We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blanco Riad Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Blanco Riad Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Blanco Riad Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zankat Zawiya Kadiria, 25, Tetouan 93000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tetouan
Iasi, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

In an old house, whit a lovely fountain in the middle of the hall, the Blanco Riad conquers the eyes. Indeed, as some users said, the lower priced rooms are quite small (no table, no chairs). The other rooms are fairly larger. However, considering the fact that we spend most of the time outside, exploring the medina and the city, it was not a big inconvenience. The hotel is placed extremely close to the royal palace and the medina (the old town) therefore some noises can be heard. The prayer calls of the muezins could represent an inconvenient (it is a bit loud) but I consider to be apart of the charm of Morocco. The hotel is extremely clean and the staff is great! They are extremely helpful and nice. It is a very good idea to ask them what to visit while you stay in Tetouan. The food here is very good. I highly recommend the crepes au fromage et oranges. The breakfast is very good also. The large variety of breads, the olives and the homemade jam are great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    26
    4
    6
    0
See reviews for
27
53
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Blanco Riad on our first night in Morrooco after a big day sightseeing in Gibralter, ferry trip, getting through customs in Tangier, and finding our way to Tetouan. Then we really got lost looking for the Riad. All we had to do was find the palace and then call. I have no idea how we missed the palace but we ended up on a car park (which turned out to be the right one) I had the phone number of the owner in Germany (who didn't answer) not the Riad :-(. We sent one of the guys off with a stranger who said he knew where the Riad was and the rest of us stayed in the car. We were two Australian couples in our 60's wondering,on our very first day, if we made a mistake travelling by car independently in Morrocco . It seemed like a long time but back he came with a very helpful staff member and the helpful stranger also re-appeared with a big trolley for the luggage. We had to run to keep up with the guy with the trolley through the crowded souk as we were a bit paranoid about all of our luggage disappearing. The Riad was delightful. The staff were really helpful and the rooms were large with very luxurious en-suites. We had organised dinner there and were so glad we did as we didn't really have the energy to go out to find a restaurant. The meal was great and we had a great time. Free wifi though the signal was a bit week in the rooms and kept dropping out. We enjoyed our Morrocan nreakfast with very sweet mint tea in beauitiful coloured glasses and a silver beaten teapot. Very glad we stayed here and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: If you can afford the top suite go for it. It was glorious. It was empty when we stayed and we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for two days and I wish if I could stayed longer ! Food is amazing . Freindly and vey helpfull stuf .
Defently recomended ! I will be back next year !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EUROPE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have stayed twice now and for a woman on her own I felt very comfortable. It is officially four stars I believe, but go thinking three stars is probably more realistic. Staff very nice and you can see an effort is being made to train them. Getting breakfast tea in the morning was a bit of a challenge though! Ask the taxi driver to drop you at Place Feddane. The map in my room was a welcome little detail. Dinner has to be ordered one hour in advance at about 16 euros. For that price being able to order a glass of wine would have been nice.

Room Tip: I had room Leila which might be a bit small for a couple but lots of daylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

on the face of it, it s a nice riad. Compared with what you find in Morocco, it s very nice.

it s a pity some different things are not looked after properly.
1. rooms are vey nice, intelligent and innovative lay-out. but central air conditionning is not working properly. stains on the white walls have not been cleaned up. no table and no chair in the room.
2. no bottle of drinking water in the room. . very unusual.
3. there is a patio or courtyard, but not very nice, not up to the style of the house. it s pity coz there is ample number of ways to make it elegant and nice
4. breakfast is horrible (coffee, bread) except the jam which was home made and delicious.

also the riad is in a noisy medina environment. dont forget your ear plugs. . if you want to fall asleep early!!

definitely, will come back in this riad at my next visit to Tetouan, hoping that things will further improve. .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This place was lovely. We stayed in the cheapest room, and it was small, but the charming interior and attention to detail more than made up for the size of the room. Hotel staff were all great. Nice patio ("garden") area outside with tables and chairs for you to eat or just relax. We had dinner here one night - 160 dh for 3 courses - and the food was some of the best we've had in Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Blanco Riad for four weeks while attending a language school. So we spent a lot of time in the room with our studies,
The Riad is an absolutely beautifully restored old house, in an understated way, with superb plasterwork and a central atrium, white and airy, with a lovely courtyard. Beautiful doors lead to truly delightful very individual rooms, full of mosaics, with very modern ensuites. Although ideally situated just within the old medina, it is easy to find, and in a couple of minutes you are in the souq or the main street, which is pedestrian, and close to all the main attractions. It is generally quiet and very peaceful.
The staff are multilingual, and very helpful, and friendly.
We would recommend this as a great place to stay.
The tea is lovely and the desserts are memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blanco Riad Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanco Riad Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Zankat Zawiya Kadiria, 25, Tetouan 93000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tetouan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tetouan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blanco Riad Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blanco Riad is located in the Medina of Tetouan, proclaimed "World Heritage Site by UNESCO. The inner courtyard of Blanco Riad dates from the XVIII century. The columns and arches sustain a balcony which gives access to the bedrooms. The garden is filled with the soothing sounds of water from the fountain, from the roof terrace the views of the Medina and Casbah. Blanco Riad has 8 rooms quiet, cozy and bright. Each has its own bath or hammam and small spaces to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blanco Riad Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blanco Riad Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;