We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Sergiana

Restaurant Sergiana
Strada Muresenilor 28, Brasov 500030, Romania
+40 268 419 775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 131 Restaurants in Brasov
Cuisines: Romanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ny
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is pretty good, but touristy. You get what I think is relatively authentic Romanian dishes, at a reasonable price, and good portions. There are English menus and the servers speak English, which isn't really ever an issue in Romania anyway. Overall I would recommend it but I wasn't blown away or anything...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    158
    45
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had lunch at this restaurant back in June. The location is great, in the old city center. The food was awesome and the wait time reasonable. We tried several dishes, including dessert, and we were very pleased with our choices. The prices were within decent range.
The service was amazing. The waiters were very professional and fast and the hostesses were very efficient.
I appreciated the existence of the non smoking area, sometimes not always respected in many Romanian restaurants.
I absolutely recommend this restaurant for its traditional Romanian dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Traditional and delicious Romanian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

As we entered the restaurant, we felt the traditional Romanian atmosphere. We were guided to our table by a very nice guy, all the waiters were dressed in traditional Romanian clothes. The food was perfect, but you have to expect it to be heavy to your stomach. Excellent service and reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The location is great: located in the old city center, with a lot of space, and tastefully arranged - lighting, furniture, old photographs. The waiters are always polite, always smiling, and their uniforms are very close to a traditional costume. Even though it is situated in a basement, you won't miss the daylight because of the ingenious lighting systems. There is also a smoking area, but it is separated and does not interfere at all with the rest of the location due to great ventilation (we were there with two infants).

Everything is customer-oriented: friendly personnel, music volume (you know it's there for the atmosphere, but you can barely hear it), fast service. The tableware looks like it's from the old ages (wooden trenchers and darker plates) and the food is excellent - there are always fresh pig greaves ("jumari") on the house and every dish is prepared traditionally with fresh ingredients from their own farms. Above all, the price if more than right for the quality you will get.

If you are planning to go there with small kids, keep in mind this is place does not have child activities and the little ones will either get bored or disturb the others. Also, due to restaurant's popularity, I would advise making a reservation in advance (especially for a larger group).

All in one, the place is spotless and I see no reason you would not try at least once this exquisite location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the trip! Another gastronomic jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

After a whole visiting castles and a town our guide brought us to this famous restaurant. Tell you what I can understand why it has won awards over the past few years. Excellent food and service. We chose the traditional Romanian dishes and the desert, we were not disappointed! Prices are cheap and reasonable. If there is any reason to visit this city, this is it! Of course there is the narrowest street, the first school, but then this must be it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Sergiana also viewed

 
Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to Restaurant Sergiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Sergiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.