We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel, somewhat average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Wagner

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Wagner to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Wagner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 hotels in Brasov
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel, somewhat average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with three others. We booked the junior suite which was on the first floor right near the breakfast area. Although we were very close to common area, the room was quiet and comfortable. Based on what I had read, I thought that there would be a bit more seating area within the suite. Instead, the two beds on the first area took up most of the room, and there was a small couch with a double bed on the second floor. Again, no real "seating" room that was comfortable for the four of us. The bathroom was large, but a part of the space (ie limited feeling of privacy). The room was nice, but nothing special. Breakfast was OK, again, nothing special. What makes this hotel unique is its location - fantastic. Were I to go to Brasov again, I would find a different hotel, although this is overall a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Junior suite is not really a suite. I would select two separate rooms if traveling in a group of 4 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    128
    41
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
141
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed two nights here when we first arrived in Romania, and one more night on our return. We chose this hotel because it is right on the historic town sqare and it turned out to be a lovely location. Very close to the promenade where there are many shops and restaurants. Also very good location for walking to the Black Church, the cable car, and other historic locations in the center of town. We did have a bit of difficulty finding it and then figuring out how to get our luggage to the door. It is actually quite easy once you see it in daylight. On the closest street there is a small pull over where you can load/unload luggage, or you can also consult with the police person who is stationed at that location and they will lower the barrier so you can drive right onto the square and to the hotel entrance. Staff was very accommodating and helpful when there was anything that we needed. The breakfast was good (cheeses, meats, fruit, yogurt, coffee, juice, etc). Our first room was #12 which is on the top floor and faces the back of the building and does not overlook the square. This was our favorite room, but do note that there are several little steps going into the room and into the bathroom. Not a problem during the day but they surprised us a few times when we got up during the night. Our second room was #9 which is on the top floor and overlooks the square. Also nice, but we preferred the privacy and quiet of the room at the back of the building. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently stayed a few nights here and we loved it. The location is great. The staff is excellent. Wifi was excellent. The breakfast was ok-not the best but very convenient. The noise issue has been interesting. Our rooms faces the plaza. Gret view and interesting to people watch. One of the nights there was a rock concert by the Romanian rock band, Voltaj. Need less to say it was loud. Our windows were shaking. It was very interesting to experrience this rock concert. I wish I understood the lyrics. Well maybe I am glad that I did not understand the lyrics. We were nervous that it was going to last a long time but shortly after 10 pm it stopped and was relatively quite. Really not a problem and a very nice bit of culture or at least an experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the plaza has pros and cons
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

A good place to stay, would be better if they do not have so mant carpets on the floor. But overal I would recomend for a stay!
Is in the main square , what facilitates to see the historic center. They do not have parking lot!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had room 22 in the Casa Wagner in Brasov last night and found the hotel to be just about perfect. Beautiful, quiet and right on the square. My room was comfortable, the wifi worked well and the shower was hot (unlike my other hotel in Romania so far). Breakfast in the morning was fine and they kindly held my bag after checkout so I could spend the day out. For the price, it is a bargain. I would definitely stay here again. Well done Casa Wagner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Offaly, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife & I + our extended family stayed in & attended a wedding in the Alexandros Hotel in the town of Busteni, After the 3 day wedding celebrations we traveled to Brasov & spent 4 days of our 7 day trip to Romania in Hotel Casa Wagner, Lovely little hotel in most gorgeous setting in the town square. Lots of Cafe's & Restaurants nearby with great food at a great price, as is taxi & public transport prices.Take a ride on the cable car into the hills above the town for some stunning views. Romania is a fab. holiday destination & Brasov is the focal point,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Right in the centre square of Brasov Old Town with views up to the famous (or infamous) Brasov sign, this hotel could not be better located.

Although the square is pedestrianised our taxi was allowed to enter briefly so that we didn’t have to carry our bags far. Reception is small and located at the bottom of the stairs into the hotel but check-in was incredibly quick with no forms to fill in or cards to swipe and we were literally handed our keys and shown to our room straight away.

We were in room 16 and as mentioned with room 12 there was a slight musty smell coming from the bathroom that seemed worse when running the bathroom tap. It wasn’t bad enough for us to change rooms though, and a friend of ours was just down the hall and said there was no smell in their room. Just something to be aware of if you are sensitive to smell!

There are plenty of cafes, restaurants outside in the square and within a few minutes walking distance. The Black Church is also moments away by foot and we were able to cover everything we wanted to see within an afternoon which then allowed us to use Casa Wagner as a base for other tours out into Transylvania to see Rasnov Fortress, Bran Castle, Peles Castle and wine tasting.

Breakfast was included as was served in the room above reception which has a bar and lounge seating to relax in. Breakfast included teas, coffee, meats, cheeses, breads, yoghurt and fried eggs. Certainly enough to start the day! The hotel also had free wifi which was a bit intermittent in our rooms but worked fine in the breakfast room.

Our room faced out onto the main walkway and was quite dark but it fitted in with the exposed brickwork and beams. It was always hot but that was perfect as the weather was very cold outside during our visit! The room was spacious along with a good sized bathroom including a hot and powerful shower. Only negative we found was that the shower wouldn’t stay in the wall bracket and so you had to hold it but this seemed to be the case in other hotels we stayed at in Romania! The room had a mini bar where a small bottle of mineral water was just under £1 – so imagine how cheap it is if you go to the super market! TV had a good selection of channels including English speaking too.

Casa Wagner is well priced, with the perfect location and good rooms. Definitely better than your average Travelodge and with a bit of a more authentic Romanian feel to it. Slight smell in bathroom and shower head aside, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Wagner

Address: Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Brasov
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Wagner 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that hosts the hotel is a monument dating back to 1477, being documented as one of the first three buildings to have been erected on the central square. The same love and attention to detail has been given to its restoration and renovation, all the rooms having been minutely decorated with antique furniture, yet equipped with modern amenities. The hotel has 12 rooms all with en-suite bathrooms, color cable TV, internet connection, telephone and minibars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Wagner Hotel
Casa Wagner Brasov

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Wagner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.