We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosny Mandarah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosny

Hosny
30 saffar pasha st,Bahary & Gamal abd el Nasser st., Alexandria, Egypt
002 03 4812350 / 002 03 5507717
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,192 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Marmande
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hosny Mandarah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good food and plenty of it. Very crowded, always seems to be busy. Could do with cleaning up after clients a bit better, rather messy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Ate twice at the Hosny located on Gamal abd el Nasser Street, Montazah, Alexandria. We ate grilled lamb chops (ribs) twice, mahshi mombar (rice-stuffed sausage) twice, grilled shrimp, and the various salads.

Food was served quite rapidly after ordering and was quite tasty, especially the lamb. The mombar was far better than the versions I've had in the USA. My wife, a native Alexandrian, thought the shrimp was excellent. We noticed a slight variation in the salad selection over successive nights, but it was all good.

Note to foreign customers: pay the tip directly to the server who manages your table. Do not include it in the money you use to pay the bill.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Traditional Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hosny is a traditional Restaurant established in Bahari, west of Alexandria but has lately expanded in several other location in Alexandria and in other Egyptian cities. Hosni initially had sorted with serving traditional Kebab and Kofta (grilled minced meat). Now Hosny is serving as we'll great seafood. The setting is simple and the service is very simple as well. The food tastes great and the prices are very reasonable.
The branch in Bahari has very authentic atmosphere with character, but, don't expect any sophistication. Other branches are more modernized but may lack character.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“dinner at hosny with family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

last friday I had dinner with my family at the new branch in down town in alexandria it is originally serving grilled meats as well as traditional Egyptian food. The salad were fresh but not alot of varieties and you have to ask more than once to get more the staff seemed confused and not on the ball despite it was not too busy.
The meat cuts were appropriate and delicious but most of our proposed menue they got us something else but It was yummy kebab and kofta but it is not the best as balbaa still the best
The dessert menue is so poor and I did not really enjoy any of the variety
I wont really recommend iot but it is value for money and I hope they will improve by time

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Excellent grill and good seafood as well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hosny is originally a grill restaurants serving mixed grilled meats as well as traditional Egyptian food. But this time we had a mix of grill and seafood. The meat was delicious but so was the calamaris and shrimps. We had a decent meal and the price was also reasonable. Next day we asked for delivery inside Montazah and the food was also very good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosny also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Hosny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.