We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST in Tetouan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Reducto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Reducto to your Saves list
Riad El Reducto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Zankat Zawya 38 | Zankat Zawya 38, Tetouan 93000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Tetouan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The BEST in Tetouan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My friend and I arrived at El Reducto after our hotel forgot about our reservation and was closed for the night. El Reducto staff were most helpful, showed us the rooms available, and offered mint tea and Moroccan sweets on arrival. We took the cheapest (€50) room and even that one was great. The hotel is clean, rooms a and bathrooms are big and beautifully decorated.
The location is also very good, at the entrance of the old medina and at the doors of the Royal Palace, you couldn't ask for more? Their food is the best in Tetouan. We had dinner there that night and their filled aubergines and tagines were to die for. I would definitely stay here in my next visit to Tetouan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    17
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
46
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

we stayed in this hotel in the medina, really a dream. we had the casablanca suite on the 3rd floor, along the roof terrace. the owners had a great hospitality and told a lot about Tetuán. the dinner we had was very tasteful. if you are going to Tetuán, don't miss this place, it' s a real diamond. Don't forget to read the book from Maria Dueñas, El tiempo entre costuras, the book tells a great story about this city during it's period of the Protectorada Espagnol.
The hotel has a guide for a medina tour.

Room Tip: choose the topfloor room, suite casablanca
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Bournemouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We arrived tired after travelling from Uk via Gibraltar. El Reducto is quite easy to find just off the plaza by the Palace you step out of the delightful chaos of Tetouan in to a sanctuary. We had two nights in the Marakech room which was lovely.
Ruth was welcoming and efficient, quickly settling us in and giving welcome advice.
She has a knack of always making the right suggestion useful when you arrive tired. We loved having mint tea on the roof terrace, very relaxing after a run through the gauntlet of the medina.
El Reducto is also a very popular restaurant, the meals we had were fantastic.
There are only 5 rooms so you need to book, we saw people being turned away.
The Riad has been beautifully restored and as others have said is like a mini palace not surprising given its heritage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I can't even write a review as the owner took one look at us and shook his head, that no he didn't have a room for us.......Admittedly, we probably weren't looking our best after 10 hours in the car, but after that reception, we felt we didn't want to eat in the restaurant either - always assuming of course, that we would have been 'allowed' to eat there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We, too, had a lovely stay here. Beautiful room and a delicious breakfast included. We also had a great Moroccan dinner there. The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly. Since we were driving, we parked our car in the big (inexpensive) lot to the west, near the street market. If you have a lot of luggage the hotel will gladly help you with it. El Reducto can be hard to find the first time so it can be helpful to watch the video on their website which shows the entrance to the alleyway and how easy it is to follow it into the hotel. All together a wonderful stay. We'd love to go back some day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This lovely historic guesthouse is like a miniature Moorish palace! Every room and every detail is a feast for the eyes! The large dining area downstairs is a sumptuous area to enjoy delicious tea and pastries any time, large breakfasts with a variety of fresh local breads, and hearty lunches and dinners--either Spanish or Moroccan. The rooms are quiet, clean, and beautiful, and the fully-tiled bathrooms with classic modern fixtures are a treat in themselves! The two-tiered rooftop features a stunning panorama of the old city and the nearby mountains, and a couple of dreamy tent-like seating areas decorated with tapestries and cushions. Step outside, and you will find yourself in the midst of the old marketplace within less than a block. Leather, carpets, slippers, perfumes, jewelry, and chickens await you! Step back in, and you are surrounded by warmth, tranquility, and hospitality! The gracious hosts, Ruth and Brahim, treat everyone like long-lost friends. They are truly wonderful! "Insha'allah" we will return!

Room Tip: Every room is a dream! Look at pictures and choose your favorite--they are as beautiful as the pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We actually stayed in a small house owned by the owners that was not too far from the Riad because they didn't have a room for the 3 of us at the Riad for our 2 night stay. The house was quite spacious and very nice.

Brahim and Ruth were very good hosts w/Brahim escorting us to the Riad and house when we arrived and giving us a tour of the Riad the next day. The Riad is beautifully restored and the rooms quite nice.

We enjoyed our breakfasts and a dinner at the Riad but be aware that dinner make entail some second hand cigarette/cigar smoke.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetouan
0.0 mi away
Blanco Riad Hotel & Restaurant
8.4 mi away
Marina Smir Thalasso & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Al Mandari
Hotel Al Mandari
#5 of 15 in Tetouan
5.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel-Chams
Hotel-Chams
#8 of 15 in Tetouan
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Tamuda Beach
Hotel Tamuda Beach
#4 of 15 in Tetouan
4.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Suite Martil
Hotel Suite Martil
#1 of 1 in Martil
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Reducto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Reducto

Address: Zankat Zawya 38 | Zankat Zawya 38, Tetouan 93000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tetouan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Tetouan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad El Reducto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Reducto enjoys a perfect location in the heart of Tetouan's Medina, close to the royal palace.Refurbished for the first time in 1948 to incorporate Spanish decorative elements such as tiles, the building was once again renovated in 2006. It now combines the comfort of a high-standard hotel with the charm of a traditional Moroccan home. Choose among 5 elegant rooms in which to relax. El Reducto also boasts a terrace, a cafeteria and a cosy restaurant in which to try some of the best recipes and wines from the Moroccan and Spanish cuisines.Make the most of your stay and give in to the temptation of an argan oil massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad El Reducto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Reducto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.