We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, a real bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Wagner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Wagner to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Wagner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Brasov
Chesterfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location, a real bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at Casa Wagner for a weekend in October. As has been mentioned in other reviews, the location is top notch and the rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. The staff spoke English very well, and were eager to help with sight seeing arrangements. A few minor downsides...the room did not have a shower (it did have a large tub with hand held shower, though) and no elevator. No A/C either, but the weather was comfortable enough and it wasn't needed. To me the biggest reason to stay was the value...for what you get, this is a real bargain. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    149
    45
    4
    2
See reviews for
56
164
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Overall this hotel is good because it is right in the main square where most of the places to see are at a walking distance, shops, food, the black church and many more!
We did not have problems parking because we took the taxi ... It was not that noisy, we were even in the very first room next to the dining room... Of course when u r on vacation, people typically wake up early to see more places... Breakfast was good as with other hotels that serve hot and cold ... Eggs, cold cut meat, yogurt, cheese, typical European breakfast . Rooms are clean, size ok.., people there r friendly & helpful too !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This small hotel is full of character & housed in a building that is hundreds of years old. The trade-offs for history & ambience are lots of stairs (no elevator) and no airconditioning.

We had a small attic room overlooking the historic square with exposed beams and a dormer window. While the days are hot in summer, its quite cool at night so sleeping with the window open makes up for the lack of airconditioning. Noise from restaurants in the square had quietened down well before midnight. The room was fairly basic but comfortable.

Breakfast was adequate but not a huge variety. Staff helpful. Free wifi, but like many places in regional Romania the reception was patchy.

The great thing about this hotel was the location right on the main square & within walking distance of the main tourist spots and a pedestrian shopping street. Great variety of restaurants on the main square and in side streets off the square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We chose this hotel due its good location and did not regret it. We had small but cozy rooms and spent 3 good nights here. As a special luxury, our room had a balcony - although with a view to the courtyard. The strong point for this hotel ist that all you want to see in Brasov is within walking distance. The friendly staff at the reception will gladly give you all the information you may require.
The only weakness we found was the narrow breakfast room. The breakfast itself is definitely not luxurious but you will surely not walk away hungry. Altogether a likeable place we would choose again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The location was fantastic, right on the main square (next to KFC). The original building has been well converted into a hotel, the decor appears new yet traditional in keeping with the original features. There is no lift and lots of stairs which didn't worry us but may be a problem for some people. We stayed four nights and a number of tour groups came and went during this time. They did tend to take over the breakfast area so we tried to eat later whenever possible. Our room was a sort of loft conversion with original wooden beams and could actually have slept four despite there only being two of us, so the price we paid was great value. The bed was large and very comfortable and the air con was modern and cooled the room down in no time. There was a mini bar in the room but it had no prices and there appeared to be a safe in the room but there was no key and nothing was mentioned about this at check in. Breakfast was good and the lady in charge was pleasant and helpful. The usual continental fare was accompanied by freshly cooked eggs. I would stay here again if I returned to Brasov.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Situated in the scenic square, this hotel enjoys a fantastic location. The room we had, room 8, was spacious and charming. Despite it being situated in a busy area, our room was quiet and we slept great. There was no airconditioning, but it gets cool enough at night, even in the summer, to open a window and switch on the fan to be comfortable. Breakfast was standard and enjoyable. We got a great deal on this hotel from booking.com and would definitely reccommend it for anyone visiting Brasov.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Location: right on the main square in Brasov - you can't get a better location. (There was a public screening of a late night movie in the square the night we stayed there but we were up late anyway so the sound did not bother us).

Staff: very friendly, English-speaking. There were 2 of them in shifts and both were very nice.

Ambience: very charming, quaint, with exposed wood beams, large rooms, clean and nice bedding, storage etc.

Problems: the loo and bathtub were very good but there was a smell of sewage in the bathroom on the second day and it got worse but we were hardly in the room on that day so it did not bother us and we did not complain.

Value for money: for the price we paid (around €60 if I remember correctly) the room, the breakfast, ambience, location etc. were perfect therefore did not knock off a star for the smell.

I'd strongly recommend Casa Wagner in Brasov.

Room Tip: We got a room facing the square and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Wagner

Address: Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Wagner 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that hosts the hotel is a monument dating back to 1477, being documented as one of the first three buildings to have been erected on the central square. The same love and attention to detail has been given to its restoration and renovation, all the rooms having been minutely decorated with antique furniture, yet equipped with modern amenities. The hotel has 12 rooms all with en-suite bathrooms, color cable TV, internet connection, telephone and minibars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Wagner Hotel
Casa Wagner Brasov

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Wagner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.