We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Tetouan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Reducto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Reducto to your Saves list
Riad El Reducto
Zankat Zawya 38 | Zankat Zawya 38, Tetouan 93000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tetouan
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place in Tetouan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Placed in the medina of Tetouan, this is one of my favourite hotels! Great rooms, wonderful meals, great hospitality. Ruth makes you feel at home, she's the best host in the city. She made us feel at home, no matter how different it was! All details were taken care of! All rooms are perfect, the service impeccable, fantastatic home-made breakfast and outstanding meals. Great terrace. I can't reccommend it hardly enough. A perfect place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    12
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
38
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Clean, comfortable, authentically-decorated, high-ceilinged room with a big bathroom. If you go to bed early, the atrium restaurant may pose noise issues. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was substantial. A couple slip ups: when we checked out, the woman at the front desk disputed our discounted rate from Booking.com. She kept pointing to the tariff sheet on the wall. Even after I showed her my Booking.com reservation with the price on my iPad, she hesitated, but then finally agreed to the rate. Then we learned that the person who said they would arrange for our transport to the Tangier airport forgot to do so. By the time a taxi was arranged, we were running 20 minutes late. This led to a terrifying 80 MPH ride through a driving rain storm. We made our plane, but the trip was needlessly stressful. That said, I'd stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

After almost a month in Morocco it was amazing to have a bath. Positively opulent! The room was lovely, the welcome warm and the service impeccable. We also ate here and it was one of our best Moroccan meals. The cats are pretty cute too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My friend and I arrived at El Reducto after our hotel forgot about our reservation and was closed for the night. El Reducto staff were most helpful, showed us the rooms available, and offered mint tea and Moroccan sweets on arrival. We took the cheapest (€50) room and even that one was great. The hotel is clean, rooms a and bathrooms are big and beautifully decorated.
The location is also very good, at the entrance of the old medina and at the doors of the Royal Palace, you couldn't ask for more? Their food is the best in Tetouan. We had dinner there that night and their filled aubergines and tagines were to die for. I would definitely stay here in my next visit to Tetouan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

we stayed in this hotel in the medina, really a dream. we had the casablanca suite on the 3rd floor, along the roof terrace. the owners had a great hospitality and told a lot about Tetuán. the dinner we had was very tasteful. if you are going to Tetuán, don't miss this place, it' s a real diamond. Don't forget to read the book from Maria Dueñas, El tiempo entre costuras, the book tells a great story about this city during it's period of the Protectorada Espagnol.
The hotel has a guide for a medina tour.

Room Tip: choose the topfloor room, suite casablanca
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Bournemouth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We arrived tired after travelling from Uk via Gibraltar. El Reducto is quite easy to find just off the plaza by the Palace you step out of the delightful chaos of Tetouan in to a sanctuary. We had two nights in the Marakech room which was lovely.
Ruth was welcoming and efficient, quickly settling us in and giving welcome advice.
She has a knack of always making the right suggestion useful when you arrive tired. We loved having mint tea on the roof terrace, very relaxing after a run through the gauntlet of the medina.
El Reducto is also a very popular restaurant, the meals we had were fantastic.
There are only 5 rooms so you need to book, we saw people being turned away.
The Riad has been beautifully restored and as others have said is like a mini palace not surprising given its heritage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I can't even write a review as the owner took one look at us and shook his head, that no he didn't have a room for us.......Admittedly, we probably weren't looking our best after 10 hours in the car, but after that reception, we felt we didn't want to eat in the restaurant either - always assuming of course, that we would have been 'allowed' to eat there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Reducto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Reducto

Address: Zankat Zawya 38 | Zankat Zawya 38, Tetouan 93000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tetouan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tetouan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Reducto enjoys a perfect location in the heart of Tetouan's Medina, close to the royal palace.Refurbished for the first time in 1948 to incorporate Spanish decorative elements such as tiles, the building was once again renovated in 2006. It now combines the comfort of a high-standard hotel with the charm of a traditional Moroccan home. Choose among 5 elegant rooms in which to relax. El Reducto also boasts a terrace, a cafeteria and a cosy restaurant in which to try some of the best recipes and wines from the Moroccan and Spanish cuisines.Make the most of your stay and give in to the temptation of an argan oil massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad El Reducto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Reducto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.