We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best Fish Restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FishMarket

FishMarket
El Gaish Road, Alexandria, Egypt
Update restaurant details
Ranked #9 of 1,192 restaurants in Alexandria
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“one of the best Fish Restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Restaurant is a bit dusty, but has a great location (there are more good looking restaurants than this one, in town) with nice sea view but rustique decor. Food is tasty but the price is "spicy" .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    17
    15
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have every type of the freshest seafood. We had grilled seabass and fried calamari. Oriental salad and bread supplied free of charge. All that for $12, and what a view!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
1 review
“Amazing Sea Bass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I really love the babaganoush and the Tahini appetizers!! Best in all of Egypt and the sea bass melted in my mouth as we overlooked the harbor of the med sea!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great view, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

the view was great as everyone stated. The food was just average, the best part was the fresh pita they serve with many different kind of dippings. I had the grilled fish, with shrimp and calamari. Maybe it was the fish itself, but the flavor was not that great. Service was sufficient, we had our tour guide, so we did not have to speak to the waiters. I will have to try a few different seafood place to really compare this to, maybe this is what seafood is like here in Egypt? I guess you can't really tell without having tried a few places. We also good the discounted price since we were with a tour company, so our cost maybe less than what you pay ordering from the manual. It was $80 for 3 adults and 2 kids.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not the best seafood i believe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The place is well know and luxurious but view and food aren't the best in Alex i am sure :) Or you can say it's just an old name!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FishMarket also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to FishMarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FishMarket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.