We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place in Alex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa

Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa
Carmous, Alexandria, Egypt
Update attraction details
Ranked #6 of 40 attractions in Alexandria
Type: Ancient Ruins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An ancient circular staircase leads down into these tombs that were tunneled into the bedrock during the age of the Antonine emporers (2nd century AD).
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place in Alex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place is haunted - of course, there are no bodies remaining in these catacombs, but it's easy to imagine what it was like in the days when it was used. You can wander all over the place without interference from guards. There are no "off-limit" places and it offers an incredible glimpse of the past. I'm not sure why Alexandria doesn't make this place into a major tourist attraction with fancy signs and guided tours but I really love it the way it is. An uncommon discovery.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    44
    18
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Indiana Jones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I loved this place, I totally felt like Indiana Jones. The lower catacombs are flooded and there's not a lot of safety precautions, so have good shoes and be on your toes!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A lot of history on this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

On a hot day is a good idea to visit this place.Looks like a well from top but is different from inside. well litted.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“pretty neat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

alot of history funny story to how they found the area...... no cameras but if your guide is cool youll be algud ^_* carvings are a site to see with detail... Out door stuff is show pony

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit to a Significant Site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Bus loads of people gathered near the entrance. Our group escaped the blazing sun by standing in a nearby shaded area. We entered a stuffy, dark cavern with limited ventilation. We walked down a circular staircase that had approximately 100 steps. We were unable to take any photographs. Too many people were crowded into a tight space. It was not possible to hear most of what our guide said. People in our group as well as adjacent groups were talking. I wish that I had a better understanding of what I saw since there was no printed information and I could not hear most of what the guide was saying.

The steps were not that difficult, but many people struggled climbing back up.

Neither the area above the site or the catacombs were well maintained. This can be contrasted to the Catacombs in Israel. Those catacombs are well lit, ventilated, include signage, and printed materials.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.