We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to eat in but don't do take away.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balbaa Village

Balbaa Village
Malak Hifny St | Sidi Bishr And Down Town Branch, Alexandria 032023446, Egypt
16941
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,194 restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Egyptian, Grill, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
lansing, mi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great to eat in but don't do take away.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Calamari was great and I loved the salads (tomaya, bread, pasta salad and whatnot) Dining is at big tables and it's best to go with a group so you can share. The fish and prawns are nice also. You can eat very, very well for 100LE or around 20 dollars.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    59
    32
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Sometimes we travel ALX just to eat here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We Cairo people almost envy Alexandrians for having such a nice restaurant…
This restaurant serves very traditional Egyptian food, like Mahshy (stuffed vegitables with delicious secret recipes) grilled chicken & all kind of beef, veal, BBQ & kebab, They have another section serves fish and seafood, you can ask for any… Don’t miss endless types of oriental salads; There are 2 branches, one near to Carrefour desert road & 1 in Down Town which I like more except for the traffic.. prices are good comparing to others.. not classy but unforgettable.
ENJOY…

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place is the heaven of meat lovers :) gr8 oriental food, kebab and other genuine Egyptian platters. Gr8 value for money, gr8 taste, lovely salads and appetizers, friendly staff,no tips policy though they really deserve tipping and many other advantages of this place..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Honest Egyptian Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The restaurant is situated opposite the large mall housing Carrefour, housed in a double story building. Don't go if you are looking for a view, but do go if you are wanting a great egyptian dinning experience. The restaurant is broken up unto three components, upstairs with seafood, downstairs the meat and oriental section. I went on a friday evening, wonderful to see so many families out enjoying themselves. It is chaotic, you may have to fight your way to the front of the line to get served. Make your selection of wonderfully fresh fish, crustaceans, calamari and muscles. You decide how to have it prepared, fried, grilled, Egyptian or plain. I chose Egyptian for the fish, grilled open with tomatoes, onions and spices, wonderful. The prawns where served grilled with lemon and olive oil (not as good as the greek or the fish market). The salads and breads are served before the fish arrives so don't over indulge, must leave room for the main course!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“EATING BEST FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Balba'a village is about eating, and only eating, leave your etiquette and diet behind and enjoy the food! The restaurant is located in "Down Town" next to Carrefour, there's another branch but don't know where exactly. It is divided into 2 sections, sea food section (upper floor) and oriental Egyptian food (ground floor). I'd rather the Oriental food at this restaurant.

I do recommend all of the salads esp. toumeya, but I don't like hummus salad in summers as it spoils so fast or maybe it was my luck. The side dishes that MUST be on the table are: Mombar, stuffed vine leaves, spiced brown rice and mixed dolma (it depends on how many people are with you, don't order big plates cuz they are huge).

Main courses are various, the stuffed pigeons shouldn't be missed. Or you'd love the mix grill or kebab and kofta or shish tawouk or grilled chicken... the beef shank or lamb shank i guess is said to be perfect but I didn't try personally... but EASY on your order because you won't be able to finish all the food! After you finish eating, mint lemonade is a must! I bet there won't be room for dessert :D but if you insist, you can go back to town or Corniche and head to Azza ice cream. Before you leave buy some Assaleya for your loved ones :)

If you are a seafood person, you'd love the seafood soup. The grilled shrimp is awsome, try grilled Denees fish (gilt head bream) with lemon and oil or grilled (boury) mullet is perfect, and fried Calamari.
I went only once to this section, so I didn't try many of what's on the menu, but all the above was perfect!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balbaa Village also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Balbaa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balbaa Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.