We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and interesting museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of the Urban Community of Brasov

The Museum of the Urban Community of Brasov
Piata Sfatului, nr. 15-16, Brasov 500031-500025, Romania
+40 (0)268 476 243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 25 Attractions in Brasov
Type: Museums
Attraction details
New York, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“New and interesting museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a very new museum with very interesting exhibits on the local crafts and industry. There was a beautiful exhibit of photos of Maramures craftsmen when we visited, so check on special exhibits.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Transylvanian saxons and the city culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A museum today is not something thrilling but this one makes a point by showing authenticity. It is located in an very old, yet well preserved 16th century building, displaying original frescoes and staircases. The location belonged to of a rich transylvannian saxon patrician family, it went a thorough restauration and the museum is very modern.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
129 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Deceiving name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

There's no emphasis on anything "urban" in this museum. It's more of a historical museum filled with artifacts from Brasov, and without much English to explain anything.

For these reasons it was not that interesting to me, but there was a neat video which compared the old and new times of Brasov, and there were a couple of cool eerie paintings that caught my eye. And since it's not expensive (7 lei, 1.5 lei for students) I can't really complain!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great way to kill an hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Easy to find, right on the square, and if the weather is cold or wet (like it was for us), this is a good option. They gave us little plastic booties for our wet shoes. Cheap entry, I forget, some 10 lei or so, but to take photographs inside you need to pay another fee of maybe 25 lei. We didn't, so no photos.

The displays are very good about having English cards for description. You can learn a lot about the urban economic history of Brasov, particularly the 19th century. I do wish they'd continue the translation to include the various inventory sheets. The displays also show how they renovated the building - they did a fantastic job, by the way. The interior is amazing. It won't take long, maybe an 60-90 minutes, so perhaps something to do while digesting lunch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What a great little museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This gem is right on the big plaza in the heart of Brasov. After being disappointed at the Ethnographic Museum, this one had everything we wanted - a lovely old building, beautifully displayed articles, textiles, domestic items, etc., and it gave us a good idea of life in the old days. A language-free film, shown near the entrance, was adroitly put together, with costumed actors fitting into modern life, and buildings flickering back and forth between old photos and contemporary scenes. We found it just delightful, and the price was very low.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of the Urban Community of Brasov also viewed

Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to The Museum of the Urban Community of Brasov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum of the Urban Community of Brasov, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.