We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Wagner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Wagner to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Wagner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Brasov
Indialantic, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Casa Wagner is perfectly located on the square in old town directly across from the Black Church. I would classify it as a boutique hotel. Very comfortable rooms with great character. The breakfast is excellent and plentiful. The General Manager Aurel (aka, Nicko) is very personable and extremely at tentative to the needs of his guests. Unfortunately, we were there only one night but would have enjoyed more time to explore Brasov using the centrally located Casa Wagner as the hub. If you are driving, be aware that ther is no parking adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 18 can pick up noise from the bar/breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    149
    45
    4
    2
See reviews for
56
164
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Le Plessis-Robinson, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We reserved a suite on booking.com
At our arrival (4 p.m.), we did wait for more than 20 min to see somebody coming at the desk!!
Finally she told us that there was no suite for us (with quite strange explanations), but the room they can offer us was less expensive...
Of course, it was a very little dark room, on a corridor without any window and smelling humidity.
At the end of the discussion, she found us a refurfished clear room and we obtained a discount!
So, be careful, all the rooms are not in the same conditions and there are big differences. Ask to visit rooms before choosing the one you want.
The hotel's situation is perfect to visit the old town : just on the central place but you have to park (and to pay for that) your car on a parking, 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast is correct and our room was clean.
In conclusion : for the same price, if I had know, I would have been at the hotel Bela Muzica (just 2 minutes walk from this one! with a lovely and very good restaurant).

Room Tip: Visit the rooms before selecting one of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Location is dead center of large plaza. We were very pleased with cost, room cleanliness, location, and service. We spent 2 nights before moving on to Sighisoara. From Brasov, we explored Bran and Sibiu and Fagaras (and should have explored Transfagarasan road, I regret that)
Absolutely, we would stay here again. Our room had a commanding view of the square, it was awesome.
Nearby is tavern Pilvax and Bella Musica. Great meals.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for one night, on spec, having read lots of positive reviews, and were delighted with the welcome we received. We arrived early, which was not a problem, and left our bags in the room while we went off to explore the town. Our room was large and light, with a well-designed shower room on the side, and overlooked the back of the building as we had asked for a quiet location. The beds were comfortable, and there was plenty of hanging space for clothes etc. The main attraction of this hotel is the very helpful staff who helped us organise two trips ; a taxi trip to the beautiful Bran Castle (negotiating with the driver to make sure exactly what we were getting) and secondly, a whole day tour with a local guide who took us to the Bear Sanctuary half an hour away, followed by the Monastery at Siniaia and then Peles Castle which was again incredibly beautiful. The benefit of having the local help was much appreciated as we had not managed to learn much Romanian in the 24 hours that we had been in the country. All in all, I would definitely recommend Casa Wagner as a friendly, comfortable and good value base to explore this beautiful area. With it's central location, it is a great base and you will not find a more helpful or smiling staff !

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back which was wonderfully quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is one fabulous little hotel. We had one of the rooms in the back of the hotel. The room was spacious, very clean, and well appointed. The room had three large windows allowing for a cool nights breeze. Breakfast was probably one of the best we had on our journey through Eastern Europe. The hotel is located right on the main square...where you want be.

This review would not be complete without a mention of the cheerful and helpful staff on the front desk.

If you are going to Brasov there is no need to look further!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here twice at the stat and finish of our trip through Transylvania and would come back. We stayed in front and back. The front had a great view of the square but was loud, especially church bells throughout the night. The back was quiet but no view. Nice furniture, friendly staff and a good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stopped for two nights at the Casa Wagner last week.
Took one of the small suites upstairs which had excellent views but still quiet.
Good breakfast.
Coffee and tea facilities.
Right in the middle of town so ideal for a 'back to base time'
Lots of places to eat within 5 mins.

Room Tip: Try for one upstairs away from the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Wagner

Address: Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Wagner 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that hosts the hotel is a monument dating back to 1477, being documented as one of the first three buildings to have been erected on the central square. The same love and attention to detail has been given to its restoration and renovation, all the rooms having been minutely decorated with antique furniture, yet equipped with modern amenities. The hotel has 12 rooms all with en-suite bathrooms, color cable TV, internet connection, telephone and minibars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Wagner Hotel
Casa Wagner Brasov

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Wagner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.