We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By Far the Best Place I Have Ever Stayed At” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Rozelor - boutique hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Rozelor - boutique hotel to your Saves list
Casa Rozelor - boutique hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Michael Weiss, No 20, Brasov 500031, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 127 Brasov B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“By Far the Best Place I Have Ever Stayed At”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

My wife and I are currently on a one-year trip around the world, and we stayed at this brilliant boutique hotel for 4 nights while touring Transylvania recently. I cannot say enough good about this place; probably one of the best, funkiest and most memorable boutique hotels I have ever stayed at, and at very good value too.

Basically, the hotel consists of 3 apartments, each decorated separately, each with original modern art on the walls. The German owner is incredibly helpful, friendly and accommodating. He actually showed us all 3 apartments. We stayed in apartment number 6, and this is by far the best in the hotel, with split level living room on the 1st floor and bedroom upstairs up a windy staircase, with a large deck upstairs with view of the nearby mountain.

These aparments are fully equipped and more. There are flat screen tv's downstairs and upstairs. There is satellite tv with many English language channels including 3 movie channels. There is free wireless internet throughout. The place is FUNKY, with exposed red brick walls and really cool modern art. There is a fully equipped kitchen. The bathroom is clean. The water pressure in the shower is perhaps a bit lacking but that's hardly a complaint. The hotels owns a washer and drier and we were allowed to use it as much as we want free of charge. There is breakfast included in the price, and the breakfast is very good, brought to your room from a nearby restaurant.

One last thing: the owner was nothing short of amazing, helping us book excursions. On the last night, we had trouble booking our next hotel in Sibiu, and the owner actually spent an hour looking for a place for us by himself, eventhough we specifically asked him not to. Overall, I must say this is probably the best place I have ever stayed at, and I am heard to please and travel a lot. Very highly recommended.

  • Liked — Everything. This is the most memorable boutique hotel I have ever stayed at!
  • Disliked — Nothing negative to say
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
63
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

We agree with the previous reviews. This was a lovely property, with a terrific location, gracious and helpful owners, and unique rooms.

The hotel is located steps from Brasov's main pedestrian-only street and, and about a block from Piata Sfatului, the main square. We had apartment number 6, which had a living room/kitchen/bathroom on the main floor, and a spiral staircase up to the bedroom and outdoor terrace. We had a tour of the other two apartments, and the second floor room was really special (request that one if you can!)

Breakfast was served by a bistro next door (Bistro Del'Arte--we also had an excellent dinner there) and delivered to your room. The only minor inconvenience is that it is not served until 9:00 am, which is a bit of a problem if you're looking for an early start (although I got the impression that something could definitely be arranged if this was an issue for any reason).

We were able to park our rental car in the hotel's courtyard, which was very helpful as I'm not sure what we would have done with it otherwise. On a couple of occasions, there was a car blocking our entrance/exit, but it was simple enough to speak to the owners, who knew who the car belonged to and were able to arrange for it to be moved very quickly.

The owners were very helpful and accommodating, providing us with small change, a map, and thoughtful suggestions on restaurants and sights. We had to leave very early in the morning (more like the middle of the night) and they provided a discount due to the fact we wouldn't be getting breakfast.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iasi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

Our room was designed with exquisite taste and kept meticulously clean. The location was perfect, right in the heart of the historic center. We experienced excellent guest care and service. My highest recommendations.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

We found this little gem over the web and if you want the very best on all fronts, please join them as a guest. We stayed in a room on the upper level and I must say we were thrilled. It was beautiful and the owners a complete delight. We have travelled much and will definately return to Brasov again to stay at Casa.

  • Liked — beautifully decorated, clean and superb owners
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

We have just returned from a great trip touring transylvania.
Brasov is an excellent base for this area and the Casa Rozelor a wonderful boutique hotel, in fact it was the best accommodation we stayed in the whole trip including boutique hotels in Bucharest and Sibiu. The rooms are actually appartments and the standard and service exceptional. Its run by a very friendly approachable couple who have a great deal of knowledge and insight into the regions main places of interest and history.

I would not hesitate to highly recommend the Casa Rozelor as an excellent place to stay in Brasov. It well deserves its boutique status.

superb!

  • Liked — service and space
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — check out the Casa Rozelor
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

I can't recommended Casa Rozelor highly enough...Situated 1 minute from the main square and near all amenities and restaurants, these apartments are a true find. The owners, Christina and Gregor were very welcoming and helped us with our queries while parking was easy. The apartments are spacious, self-contained and decorated exquisitely - making each one a true home away from home. The wrought-iron spiral staircases and dimly-lit terraces add sophistication to each individual suite. Breakfast is included and can be served alfresco to your requirements by friendly staff from the adjoining bistro - the fare is delicious. I would certainly not put these apartments in the B&B category as the standard of the suites elevates them to the category of boutique apartments. The perfect spot to explore Brasov and it's many neighbouring sights - enjoy!

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

Very enjoyable new pension in the historic centre with pleasant, professional staff. Large rooms so ample space for ski gear in winter

  • Liked — Big rooms
  • Disliked — Off street access
  • Tips/Secrets — Probably best spot in Brasov for room size, essential if with a lot of ski gear
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Rozelor - boutique hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rozelor - boutique hotel

Address: Michael Weiss, No 20, Brasov 500031, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Rozelor - boutique hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the historic center of Brasov, Casa Rozelor is a boutique hotel providing accommodation in elegant and spacious suites decorated with original antique furnishings and contemporary art objects. Its privileged location and gracious romantic touches define the concept of private and exquisite comfort. We invite you to make Casa Rozelor a memorable part of your experience in Brasov. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Rozelor - boutique hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rozelor - Boutique Hotel Hotel Brasov

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Rozelor - boutique hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.