We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I do not recommend this hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piatra Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piatra Mare to your Saves list
Hotel Piatra Mare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brasov, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Brasov
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I do not recommend this hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The four stars have nothing to do with the quality of this hotel, but ruther with the price. Although the hotel went through a recent renovation, the outcome is a sinister combination between comunist and modern art. Lots of marble walls and rubbish materials. The room was dirty with old and unconfortable furniture. The breakfast was terrible and very poor.

Room Tip: In the new wing, the rooms may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    13
    12
    12
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed a couple of days at Piatra mare hotel and it was ok. Because there is no air conditioned, we had to leave our balcony door open and for a good part of the night, dogs were barking and our sleep was not very good! Also, we were disturbed by the noise of the elevator that was situated beside our room.. The breakfast was not great and the presence of group make the breakfast room very busy and noisy in the morning! The rooms are big and spacious and the bathroom are ok. The view from the rooms are great and the area is beautiful. I am not sure I would go back to that hotel. There seems to be many better ones in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

I was very disappointed from the moment I stepped inside the hotel. The main lobby is paved with black and gray marble, which gives it a sinister look, like a tomb. The next shock was the room: old and worn out furniture, with cracks and weak hinges, spider webs hanging in the upper corners of the walls. The bathroom has ugly finishes: holes in the tiles where the pipes come out from the wall, tiles with different patterns and textures (where they have made repairs). But the worst shock was that it was no WiFi (or wired, for that matter) Internet in room. When I asked the concierge if there was a problem with the WiFi router or something, because I can't see any wireless network, she replied with a big grin (or smile): "Well, you are not supposed to! For wireless internet you can always come to the main lobby."
But of course, price is according to the four star rating. Unfortunately the quality is way much lower. Three stars tops, but rather 2!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

4 stars?!? Yes, when it comes to the price!!! 4 stars hotel?!? ...really doubt it. True, the hotel went through a renovation but I don't really care for the result: lots of marble walls and floors in the reception area, combined with cheesy angels and ... cheap modern art.
The room is quite small, dirty, with worn out and unconfortable furniture. No sheers at the windows (drapes only!), no extra pillows (except the two small bumpy ones), no extra blankets, no coffee filter .... awww ...

bathroom o.k., clean and spacious but didn't feel like the phone next to the toilet was really an upgrade.

Promised I'll neve ever set foot in this hotel again and do my part in raising awarness regarding the rip-off!!!

  • Liked — ?!?
  • Disliked — 4 stars?!? Yes, when it comes to the price!!! 4 starts hotel?!? ...really doubt it. True, the hotel went through a renovation but I don't really care for the result: lots of marble walls and floors in the reception area, combined with cheesy angels and ... cheap modern art.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzau, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

I've stayed two weekend nights at this hotel for team building purposes. It is a great location, near the Alpin Hotel and a little bit less qualitative comparing with the Alpin Hotel although they have the same number of stars (4). I think this is because Piatra Mare Hotel was renovated before the renovations made on Alpin Hotel and therefore everything seems a little bit used. I said "little bit" and this can be observed only if you look carefully at details.

In general it is a very good hotel, with beautiful rooms, large conference rooms, oval shape pool (as far as I remember because the pool was in renovation at that time), a very beautiful and large lobby.

I'm writing this review by making a comparison with the Alpin Hotel because this was the first thing that came into my mind when I entered the hotel and I was expecting the same conditions like at the Alpin Hotel. But I was not disappointed because the difference is unnoticeable (only if you look at details) and I think the price is lower than the one from the Alpin Hotel.

Therefore I recommend this hotel as a good hotel in Romania.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piatra Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piatra Mare

Address: Brasov, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Piatra Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Piatra Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piatra Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.