We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, great location - fantastic value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Postavarului

Save Saved
You added Guesthouse Postavarului to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guesthouse Postavarului
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Str Postavarului Nr 16, Brasov 2200, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 113 Brasov B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming, great location - fantastic value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed here in May 2008 and had a fantastic time. The owner was absolutely lovely - extremely welcoming and friendly, and able to provide us with information and tips on Brasov.

The room was great - large and spacious, clean, with an immaculate ensuite bathroom.

The location was perfect - right in the old town of Brasov, and close to the main square.

I would highly recommend this guesthouse as a place to say - fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

I stayed in a single room here which was really cute - thick walls were great in this summer's crazy heat as kept room cool. Also meant v quiet and slept v well here. No shower but owner let me use showers in double rooms when vacant - v nice of him as he didn't have to do that. The double rooms are fantastic by the way. This place is a touch of luxury for the budget traveller, v central, clean and run by helpful bloke who speaks fluent English. Lovely old building - my key was a 6" antique! Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Unique room in historic house
  • Disliked — No shower
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

The owners, the location, the price, and the service were absolutely terrific! I went to meet my future wife and booked on-line reservations with them. Everything went smoothly and the owner, Andrei, upgraded my single room to a double room after only a few days for the exact same price as the single!!! Along with this, I had him buy me some roses for my future wife and he got me a good deal and even invited me into his home to share some of his home-made brandy!!! Quiet and rustic, this place is great for just about anyone. I HIGHLY recommend it and look forward to going back some day and staying again!!!

  • Liked — Great service!!!
  • Disliked — Single room was a little small, but suffice. As a single person I didn't need much!
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

The information provided on the website for Guesthouse Postavarului was accurate and helpful, including which taxi's are best to take from the train station and the approximate cost. The Guesthouse was located on a side street that was about 25 steps from one of the main cobblestone streets leading to the plaza. The Guesthouse is built in such a manner as to provide privacy and quiet. My daughter and I felt completely safe at the Guesthouse and on the Plaza. There are numereous excellent restaurants within a few minutes of the Guesthouse. It is also just a short walk to the Black Church and other sights of interest. The Guesthouse owners live upstairs and are very helpful with information and can be hired to drive guests on local tours. We contacted Andrei in advance and arranged to have him drive us to the castle and surrounding areas. He is very personable and knowledgeable about the area. We recommend this Guesthouse without reservation.

  • Liked — Location and feeling of safety
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Guesthouse Postavarului and loved everything about it: 2 min walk from the main pedestrian-only street in the Old Town; charming, large, clean, quiet rooms. But most of all, hosts Andrei and Lucia are extremely warm and hospitable and they'll make every difference to your stay in Brasov!! You'll not regret staying here - I can't recommend it highly enough!!

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

Wonderful guesthouse about 3 minutes walk to the old town square in Brasov. The 30-something owner, Andrei, speaks great English and is very friendly. He has useful advice on how to spend your time in and around Brasov. He also offers private trips to Bran Castle and Rasnov fortress and other sights.

There are 4 apartments at the guesthouse. The one I stayed in had a kitchen (though not all do) and was nicely furnished. Bathroom was a little bigger than average, shower was modern and no problems with hot water. Security gate entrance, on a smaller street near the town square.

  • Liked — Friendly owner, location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — Hire the owner for a day excursion to one of the fortified churches or castles nearby
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed at Guesthouse Postavarului while adventuring through Romania, and we have to say it was exceptional. It has a central location in the old city, the accomodations are clean and modern, and the owners are extremely helpful and friendly. The rate is also excellent (especially compared to the overpriced hotels in the city).

We highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Brasov. It truly is a charming place to stay. Thanks for everything again, Andrei and Lucia!

Danny & Alexa

  • Liked — The owners and cleanliness of the room
  • Disliked — Nothing, honestly
  • Tips/Secrets — Seek advice from the owners regarding your travel
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guesthouse Postavarului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Postavarului

Address: Str Postavarului Nr 16, Brasov 2200, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Postavarului 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Guesthouse Postavarului reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Postavarului, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.