We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service in a nice design boutique hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Montazah Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Montazah Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Corniche Road, Alexandria, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Alexandria
Valencia, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Impeccable service in a nice design boutique hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

The entrance is quite impressive! Very original how they played with forms, shapes light and shadows.
The location is also perfect. Right Nathan Rd., although the entrance is in a side street.

We got a corner room which was quite small. It was not what I had booked. I had booked it through Agoda online. They put up pics of much larger rooms. The first part of my trip was business and I arrived after a long trip and didn´t feel like complaining and changing rooms.
Eventhought the room was very small - Hong Kong style small - it was very nice, clean, nice view on the park on Nathan Rd,... It had an ipod docking station that was also connected to the big LCD TV. Internet was on this TV with a wireless keyboard. Perfect! There was also a dvd player.

The bathroom was fully equipped with everything you might need. We had a huge marbel shower with an enormous rain shower head.

The hallway to the rooms were completely in mirrors, ceilings included. Very original. Too bad it was so dark.

In short: a beautiful hotel in a perfect location with a very good service!

Price quality relation is also perfect!

The Mira is worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    113
    84
    40
    22
See reviews for
86
87
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We were at the sheraton for 3 nights and 4 days. we arrived at 1 am so I had booked the entire previous day as well. The staff was very helpful and the view was great. Though the rooms were quite small as was the bathroom and yes it is right to say that it is not very Sheraton like. However the location is to die for with the montazah palace next door and the corniche right in front. As I said before the conceierge was very helpful and was nice enough to point out that doing a full day deal with a normal taxi would be more economical than using the hotel taxi. He was right as it was lesser than half the price. A slight inocnvenience is that all currencies are not exchangeable at the hotel so the UAE dirhams that we had could not be excahnged and one had to go to the nearby bank to do the same.
There is a cover charge on every item one orders which is a surprise really, so 2 bottle of water cost me 25 egyptian pounds which taught me a lesson.
Due to winter, the swimming pool and beach were out of the question. The guided tours from the hotel too are highly over priced so it makes sense to check out this site for the places to see, fix a deal with a taxi driver(with some help from an arabic speaker) and then go sightseeing.
All in all a good experience as a city but lack of arabic is indeed a huge handicap. The local more than make up for it with enthusiasm.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

The best thing about this hotel was the staff - I've never seen such courteous, friendly, respectful, welcoming staff. They were so efficient, professional, helpful, and personal - down to calling us back several times to make sure we had found our way after we got lost to the hotel to personally arranging for us special transportation to see the city. They even remembered our names even though the hotel was packed with hundreds of people from around the world. By staff I'm including everyone: concierge, front desk, restaurant managers and waiters, etc.

The rooms were TINY with every inch used efficiently, but we asked for connecting rooms which they didn't have many of, so it could be that other regular rooms are larger. It didn't matter, because the view (overlooking the pool, cornishe, beach, sea, and the Montazah gardens) was so breathtaking with massive windows several feet long and two balconies that I didn't want to leave the room in the first place. The beds were comfortable, and the flat-screen TV a plus. The rooms looked spotless clean, and were super quiet.

We ate dinner and the breakfast buffets at the main restaurant, and everything tasted great (breakfast variety was super amazing and fresh). Of course the dinner was very expensive, but nothing compared to the room service - they charged us nearly 25 LE for one can of Sprite! (street cost is 2 LE). That's the main thing I regret. Also, I thought the parking (nearly 30 LE/night) was a lot, although maybe that's typical for that part of town. But the overall price for the rooms was a great value. I was impressed that they actually had a designated room for doctor/medical support. In terms of the location, it's to the East of the city, not downtown, which could be a plus or minus depending. There aren't too many shops or restaurants to get to by foot, but you could cross the street to the Montazah Gardens which is gorgeous and has several restaurants there.

We came here by accident (the hotel we usually go to was full) but I would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdoss, Online Marketing Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2009
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sheraton Montazah Hotel and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Alexandria

You Don't just stay here, You belong

Sincerely,
Atef Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

We Just like everything about this Hotel, and so did our four-years-old son , The location is marvelous, the pool and the private beach is really good, the food is good , the room is a bit small but clean and well equipped, service is really great.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2009
I would like to express my sincere thanks and appreciation for choosing the Sheraton Montazah Hotel for your esteemed stay in Alexandria.

Please rest assured that we are committed to offer the highest service possible and continue striving to exceed our guests’ expectations.

