenings not so good, particularly if you had dinner early then had to wait until 9.30/9.45 for something to happen. Also, it would be nice to have a bigger choice of drinks e/g cocktails, spirits served at the pool bar as this is limited to beer wine or soft drinks.
We also went to the spa and booked a programme of pampering which we could spread out over our week and split between us. We paid approx. £160 for 2x Turkish baths, 2xexfoliation 2x seaweed wraps, 4x full body massage, 1x hydrotherapy massage, 1x pedicure and 1x facial. Each and every treatment was totally amazing and for what we got at that price, excellent value for money! especially when you think 1x full body massage in UK ranges from £30-£60! Staff here were great too!
We did the market excursion which was interesting! However, we didn't feel harassed or forced to buy anything like you do in some places, there was no tugging or dragging you to stalls and market people were very friendly and still as friendly when you gave a firm NO, but make sure you haggle well as you will get some brilliant bargains. We also did the Zulu trip. The zoo was not a nice place and there wasn't much to see but the Zulu show was something different.
Tunisia is still up and coming and the surroundings of the hotel were not somewhere you could take a walk out of and spend a few hours mooching around. I was shocked to see, once we went out of the resort to the end of the road, how everything is either half built or half knocked down.It reminds you what this country has been through and how they are trying hard to develop it and better for themselves and tourists (well done Tunisia). Don't expect to go out of the hotel on an evening to lots of swanky bars and restaurants. You do need to take a cab or the road train a few miles down to the next built up place. The hotel is a haven in this area! I am sure that given a good few years, Tunisia will move forward as more tourists come and bring money for it to be able to clean up. I would be interested to return to the country in 6/7 years to see how it has progressed.
All in all, for the money we paid to go, we thought it was fantastic value for money.
TIP: If you want to do duty free shopping on the way home, book the VIP queue jumper for around £33 each. The airport is a nightmare. We waited for 2 hours to get through passport control after a swift check in and had to literally board our plane straight away. Airport seems understaffed and super slow. Many people almost missed their flight because of this!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was overall great. However i wouldnt say its for a young couple such as myself (20) the entertainment was disappointment, same duo for near enough every night we were there (8th till 18th). Food and staff were best thing about this hotel. Night bar staff were the best!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Me and my partener visited this hotel from 28th july for a week and can honestly say it was the best holiday ive had. We was welcomed so kindley with refreshments and music and the staff on arrival was outstanding. The rooms was brilliant, enough room and big wardrobe, the rooms was spotless everyday and little touches was there like rose petals, towels made into swans and the staff was so trustworthy. There are sea and pool views from every room which are amazing to watch the sunset from. The staff and travell rep Kirsty and Dan made the holiday. They couldnt do enough for you and anything you asked was no problem for them. Food was absolultey amazing and they wasnt stingy on the food or alchol provided. The only downside to this holiday was the evening enterainment. Not a huge amount was happening in the evening. Trips were really good and cheap and only a short taxi journey to the market. I can only say 1 week isnt enough ans we'll be returning next year for longer. A brilliant 9/10

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Saddened to return this morning from a fortnights holiday at this lovely hotel.
From the minute we arrived we felt welcomed by all the staff and the decor was beautiful.
Despite being a couples hotel, the clientele is a mixed age group ranging from early 20s to late 70s which was great considering me and boyfriend are young.
The food was lovely with a different theme every night keeping things interesting.We were never stuck for choice!
The only criticisms I have would be the night time entertainment could be a bit better and the Thomson reps(dan and kirsty)could take a leaf out of the rest of the staffs book in the way of attitude. We barely seen them and when we did they were not very approachable and quite unfriendly.
Special thanks need to be said to Fahmi, beach security. Despite being 21 he works harder than anyone in way of keeping the beach safe and clean and a genuinely nice guy. Also to Youssef, who is new at watersports. An amazing character who worked hard and dedicated alot time to teaching my boyfriend to wind surf. To Magdi, watersport chief,who was very knowledgeable, you could really trust him to keep you safe. He was very friendly and professional and also spent alot of time teaching my boyfriend to windsurf. And to Zaid the lifeguard who was very friendly and hard working , making sure the beach was clean and if the guests needed anything atall he was extremely helpful.These four went out of there way to accommodate us and deserve recognised for that! I will really miss them!! Have easily had the best holiday ever and would definitely return if the all these guys were still there. Marcos at entertainment was amazing at his job too. I wish he had been there from day one cos the girl before him was terrible but she's gone now.Marcos never failed in making me laugh and even on his day off I seen him checking everything was okay with the music and guests. Its a shame he's only covering! The new friend's we made, made our experience the best and can genuinely say I would 100% recommend this hotel thanks to them!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scheherazade Hotel Sousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scheherazade Hotel Sousse

Address: Bloulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scheherazade Hotel Sousse 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Scheherazade" concept is "Couples only" with romantic settings and new features such as; Spa, Swim-up pools, buffet restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants and more...We hope the service which we are prepared to render will be extremely satisfactory.Have a Magic Moments!!! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scheherazade Hotel Sousse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.