We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sea view resto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Market

Fish Market
El Corniche Rd. Beside Scout Club, Alexandria, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,192 Restaurants in Alexandria
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“sea view resto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

if u want to have some yummy seafood with a great view of the sea ,, and a beautiful view of the city of alex,, this is a must go resto,,, ,, great seafood... fresh baked bread with plenty of different oriental salads,,, but unfortunately stopped serving beer and wine

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"The best"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

It's the best when it comes to fish... The atmosphere is great , the food is great... The service is good. ..It's awesome. ...
When it comes to fish... I recommend fish market...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go for the fish, stay for the dips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went for the good word about the seafood. But it surpassed on a number of fronts: lovely location, beautiful restaurant and friendly, efficient staff. But after being served a half-dozen of perhaps the most delicious array of dips and salad, I could happily have eaten just those all day. The fish was good, too: well prepared and plentiful, and excellent value Wished we could have had time to come back again. Next trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“LOVE this restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was first exposed to the Fish Market in Alexandria 14 years ago. Since then, I have dined at two of them in Cairo -- less regularly after they stopped serving alcohol -- but I still prefer the one in Alexandria. By far.

Service is fast. Fish is fresh. The set up is excellent, consisting of a selection of about ten different salads or appetizers. The freshly baked bread to use for dipping the hummus, baba ghanoush, tahini, garlic dip, etc. is heavenly. And for the first time I was served a green paste that tasted like bean. It was delicious!

The only downside is that the Fish Market stopped serving alcohol after the Revolution, so you can't enjoy a cold beer on a hot day.

I took a consultant to lunch here and she was impressed - wanted to go back before her assignment was over. I hope she will.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great view, good fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Worth dining here for the view of Alexandria bay alone. A very elegant second-floor dining room, with good table settings and efficient service. The food was patchy: the fish soup was a bit gelatinous for my liking, and the hummus and other dips had been plated up some time before we ate them (slightly hard and oxydised surfaces on some dishes). But the main fish dishes were excellent: char-grilled langoustines had good flavour and the grilled flat fish (grouper or similar?) was well-cooked and tasted excellent.

This is a sister restaurant of Fish market in Cairo and ot the two this had a nicer view but seaker on the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Market also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.