We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed - overpriced for what you get” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Festival '39

Festival '39
62, Strada Republicii, Brasov, Romania
+40743339909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 138 Restaurants in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed - overpriced for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We had high hopes for festival 39 given the high rating on tripadvisor. Unfortunately, we were extremely disappointed with our food given the cost compared to other restaurants and wouldn't recommend this place to others.

Here's what we ordered:

Almond chicken and Camembert salad - very disappointing. The cheese and chicken were sparse and the lettuce was the only vegetable in the salad. Definitely not worth 34 Lei.

Spicy gypsy pork pan - very bland. Lacking spice and flavor. The waiter had cautioned us that the dish would be spicy but it wasn't even mildly spicy. The potatoes were decent but the whole thing was just boring.

Broccoli and cauliflower gratin - was ok and ended up being the dish we liked most. At 28 lei though, it was overpriced.

The decor and ambiance are great (if you don't mind it a little smoky) and it's a nice place to stop for a drink, but I would go elsewhere for food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    100
    20
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

There is a nice area outside for eating as well as a pleasant ambiance inside the restaurant. There is plenty of selection from appetizers, drinks, entrees and dessert. I liked that there were pictures to go with all of the menu items which is especially helpful if you don't speak the language.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omer israel
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“more than a restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The restaurant is locatrd in the middle of the touristic center of Brasov. The restaurant looks and is 100 years old, and it is an experience to look at all the old elements which are spread all around the place. We visited on the evening and enjoyed live jazz music. Dont miss the place if you are in Brasov.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My fav in Brasov”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I love everything about Festival - the atmosphere, the Art Nouveau style, the cocktails, the food... And it certainly seems I am not the only one appreciating all this, as the place is always buzzing - we've been lucky to get a table on more than one occasion...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good reputation, bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Impolite waiters. They moved us around until they finally had us sitting close to the entrance door. We realized later that some friends of the owner were taking our table later on.
Anyway, we said we should enjoy our night out. We used to go quite often in their old location (we remembered the drinks there and kind of missed them). However, since Festival 39 decided to go big, it feels that they lost something. Food was quite cold. I ordered some venison stew; it was served quite cold and I have the feeling I was the only one eating it in weeks. My friend was ordering beef steak; it was overcooked and served with frozen potato wedges.
Atmosphere: lots of smoke, loud people, boring music.
Overall, a disappointing experience.
We didn't go back again ever since.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Festival '39 also viewed

 
Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to Festival '39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Festival '39, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.