At the same time I deeply and sincerely appreciate your wonderful comments noted during your stay with us which definitely will be conveyed to our Management team.

Once again my deepest thanks and appreciation. Looking forward to welcoming you again and always at the Sheraton Montazah Hotel.

Best Regards,

Atef Wilson
General Manager
t — 5480550 f — 5492111
SHERATON Montazah Hotel
Corniche Road - Alexandria, Egypt
sheraton.com
Member of the Africa Travel Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

We were extremely disacppointed, or rather shocked, by our stay here! Not what you would expect from a Sheraton... the location was superb (directly overlooking the sea) and they had really good facilities & amenities, but sadly that's about it! The lobby is small & cramped, with no great service. The hallways were very dingy and so badly-kept, that in some places the wall hangings were crooked and the lights over them were literally hanging off their wires! The rooms & bathrooms were tiny and cramped... we had 3 rooms; 2 of them didn't have a kettle, 2 didn't have a weighing scale, only 1 of them had a plasma tv... no standards! The most shocking thing was a long, sharp needle sticking out of the bed spread in my sister's room... scary as she was with a 1 yr old! We noticed some minor renovations going on, but they should have phased it gradually... Hope things are better a year later, but we were not happy customers!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2009
On behalf of the Sheraton Montazah Hotel's Management and entire staff I would like to extend my personal and sincere 'Thank You' for choosing the Sheraton Montazah Hotel for your esteemed stay in Alexandria.

On the other hand, I do regret that your stay with us was not up to your expectations, assuring you that points raised have been taken seriously into consideration, with a corrective action taken with regards to all negative comments mentioned.

Once again my deepest thanks and appreciation for your time to write down your constructive feedback and for your comments. I do look forward to welcoming you again soon at Your Sheraton Montazah Hotel where we do assure you exerting our utmost efforts to make your stay with us more comfortable and enjoyable.

Thank You and Best Regards,

Atef Wilson
General Manager
t — 5480550 f — 5492111
SHERATON Montazah Hotel
Corniche Road - Alexandria, Egypt
sheraton.com
Member of the Africa Travel Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We travelled to Alexandria from Cairo, for a 2-day stay. The Sheraton Hotel Montazah looked very nice on the web but we were surprised to see that it was not exactly what we expected. In fact, we felt that the website was deceiving. The rooms were very small and not very clean, the hotel's public areas were over-crowded and chaotic, breakfast was definately not the hotel's main strength. Disappointing, we would not recommend to families with children or older persons.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
I would like to express my sincere "Thank You" for choosing the Sheraton Montazah Hotel for your stay in Alexandria.

On the other hand, please accept my very personal and sincere apologies that your stay with us was not up to your satsifaction, assuring you that corrective action has been taken with regards to the negative points mentioned in your comments.

Once again my sincere apologies. Looking forward to welcoming you always at the Sheraton Montazah Hotel.

Best Regards,

Atef Wilson | General Manager | Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We had previously stayed at the Sheraton in Cairo and had a wonderful experience there. So when it came to choosing a hotel in Alexandria, we decided to stick with the Sheraton. Big Mistake! Our air conditioning did not work. In spite of asking for it to be repaired and them attempting to do it, the air conditioning refused to start.

This wasn't the deal breaker, what really got us mad was when they refused to change our room, inspite of the non-existent air conditioning and still charged us full rate (we had booked at the full rack rate, not a discounted price or anything)

The Italian Restuarant was decent though.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Kindly note that we tried several times to reach you by email or by phone in order to know more details about your stay at our hotel, but unfortunately we couldn't.

On the other hand, I would like to extend my personal and sincere 'Thank You' for choosing the Sheraton Montazah Hotel for your esteemed stay in Alexandria, and I do regret that your stay with us was not up to your expectations, assuring you that all negative comments noted have been taken seriously into consideration.

Once again my deepest thanks and appreciation for having the time to write down your constructive comments and for your understanding.

I do look forward to welcoming you again soon at Your Sheraton Montazah Hotel where we do assure you exerting our utmost efforts to make your next stay with us more comfortable and enjoyable.

Best Regards,
Atef Wilson | General Manager | Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Montazah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montazah Hotel

Address: El Corniche Road, Alexandria, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Montazah Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Montazah,overlooking King's Farouk Palace and gardens on one side and the bright blue waters of the Mediterranean Sea on the other.From the moment you arrive, you will receive the warmest welcome from attentive and responsive staff whose mission is to make your stay a relaxing and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Montazah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Montazah Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.