We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal and great wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Hermania

Restaurant Hermania
Str Filarmonicii 2, Sibiu, Romania
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 83 restaurants in Sibiu
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Tel. +40 755 055 999
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and great wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We took the recommendation from our hotel and ate at this restaurant after a long day of driving and site seeing. I ordered a spaetzle and pork dish that was very good. I also had a very nice Gerwertztrameiner, and lots of things were better. Service was very good and to our surprise, they spoke very good English. It was a very nice place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    29
    21
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice experience, tasteful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very nice experience, good location, kids friendly. Theresa is a very pleasant waitress, she is paying attention on what you ordered, makes continous efforts to be sure that everything is ok. From the restaurant you may buy some tasty products and take them home (chees, marmelade, and other tasty stuff).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You can count on it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The restaurant is big, it has tables both inside and outside and I suppose it is also convenient for big events such as a corporate party, even a small wedding. We were there at lunch time in a hot summer day and only find a place inside. You could see all kind of people: locals celebrating an anniverssary, business men to lunch break, tourists like us. The staff was polite but not invasive and the food was very good. It was actually so good that after the soup and the lamb stew I was too full to even think about desert.

In conclusion: serious and reliable restaurant, very good food, service ok. The only thing I wasn't so happy about: german language radio and music, I think they can find a more enjoyable music. For the rest, all good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Share a starter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The weather was mixed, and we ate once inside, and once outside. 9 of us at a 3 course meal, with wine and it cost less than £60 - quality was good, service excellent - when we couldn't understand a translation on the menu, they brought a sample out for us to see.
Would recommend without hesitation - its local Saxon food - well cooked. The starters are large, so share one between 2, it leaves room for the main course

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
“Good food & great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed this German restaurant a lot. The very first thing I noticed was that the air was fresh and free of cigarette smoke. I am not sure this was just the nonsmoking section or if the whole restaurant was smoke-free, although that would be hard to believe in Rumania. There were only few people in the restaurant so maybe all others were in the smoking section? Anyway, we were very happy to spend several hours in this nicely decorated, dimly lit restaurant with good food.
The staff was very friendly. The waitresses had Saxon costumes. The very beautiful Teresa (she spells it differently!), carrying many large mugs full of beer wore a big smile and was playing her role perfectly.
All enjoyed their beer and the local wine. I think the food was not strictly German. The chicken dish I had, tasted more like a Hungarian goulash and was very good. Other dishes also looked mouth- watering. Probably it would be more helpful to look at the photos of these dishes.
We were very satisfied with our evening at the restaurant Hermania. If you are in Sibiu, it is worth checking it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Hermania also viewed

Sibiu, Sibiu County
Sibiu, Sibiu County
 

Been to Restaurant Hermania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Hermania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.