We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Faded Elegance" is about right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 El Shohada Street | Mansheya, Alexandria, Egypt   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 126 Reviews
Ostschweiz
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“"Faded Elegance" is about right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Probably used to be a very nice hotel and is still worth it if you can get a really good rate - otherwise skip it. Staff is very friendly and likable but totally bumbling and incompetent - nowhere near as bad as their colleagues at the "Paradise Inn Beach Resort" which is apparently the same owners/management. I had to give this place a thumbs down in the end just because Paradise Inn Beach Resort is so bad and I know it's the same owners. This location is also very loud and noisy (not the hotel's fault but still a fact). Restaurant on the roof is ok for dinner but no good for breakfast or lunch and a bit pricey for the market.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    45
    31
    9
    18
See reviews for
17
39
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

My wife and I were attending a conference in Alexandria at the famed Bibliotheca Alexandria, and picked the Windsor Palace from the list of choices offered by the conference organizers. By the end of the conference it was the clear consensus of the conferees as the best of the 10 hotels offered to attendees.
The rooftop terrace was awesome - it became the de-facto gathering place after our meetings, and we ended up eating every night there, often joined by those staying at the other hotels. The service was slow, perhaps a cultural thing, but the view and ambiance more than made up for that as we really wanted to linger every night. The included breakfast buffet was also tremendous.
We suggested that the slogan for the hotel should be "faded elegance". The rooms were spotless, albeit faded, and the daily cleaning very thorough. We even caught the staff while cleaning, and saw them in progress, including ironing the sheets in place on the beds.
The front desk personnel were most helpful, including arranging a personal city tour at a very reasonable rate. The wireless internet to the rooms was sporadic, and there was one terminal in the lobby - adequate for our purposes but pretty slow. However, considering where we were, it was fine.
If we ever return to Alexandria, this will definitely be were we will stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codnor, Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

A previous guest entitled their review 'faded elegance' and I think that's spot on. In years past this would have been a grand hotel with large airy reception rooms and spacious bedrooms. Sadly, the hotel is in need of some sprucing up, but this is not to take away from it's overall charm.

Reception is grand and checking in was quick and easy. The old fashioned lift that dominates the reception area is a real feature, even if it is difficult to manoeuvre large suitcases in and out. We had a large room with a balcony on the fourth floor with a great view directly overlooking the sea.

Unfortunately the hotel is situated on the Corniche, a very busy dual carriageway that runs along the seafront. Anyone who has visited either Cairo or Alexandria will know that it standard practise for drivers to sound their horn to warn other drivers of their presence and so we were treated to a cacophany of car horns blaring throughout the day and night. Strangely, this did not disturb our sleep too greatly, and after we had managed to securly close the large bedroom windows most of the noise was blocked out. Unfortunately, we weren't able to keep the mosquitos out and both my wife and I got badly bitten.

The Windsor Palace is very conveniently located close to a busy shopping area where there are numerous eating places of varying quality. We only had breakfast at the hotel on the 6th floor terrace. Breakfast is fairly ordinary with a basic hot buffet supplemented by cold meats, cheeses, cakes, pastries and warm yoghurts! However, the quality of the food is more than made up for by the panoramic view from the terrace, taking in a large stretch of the Corniche round to the harbour and the Castle. This must be the best view in Alexandria!

Overall, the hotel staff were very helpful and attentive, but if you order a drink from the bar it takes ages to arrive, mainly because they insist on serving every drink with little bowls of nibbles. The most annoying thing was the Duty Manager who kept asking for a tip, even though we had already tipped the waiter!

Despite it's shortcomings the Windsor Palace does have charm and I would recommend it for anyone on a budget and with a short stop-over.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

A good hotel in the centre of town with eay access to all the really good seafood restaurant. Many taxis but not many of the taxi drivers speak english so you need to have your destination written by reception in Arabic.
Service very good.
Food all right but nothing special.
The roof terrace makes this hotel exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

My adult daughter and I spent 2 nights here last month after travelling from Australia to Cairo and by train to Alexandria. We were pleasantly surprised by the ground floor decor and the size of our room - very large with a side balcony view of the sea.

The breakfast in the top floor restaurant was ok by western standards, but avoid the club sandwich in the coffee shop - the worst I have come across, thought it came from the restaurant kitchen.

This hotel is in a good position for walking to all the sites of Alexandria, especially the library and anything on the corniche.

They provide a computer with free internet in a corner of a function room but it was very slow.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

excellent hospitality and ambiance.

The location and classic architect were wonderful .

There was a terrible smell in the room, troubles with the AC.
apart from the wonderful breakfast ; cuisine was very poor of no standard nor vegetarian alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We only had one night in Alexandria and our stay at the Windsor Palace was arranged by our excellent guides, Egypt Culture Tours. The hotel is grand and airy and has a great personality, but if you're a stickler for just-so modernisms, you'd probably just as well skip it. Wonderful location for walking the shore between the library and the lighthouse. Surrounded by markets and shops and street life, but the room had a balcony and offered wonderful fresh sea air. The decor was worn but stylish in its own way. The hotel restaurant was spectacular. Upstairs, great view, great food & wine - very pleasant way to spend the evening hours. Recommended for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel

Address: 17 El Shohada Street | Mansheya, Alexandria, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the early 20th century, this historic 4-star hotel is situated directly on Alexandria’s waterfront. Breakfast can be enjoyed on the rooftop terrace with panoramic Corniche views.The elegant rooms of Windsor Palace Hotel offer hand-decorated high ceilings. Each has a balcony, satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. Individually controlled air conditioning is standard in all rooms.Light snacks and refreshments can be enjoyed in the open-air Prince Charles Café with sea views. Decorated with antiques and frescos, the Queen Elizabeth Hall offers fine dining and wine.Guests will be ideally situated in the social and cultural hub of the city. There are several street cafés, shopping boutiques, and seaside promenades nearby. Alexandria Library is 1.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Palace Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.