We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK when on a budget in Alex” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Union Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Hotel
Save
You added Union Hotel to your Saves list
164 Sharia 26th, Alexandria, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK when on a budget in Alex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place has a great view and great tea/room service. It's definately a little rough for accommodations, but really it's fine for a night or two when traveling on a budget. I wouldnt want to spend a week here though.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    18
    10
    11
See reviews for
9
19
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Union hotel is situated on very good location. The single room with side view paid 90 Egyptian pounds was very spacious with.personal huge bathroom. And the common area was quite spacious as well. BUT no special ambiance. cleanness was not enough, the water pressure was too weak so that I had to give up to take a shower. Another biggest problem is NO Wi-Fi in the rooms. Guests should go to the common area where used to be a bit crammed with local males and no enough power outlets to plug in and infested by mosquitoes and a bit noisy. When I called to the hotel to make a reservation, the girl who used to stay in the desk in the morning, was quite blunt,unfriendly. The ceiling of hotel was very low, paint has been flaking off. The staffs are not communicative each other. But this hotel have a good view of sea, the price was very good compared to e Cairo accommodation. But also you can find out many places with better prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Well located on the corniche with beautiful views. Staff are friendly and helpful, also a friendly atmosphere with many families as guests. Rooms were clean & basic, slow wifi in the lobby only. All together very pleasant for a simple, budget hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbleton, Quebec
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is very well situated on the main waterfront road in Alexandria. The view from our room with a balcony was fantastic! Left or right, we were amazed by the seafront. Our room was confortable, but the floors were not clean at all! Probably this floor has'nt seen soap for a long while... And the shower curtain in the bathroom was mushrooming! The man who served us continental breakfeast never had a smile unless we gave him bakchich! And he managed to forget or the jam or the coffee or the sugar each of our 3 mornings. The tables were not cleaned unless we insisted on him doing it. Wifi was slow but was working. To sum up, a decent hotel for a decent rate but apart from the view nothing to get too excited about!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

i called the hostel for availability before i come,they said yes
, and when i arrived ,said there is no ,availability
cause they have arrival of big group
the lady in the reception wasnt helpful ,even doesnt offer to recommend any near hotel
i was just disappointed ,with the people, and many hotels near by is cheaper

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Very unclean place. Dirty bed sheets. Dirty shower curtain full of fungus. First day they said they did not have towels available. Internet sucks. Maybe for Egyptians its a Ok hotel but not for me being American. Very bad impression and i feel very depressed with the careless here and everywhere. I can't wait to finally leave.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was again, in this hotel at December this year. It was pleasant to stay, as always. The central location is really great. Even it's in front of loud and busy street of Chornich you can rest yourself, in rooms far away from noisy. The reception staff are kind and useful. Nowadays it's little dirty and need renovation. In fact they do it step by step. WIFI in lobby isn't what you expect, but In Alexandria are many cafeteria with it. If I visit again Alexandria, and I know i'll do it, I'll stay in this budget central location hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Hotel

Address: 164 Sharia 26th, Alexandria, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Number of rooms: 29

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.