We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Romania” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Transilvania

Restaurant Transilvania
Strada Castelului nr.106, Brasov, Romania
+40 268 416 491
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 138 Restaurants in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Romanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ive been a regular visitor to Romania since 1992, in connection with a British charity. Been to Brasov many times but only just discovered this real hidden gem of a restaurant in terms of good service, really nice food, and VERY good value. I would like to write a review - please list ASAP please
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good for Romania”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I've found that Romania isn't brilliant in their service industry particularly in tourist hot spots but the girls at the place were friendly and helpful even though it was quiet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    47
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Canada
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“The waitresses actually dress up like Elvira ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

the vampire lady. And it seems like they're miserable for having to do so. As for the food: the chicken with stuffed mushrooms and cheese was over-cooked, the whole-fish was under-cooked, the apple pie was mediocre and the pancakes with ice cream was rubbery.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really yummy! Great value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We had the rolled chicken with mushroom and cheese, highly recommended! Great staff and value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I decided to try this restaurant after seeing it recommended by various sources. The place is cozy with good atmosphere and good service. It serves typical food for this region of the world, I had the stroganoff with romanian potatoes, recommended by the waitress. The food was good, especially when you consider the price. For desert my girlfriend had pancakes which were nothing special but I had the Papanași which was excellent, highly recommend it (one portion probably enough for two). During my short visit to Romania, this was the best restaurant we went to and I would probably go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We chose this restaurant after reading other reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed! The food is simple Romanian, the portions are big and the house wine was excellent. The waitress was excellent and the atmosphere was relaxed and cosy. I would definitely visit this restaurant again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Transilvania also viewed

 
Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to Restaurant Transilvania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Transilvania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.