We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fantanita Haiducului

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fantanita Haiducului to your Saves list
Fantanita Haiducului
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Padurea Bradului, Dn 1, Sibiu 550047, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Sibiu
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

A pleasant place to stay if you are passing by near Sibiu. However, although highly recommended, the hotel was not as expected: the smallest room I ever stayed in a hotel, with no refrigerator or minibar. On the other hand, the breakfast was very good, with plenty of choices. We also spent some time in a very nice American-style Harley Bar, but where it was very cold all the time :(. Overall, we had a good time there, but things may be improved.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

The food was good, the restaurant is very nice, the bar is nice, location is great. The rooms could've been very good but there was a little smell in the bathroom. Anyways, it is the best choice to stay over night in theese parts.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Well where can I start...walking into this hotel was like walking into a strange twilight zone...but this is meant in the NICEST way!!...It was a gorgeous wooden lodge (reminded me of something you expected from Heidi!!) mixed in with a lovely American themed bar fully equipped with 2 motorbikes and a variety of different American themed memorabilia...then there was a little garden area outside where there was a small aviary and a few other animals and a gorgeous sports area with a tennis court and a small park...inside the hotel you were greeted in the Reception by a lovely member of the team, who was more than helpful, as were all the staff at the hotel, and also fish, hamsters and a hay bales (this is what I mean by the twilight zone ish effect!!) We had a lovely stay, though with my partner being registered disabled, lugging the cases up two flights of stairs was abit much for him, and weren't offered any help!! but that is literally the only thing I would say in any bad term..the food was lovely...the fresh Elderflower juice we had was absolutely gorgeous, and to be fair we even got bottles of water in our rooms...the beds were comfy and the rooms were clean and spacious, it was a separate room for my little boy, also the shower was great, and even though there wasn't much we liked, the breakfast served was great!!...We didnt get chance to use much of the facilities as we arrived late on both nights and left early...but there was also a sauna, table tennis room, small arcade with an X box and a few other gaming things in and an outside barbeeq area too...All in all, a really lovely place in the middle of nowhere with beauuuuuuuuuuuuuuutiful views and a chapel to get married too!! Xx

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We left after 15 minutes because not even the table from prevoius customers hadn't been cleaned. A couple behind us was complaining the food order was given an hour ago. We haven't got the chance to eat, but prices are huge for Romania

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We made a stop for lunch on our way to Lake Balea and we did not stay overnight, so I cannot comment on the quality of the hotel. However, we did enjoy our lunch, the food was amazing and the service was friendly, though slow. When we arrived, the place was packed and if you're in a hurry, this is not the place for you. We waited for 1 1/2 hours for our food, but it was worth it. They had everything we asked for and the food was a treat.
We returned a few days later and the restaurant was only half full, so we didn't have to wait for more than half an hour, but the service seemed slow and bored, the food was still amazing.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau, Romania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Very clean rooms,but the prices are huge comparing to the area. After all is nothing else but a road motel... No frige inside,no minibar,no wifi(room 115). Restaurant is not so cozy as expected,in fact quite kitchy and the chef should be fired. The pork ribs was very oily(was fried not grilled-I cannot understand why,because I ordered a grill) and taff like a shoe... The trip soup was ok. Continental breakfast also ok. I cannot recomend this,they are so many options...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerut
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were on the last leg of our East European tour and were on our way to Bucharest via Sibiu from Budapest and decided to go see the Balea Glacier Lake. However it was raining heavily and we decided to turn back and on our way back to our hotel in Sibiu we saw this hotel and broke journey for lunch.

The hotel was crowded and we took a corner seat in the non smoking section. Service was slow but we had opted for Romanian food and found the food very good.

My wife being a vegetarian relished the mamaliga she ordered with vegetables and I myself had mamaliga with grilled fish. Others in our tour had tripe soup and mamaliga with other combinations.

I recommend mamaliga with combinations of vegetables or meat or fish and

We did not stay in this hotel and so cannot comment on the quality of the rooms. Nor can we comment on the non Romanian food served here.

Room Tip: Try the Romanina food
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fantanita Haiducului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantanita Haiducului

Address: Padurea Bradului, Dn 1, Sibiu 550047, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fantanita Haiducului 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Fantanita Haiducului reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sibiu
Sibiu Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fantanita Haiducului, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.