We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pensiunea Kermany & Dino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pensiunea Kermany & Dino to your Saves list
Pensiunea Kermany & Dino
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Str. Nicolae Balcescu,nr. 26, Brasov 500019, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 127 Brasov B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very small room. Very small bathroom. In the bathroom was dampness. The walls in the room were dirty. The location is very close from the center of town which is the only plus. Aviod Pensiunea Kermany & Dino!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We read lots of reviews before booking this room, many of which contradicted each other, so I hope this review sheds some light on this.

The Room: The Pension has a series of rooms/suites along the ground floor and then a staircase leading to more rooms. We had one upstairs - it was much bigger than expected - a kitchenette and two double beds in two rooms. Ensuite. The room was a very good space. I don't know how many of the rooms are this big - or if we were lucky because the hotel was quiet -I did glimpse the room next door and it was quite the opposite - a double bed, no kitchen or ensuite and quite small (though adequate).

Noise: The hotel says it is sound proof. I have to say, we had no problem with excessive noise during our visit but then again, I don't think there were many people staying upstairs. On the second night though, two guests moved into the room next to our 'suite' and the noise was very loud - I could hear their conversation in detail - and they weren't shouting. It was almost as if they were in the same room. Thankfully they went to bed within half an hour so it didn't cause as much disturbance as it could have done. But it did make me think we were quite lucky. On this point though, we found sound an issue in most places we stayed in in Romania. They do seem to all say they are soundproof but not one of the hotels we stayed in was soundproof.

Cleanliness: We'd read some reviews which suggested that the rooms were not clean but we found ours to be exceptionally clean (and I'm picky). I'm sure every hotel has the occasional problem like others, but I saw nothing to suggest a problem with cleanliness here.

Staff: The staff is very helpful. Again, we'd read mixed reports about the level of English but ALL of the reception staff were friendly and spoke English. Two different girls were on reception while we were there and both helped us get hold of information and were happy to chat. The young lad on the reception in the evening also spoke English and even offered to escort us by train to an area we wanted to visit, so we didn't get lost, as it was on his way home. Excellent service. There was an Italian man (who we assume was Dino) who sat in the reception a lot but left the running to the receptionists - though this could be because we were English speakers and he does not speak English. As a result, he could come across as indifferent - but he isn't - being firm and clear about what you want normally triggers some action and he was very welcoming to us when we were coming and going. We found him to be quite a character and he went to great lengths to help improve our wireless connection (see below). If you speak Italian you'll be fine or if you know any Spanish, just use it. I used Spanish with him and he seemed to follow it enough to get by.

Breakfast: Not particularly special but adequate. Bread, cheese, ham, tomato, boiled egg and tea/coffee. No variation/no hot breakfast.

Wireless: This was not good and for us was our biggest issue as we had work to complete and also wanted to use it to help plan the next stage of our trip. The hotel says it has full wireless everywhere. When we arrived we were offered two wireless access points. We were using an iphone, Samsung handset and Apple Mac for access. We could not access it on any of the devices (only one of the networks was visible on my phone scanner but was 'out of range' though the laptop picked up a weak signal). Moving towards reception made little difference - in the reception it has a 'weak' signal at best. The hotel reception uses cable access so not sure how they have the place wired. The receptionist called the owner while we were there (not Dino) and all they could say was that 'we had the best room for connection'; - which was not a great response when it was clear that we didn't have a connection and the hotel had claimed free wireless everywhere. Dino stepped in to help here by bringing a spare modem to our room and plugging it in to improve the connection. This did help though the connection was very slow - and it didn't help with my phone connecting for some reason. It just didn't seem to cope. If you need reliable wireless, be prepared to go to local cafes to use it - they are nearby and have plenty of free open wireless access which I had no problems with. If you're lucky enough to connect at the hotel the slowness is likely to make you cry with frustration anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensiunea K, Front Office Manager at Pensiunea Kermany & Dino, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your words and for such a good description. We will try to improve the quality of our services and to give the best for our clients.
We hope you'll choose Pension Kermany & Dino next time you'll visit Brasov.
Kind regards,
Virlan Ludmila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family of four, two adults and two children were settled in Pensiunea Kermany & Dino in the evening. Apartments is stylish, neat and clean. Two bedrooms, a living room with a TV, refrigerator, mini-bar, toilet and shower. Nothing more is necessary. Friendly staff, good breakfast and a feeling of comfort in this small hotel. If anyone will be in the beautiful town of Brasov, we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensiunea K, Front Office Manager at Pensiunea Kermany & Dino, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely words!
We are always happy to have such wonderfull clients like yourselves.
We hope to see you soon in beautifull town of Brasov.
Мы ждем вас с большой любовью!
Best wishes and regards,
Virlan Ludmila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Lovely hotel in a quiet location but close to the main square.
Staff helpful and considerate.
They understood the concept of vegetarianism, not always the case in Eastern Europe.

I can only assume the review given by PerGanesh was whilst he was drunk...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensiunea K, Front Office Manager at Pensiunea Kermany & Dino, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Pension Kermany & Dino.
We try the best to meet our clients wishes.
Best wishes and regards,
Virlan Ludmila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The best solution if you are searching for an easy and cheap accomodation in Brasov , very kind people with an italian touch of Dino (the owner) . Very close to the centre the pensiunea has free parking availability that is not an easy task for travellers getting Brasov by car .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

A special thanks to Dino, the owner of this premise. You are offered a small flat with kitchen and bathroom in the center of Brasov for a very honest price. Ask Dino to explain the rule of "the three Z"! He does not speak English but if you catch some Romanian and Italian you'll understand each other! Ask for tips where to eat and what to do in Transylvania, Dino is also a good source of info! Beautiful and nice staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hardly to believe,but this cottage is rated three stars. Based on what if i may ask? Piles of dust and garbage from other visitors in the rooms,no one seems to clean anything there. The owner is very noisy and usually drunk. The reception smells horrible! Alcohol mixed with mold. The receptionist was kind though,even if not much of english speaker. Breakfast is poor and served by the receptionist! My God,that's something you won't see too often and i've been to many places... The heat is turned off and they leave you tremble in your small and uncomfortable room,on an ancient molded mattress. You feel like spending the night in the House of horrors. Conclusion-if u transit the city,if you don't have any kind of great expectations,if you really have nowhere to go,if you like spooky and smelly mansions,if you like to pay a high price for nothing, if you're on a diet, if you like to shower with nothing but cold water and wipe yourself with used towels, if you like lumber, it's the perfect choice. You can even discover condoms inside the frige... If not,just avoid it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensiunea Kermany & Dino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensiunea Kermany & Dino

Address: Str. Nicolae Balcescu,nr. 26, Brasov 500019, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensiunea Kermany & Dino 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensiunea Kermany & Dino is situated in the old center of Brasov, near the Council Square (The Central Square) and the Republicii Street. It offers you rooms and apartments with kitchens and private bathrooms. The breakfast can be served with 3 euros/person. Also you have free wireless in all the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Pensiunea Kermany & Dino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensiunea Kermany & Dino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.