We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Club

Greek Club
Qaitbay Str. Anfoushy (Inside Greek Club) -Third Floor | Anfoushi, Alexandria, Egypt
034802690
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,198 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Really lovely spot for lunch, overlooking the harbour. I sat on the veranda in the sun, with a cold beer, some tarama, tzatziki, calamari and chips and enjoyed every moment. The prices are pretty good for somewhere with this sort of location.
One problem I had was finding it though, since there is no sign outside that I could see, but there is a location map at the start of the spit that shows which building it is.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    44
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went there to have lunch....and it is almost "inside" the sea!!! they offer a lot of sea food dishes.....delicious....prices are a bit higher than "regular" sea food restaurants but overall a great experience!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent sea food between the two seas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The superb location of the club between the open sea and the eastern port of Alexandria.
Sea food is always fresh, excellent chef, prices are quite higher than other restaurants, but worth each penny
Alcohols are served in this restaurant.
No need for membership of the club if you are going to the restaurant

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“the best view for ALexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

this place is not the best decorated , it is really simple , But you can see the best view for ALexandria there and also eat amazing fresh fish !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish - wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

After a fabulous but exhausting trip to the Bibliotheca Alexandrina, our wonderful Egyptian host, whisked us off to the Greek Club for a late lunch.

If you sit in the far corner you can see both the Eastern and Western Harbour with a prime view of the Qaytbey Fort, the site of the original lighthouse of Alexandria. It really is a wonderful spot to sit and relax with the sun shining on the water, the brightly coloured boats bobbing away under a blue sky filled with fluffy white clouds. A wonderful place to spend the first afternoon of 2013.

We ate delicious homemade taramsalata and greek salad followed by calamari, crab and huge prawns all accomanied with local flat bread. Everything was wonderfully fresh and tasted delicious. This is a restaurant our host has been eating at most of his life being a native Alexandrine so it came with the best of recommendations.

The main course was fish served on platters , obviously very fresh and perfectly cooked.

We all so full that we didn't explore the deserts.

The decor is fairly plain, simple and clean but to be honest, nobody comes to look at the restaurant with the whole of the Alexandrian corniche and harbours laid out before the dinners.

All I can say is if you get the chance to go, enjoy!

Regarding practicalities I am afraid our host, despite manoeuvres to outwit him, didn't let us get near the bill, so I don't know how much it was: I understand a meal with beer is around 150 le.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Club also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Greek Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.