We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“European mideterranian style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Veranda

La Veranda
46 Saad Zaghloul | Raml Station, Alexandria, Egypt
+2 03 4861432
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #21 of 1,192 restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, French, Greek
Restaurant details
Alexandria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“European mideterranian style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

In the heart of the old city center of Alexandria stands with classic old architecture style a calm resturant with indoor and out door seats.. Stop there for a capuccino or a lunch meal with some egyptian wine.
Have a taste of old Alexandria but their service is a little bit slow.. Dont count on a fast coffe there you have to enjoy mand relax take your time there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    6
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Egypt
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lunch break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

very classy and very old lunch place... next to Patisseries Delices... in Saad Za3'lool.... loved it

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Europeran Calm Atmpsphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Lovely place, Greek atmosphere.
I went there in Ramadan so they have fixed menus for Ramadan breakfast, I would give them another visit to try their main dishes.
The bill was little bit high but this was expected for a clam not crowded place.
Good parking available.
Hospitality as usual for Egyptians is not as excellent as for foreigners.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious International Style Restaurant in Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

An unexpected one this........the narrow, rectangular shaped restaurant with the somewhat bland pictures on the wall didn't really lend itself to us expecting gourmet delights, but we had chosen the restaurant at random and dived in as the weather was cold and it was one of the closest, plus it is part of Delices so we thought that if nothing else, we could enjoy the cakes for dessert. But from the very beginning it was a pleasure to eat there. The waiter went out of his way to be welcoming and friendly and the menu was extensive and offered all the usual oriental and international favourites. We chose the French onion soup which was delicious and came with warmed freshly baked rolls and parsley butter in little pots, which was easy to spread. The mineral water came with ice and lemon automatically and the serviettes were real linen to match the tablecloth. My husband had the somewhat boringly sounding fish and french fries but the batter was thin and crisp to perfection, the fish soft and fluffy and the french fries piping hot and crispy. my son thoroughly enjoyed his medium steak, cooked to perfection, with a green pepper sauce that was full of flavour and nicely spicy, with a crisp side dish of vegetables and the same hot, crispy french fries. I think my dish was the biggest surprise of all. As I had originally wanted to got o the Indian restaurant , I grumpily ordered something amusingly called "French style chicken curry' remarking to my husband how it was going to taste nothing like the real thing but that it would be better than nothing. Was I in for a surprise! For sure the dish resembled nothing like authentic Indian curry but it was such a delicious, creamy, flavorsome chicken curry (with 2 whole thin chicken fillets on the plate) that it was a pleasure to eat anyway. The basmati rice was served piping hot and cooked to perfection, as were the French fries. We have eaten at this restaurant several times since, and this particular dish now creeps in regularly into our orders! And believe it or not, we still haven't found room yet for the desserts or coffee and cake afterwards! Perhaps the nicest thing about this restaurant is that no matter how many times we have been , we are always met with then same warm welcome and staff who try to go that extra mile to make sure everyone has a good time and the standard of the food always remains very high.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Clam Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Inside Delices you will find La veranda restaurant where you can feel history of Alexandria. It is small restaurant but offers tasty food. They say they are greek and french restaurant although they offer other type of food. I love this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Veranda also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.