We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coroana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Coroana to your Saves list
Hotel Coroana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Republicii Blvd, Brasov 2200, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Brasov
Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A beautiful building, with huge rooms and the greatest breakfast/restaurant saloon that i ever saw. Right in the heart of Brasov, you can't go wrong staying at Hotel Coroana. And try to book a room with a view to the main street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
23
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Be warned, there are two Hotel Coroana’s in Brasov so it was a bit of a nightmare to find. But once found, the hotel staff were amazing getting 22 of us checked in. The rooms are massive and very old (squeaky floors, smoky smell). The hotel is crazy big so our group was spread out quite a bit. There is a tiny elevator that fits about two people with luggage but it works which is nice when you’re on the top floor. There is no internet anywhere in the hotel but you can connect wirelessly in the lobby. The lobby is also a smokers den so if you have issues with that, do not spend any time in the lobby. Breakfast is pretty good…buffet style in the restaurant connected with the lobby. Fresh juice, coffee, buns, cheese, fruit. All the students loved it and those that ate other meals in that restaurant said it was great. Brasov is absolutely beautiful and I highly recommend it. If you want an authentic Romanian experience, stay at this hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for five nights and were satisfied with everything. The rooms and bed were comfortable. We had a window that opened wide to let cool air in. It was on a main street and sometimes there was noise, but mostly during the day hours. Breakfast was a variety of cereals, eggs, breads, juices, and coffee. It was very clean and well kept. There is a nice lobby area with a sitting room. Overall good experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I travel to Brasov at least 4 or 5 times a year, in the winter I go to ski and in the summer just to hang out and spend a night away from home. I always stay at the Hotel Coroana when I am in Brasov and the reason is simple, the location. It right at the bottom of the main pedestrian area in Brasov and right in the centre of the historic old town. This is not a luxury hotel but it is clean and in a briliant position, if you want a large, clean room in the middle of Brasov for less than 50 Euros a night including breakfast then this is the place for you. Just be sure you have cash to pay the bill, they do not usually take credit cards

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms, they are the same price but are usually bigger (almost a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 1 week. The location is good, very close to the old town. The breakfast was amazing and made me very happy every day. However, the mattress is too soft and the sheet folding is pretty bad. There is a club on the first floor and is very noisy.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed as the hotel Coroana in Brasov for one night during our trip to Romania.

We booked a twin room which was on the front of the hotel with views of the main pedestrianised street. The room was basic, but clean and adequate for our needs and good value, large with enough storage space, TV, a large bathroom with a bath, hand held shower but no shower curtain!

Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant/bar with a good choice from the restaurant breakfast menu.

There was free wifi in the hotel reception area.

The hotel is at the start of the pedestrianised area of the old town, a short walk from the main square and a short taxi ride from the railway station

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in room 215, there is an elevator. Our room was big and had two twin beds w/duvets, sofa, luggage rack, two padded chairs, low table, two night stands, flat-screen tv, minibar, wardrobe with lots of hangers, two double-paned windows, carpet, good lighting (rare), high ceilings, phone. The huge bath had a tub-shower (no curtain), hair dryer.

There is free wi-fi in the big lobby but it did not reach to the rooms. There was gated/locked free parking for a few cars. The location is great, on one of the pedestrian-only streets that runs right into the main plaza. Breakfast was not included but the hotel is almost right across from McDonald's.

This is an old hotel but very well kept, our room was clean and comfy. It is an excellent budget option and we would stay here again. We paid $38/night.

Sandy (in Denton)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Coroana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coroana

Address: 62 Republicii Blvd, Brasov 2200, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Coroana 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Coroana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coroana Hotel Brasov

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coroana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.