We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah, the Hotel Casa Wagner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Wagner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Wagner to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Wagner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Brasov
Columbus Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Ah, the Hotel Casa Wagner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I loved this hotel and I loved Brasov. We were in Brasov just last week (March 2012) and really enjoyed our stay here. The old town of Brasov is beautiful and the Hotel Casa Wagner is right in the center of the main square. We has just one night but it was wonderful. Both our guide and the staff of the Casa Wagner recommended a wonderful restaurant where we should eat.

I would LOVE to return to Brasov and stay here for a much longer time. All was great from the room to breakfast to a very friendly staff. I would highly recommend the Hotel Casa Wagner to all.

Room Tip: Stay if you can in the old part of the building where you can look out at the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    149
    45
    4
    2
See reviews for
56
164
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My friend and I traveled to Brasov in January this year. We picked all of our trip accommodation based on location and price. This little gem of a hotel is located right in the old town square. Opposite the White Church and just a few hundred meters from the Black Church. We were greeted upon arrival by staff who instantly helped us arrange a small guided tour of the local destinations to visit in the area for a reasonable price.

The rooms are a great size, and while we didn't get wifi in our rooms it did not bother us as we figured we would be out and about most of the time. The heating worked great and we were not uncomfortable - even with snow falling outside. The rooms were clean, and the bathrooms spotless. The breakfast each day was fine and provided us with a good start to the day.

The staff were all knowledgeable and approachable which made the stay even better.

I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Brasov, the location makes a great starting point for venturing round the town and the price gives you the opportunity to have decent accommodation without breaking the budget.

Room Tip: Hope to get a room over-looking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I'm kind of confused about all of the praise. Our stay was fine, nothing to brag about. We stayed for two nights in February, and the staff was friendly when we arrived. Our room was big and nice enough, but had an old, dusty feel to it too. We did not get wifi in our room, but it is free to use in the dining room, so that worked for us, just a mild inconvenience. The free breakfast was good, standard.

The one big issue I had with this place was that we arrived back at the hotel one night and no one was manning the desk. I'm sure that Brasov is a very safe place, but as a New Yorker, this was a little upsetting to me. In addition, when we had to check out the next morning (at around 6:15am), again no one was at the desk. This caused me a lot of stress, not knowing how I should pay and not wanting them to think we had skipped out on the bill! We called the hotel's number and waited for about 20 minutes before we finally just had to leave and left a note explaining our issue. They ended up charging the credit card that I had used to reserve the room, which was fine, but I wish I could have checked out normally with an interaction with a person rather than stressing out about what would happen.

The main selling point of this hotel is the location. It is literally located exactly in the center square of the city, and this made seeing the attractions of Brasov easy. We took the public bus number 4 directly from the train station and had no problems finding the place. Just look for the clock tower.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend, based on location, but didn't think it was a spectacular stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here for a week while on Business in Brasov. The hotel was very nicely decorated and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and the cook was very willing to cook eggs to order etc... The hotel is in the central square which is a great location and easy to get around Brasov from. Great views of the mountains also.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

We chose this because of good reviews and ignored the few negatives. We were right as we had a great stay! We had room 1 which was huge and looked over the square ok the church bells went off every hour but who cares! Staff were nice and friendly. We arranged two day trips with them first to bran castle and peles castle which were fab! Second trip we went to sigisoara via viscri! We were lucky at viscri as apparently the old church needs to be opened by the old lady who more often than not is not around! It had snowed the week before which added to our trip it made everything look so pretty. Casa Wagner was always warm! Breakfast was good omelettes cheese meat etc usual stuff. We would recommend staying here. It's near good restaurants too we went to Keller steakhouse da Vinci and casa tansilvania all great!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackets Harbor, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We drove from Bucharest to Brasov, which is a great scenic drive by the way and had trouble finding this hotel because it was so centrally located. My wife and I eventually parked and walked to the center square and lo and behold the hotel was right there! We found the staff extremely helpful and friendly and were given a nice little room that was just perfect for the two of us. The central location was ideal for our excursions around Brasov to include to a nice little Irish Pub that was in the basement of a cafe right around the corner! The breakfast was very good for every taste and you could even order eggs. Being a runner I started a run early one morning from the hotel, and despite getting some curious looks from the staff and other patrons I totally enjoyed exploring Brasov on foot while jogging in the morning, really gives you the feel of how a local sees the town. Overall an excellent hotel in an even better locationl I would totally stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Casa Wagner is the best choice in Brasov, at it's located in the center of the city. The staff was frendly, the rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Wagner

Address: Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Wagner 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that hosts the hotel is a monument dating back to 1477, being documented as one of the first three buildings to have been erected on the central square. The same love and attention to detail has been given to its restoration and renovation, all the rooms having been minutely decorated with antique furniture, yet equipped with modern amenities. The hotel has 12 rooms all with en-suite bathrooms, color cable TV, internet connection, telephone and minibars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Wagner Hotel
Casa Wagner Brasov

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Wagner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.