We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to see, not the same awe as sites in Cairo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pompey's Pillar

Pompey's Pillar
Alexandria, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 60 things to do in Alexandria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 25-meter-high granite column was constructed in honor of the Emperor Diocletian in AD 297.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nice to see, not the same awe as sites in Cairo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Pompey's Pillar is a unique site that used to be a large structure with baths and channels used for washing and also measuring the level of the Nile. The site is in ruins now, but there are some interesting sphinxes and a pillar remains standing. There are also a few underground libraries at the site that are interesting.

The site is not in a good area of town by any means. Alexandria itself was very dirty when we visited and there was mountains of trash and rubble littering the streets. I'm 90% sure I hears some very nearby gun shots when we were at the sites, and our tour guide became extremely nervous at the sounds but pretended like it was nothing. The site is confined by large walls so it is safe, but the outside looks a little sketchy.

If you're in Alexandria, take a trip there. We did a day trip from Cairo; however, and for the cost I did not find Alexandria worth the trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    32
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just a pillar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nothing really exciting about it and definitely NOT worth any admission price to see. You can see everything you need to from outside the wall across the street.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Large Pillar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was so amaze with this 'only one' pillar left standing. Under the pillar is a library and main shrine. I surely will visit again this pillar if i visit Alex again. Try to take picture from down under the large tree and will give you beautiful image.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Its Huge!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Pompey's Pillar sits several blocks away from the corniche in Alexandria. When my husband and I first set eyes on it we were amazed at how HUGE it is. Coming from a Roman building and moved to Alexandria in ancient times it now sits lonesome on the top of a hill in the middle of the city. Below it are catacombs dedicated to Apis bulls. This is well worth seeing and only takes around 30 mins. Entry is 20LE/EGP. We seen it as part of a caliche tour we hired for the day.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“If this is your first pillar sighting, then...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Pales in comparison to similar pillars which are part of intact temples or other antiquities. It's nice to visit, see the pillar and the surrounding grounds but not necessarily worth the entrance fee. However, if this is your first pillar sighting, then it might impress you. Actually, a few of the small government shops lining the exit pathway are worth a quick glance. If you see something of interest which you will undoubtedly also see elsewhere during your tours, then a bit of bargaining might end up in good purchase. This was especially true during low season and the substantially reduced tourist traffic.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompey's Pillar also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Pompey's Pillar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompey's Pillar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.