We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best falafel I've ever tasted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foul Mohamed Ahmed

Foul Mohamed Ahmed
17, Shokour St. | Raml Station, Alexandria, Egypt
03-4873576
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,199 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Egyptian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best falafel I've ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had lunch here today. Bustling little eatery in the heart of Alexandria. Efficient service (somewhat uncommon in Egypt) but most importantly excellent food. We had the falafel which was light, crisp on the outside and fluffy in the middle, the fuul, pickled vegetables, tahini, hummus etc. highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    21
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“i'd live there if they let me...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

the exquisite taste of the most Egyptian foods. you WILL NOT find a better tasting falafel anywhere else in Egypt. and of course their signature "fried cheese" is literally out of this world. Mohamed Ahmed is definitely the best place to have breakfast, brunch or supper in Alexandria.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food, authentic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a wonderful meal including best felafel ever, fried cheese, delicious salads, foul, eggs and fresh bread. Definitely would eat there again if I have the chance. This place is heaven for vegetarians.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Had egg with falafel & humus - so delicious! Very busy, although I didn't see any other foreigners on my visit. Highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great, honest food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Mohamed Ahmed is a small, unpretentious place. The menu is simple and doesn't have many choices, but what is offered is first rate. Delicious beans, heavenly falafel! It was full of locals when I had lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foul Mohamed Ahmed also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Foul Mohamed Ahmed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foul Mohamed Ahmed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.