We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Wagner - perfect location, great staff and comfy rooms.. Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Wagner

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Wagner to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Wagner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 hotels in Brasov
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casa Wagner - perfect location, great staff and comfy rooms.. Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Review for Casa Wagner

I stayed with my wife and my extremely curious 2 year old son for three nights. This is an amazing place to stay be it a family or for couples. As a proficient hotelier based at Dubai, I would definitely return to stay with them at Brasov. The primary reason for me for choosing to stay at  Casa Wagner was its location. It's bang on this amazing Centru (the city center dedicated for pedestrians, hosting some of the best alfresco's). It's a stone throw distance from natural potable drinking water fountain, 3 mins walking distance from the famous black church. 10 mins walking distance from the historic Rope street. 

We stayed in room number 24 that was basically a chic attic style room. The hotel also offers excellent complimentary Wifi in the rooms as well as their public areas. 

A special mention to their housekeepers and the reception lady - Tunde! During this trip to Romaina we stayed in 5 different hotels in different locations, but these staff at Casa Wagner were way in top of our experience. They always took their time to check on the comfort of my little boy. Their reception staff speak good English which was a huge relief for me. They are also very polite and courteous.

Now I did get a chance to see one of their junior suites during my stay there. It's obviously more spacious and comfortable. It was just a shame that none of their junior suites were available for us to book. 

Tip to fellow Travelers 

1. If your carrying heavy suit cases, be mindful as taxis cannot access to the entrance of the hotel. So you're better make sure that the suitcases have strong castors (wheels). Also they have staircases all over (no elevators) and this means be prepared to do some heavy lifting. 

2. Brasov taxi system, has been the most efficient systems I have ever seen. Every time you command for a city taxi, the operators tell you that your taxi will be there in 3 mins. I used their city taxi services in 22 different occasions, and believe me the taxis arrived in under three mins ALL 22 times. Above that, it's extremely economic to use taxis. The highest I had been charged (to travel within Brasov) was 4 USD (14 Ron) and in most case your trip is maximum of 5 Rons.

3. If you are interested in trying their local cuisine, please visit the restaurant called "Ceasu Rau". It's a 5 minute taxi ride from Casa Wagner.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    128
    41
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
141
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Located right on the main square in the old town, Casa Wagner is really well located. The hotel itself is a cross between a hotel and hostel, and our room was clean but basic with the windows opening on to a walkway to other rooms. The staff were helpful enough and this was a great base to explore this wonderful town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay if you want to be within the absolute center of this city. We had a great experience here except that the bell tower disturbed my sleep quite a lot, as it went off every 15 minutes. This is not the hotel's fault: it must be hard to find a central hotel in Brasov where you cannot hear some bells, even in the middle of the night. Our room was on the top floor, which meant it was a lot more exposed then a room on the next floor down. You may want to consider this if you, too, are a light sleeper. The beds in this hotel are not great by any measure but, as a value accommodation, Casa Wagner is still excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I am glad I decided to stay at this hotel, but I don't give it a super high rating. It is right on main square of old Brasov, and thus very easy to see the summer life of Brasov. We stayed in the junior suite overlooking the square. Again - great vantage point to see the activity. But noisy - we couldn't open the windows and there is no AC, so we had the fan running most of the night. Besides, even if it had been quiet, there were no screens on the windows, to prevent bugs and birds from flying in. Also in our room the sewer smelled up the bathroom. The shower head didn't hang right from the very old fitting on the wall, so we washed ourselves sitting in the bathtub. Breakfast was good; European style. Wifi is to be commended! Staff is friendly, but not overly helpful. We tried scrolling through the satellite TV stations and didn't find anything much in English, plus no news.

There is a second junior suite not facing the main square that has a first floor and a loft. I would recommend that for families!

All in all, good value and I would stay here again if I asked for another room.

Room Tip: Though is it tempting to have a room facing the square, I don't recommend it on summer nights du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The main point is that it's located in the center of Brasov, in the pedestrian area. Everything you need is around you. Pubs, coffee shops, clubs, etc. You don't need a taxi to travel from one to another. Very good service and nice personnel. Always there to assist you. The rooms are decorated in classic style, very clean, cable tv, air con and wi-fi free. Downside - quite expensive (for average Romanians) due to location and for breakfast you have to pay separately. Room walls are a bit thin. You can hear the neighbors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The location is very central as the hotel is close to one of the main bus terminals. Bus #4 gets to this terminal from the train station. I had requested a room overlooking the square and it was worth it. The main attractions of the city are all walking distance from the hotel. Wifi was reliable and the breakfast quite standard. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes around the hotel. The staff were very helpful. The staff were very helpful and informative.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed as a family in large room facing square. Decorated in a traditional style which was beautiful, room was large enough for 2 adults and one teenager, however, had no A/C which would have drowned out the large clock that chimed every 15 minutes. Both adults had to sleep with ear plugs on the second night. Great location to city! Very good breakfast and great staff.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for one of the back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Wagner

Address: Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Brasov
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Wagner 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that hosts the hotel is a monument dating back to 1477, being documented as one of the first three buildings to have been erected on the central square. The same love and attention to detail has been given to its restoration and renovation, all the rooms having been minutely decorated with antique furniture, yet equipped with modern amenities. The hotel has 12 rooms all with en-suite bathrooms, color cable TV, internet connection, telephone and minibars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Wagner Hotel
Casa Wagner Brasov

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Wagner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.