We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice country house near Sibiu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lunca Sibielului

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lunca Sibielului to your Saves list
Lunca Sibielului
| Sibiel Village, Sibiu, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 84 Sibiu B&B and Inns
Constanta, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice country house near Sibiu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a nice vacation at Lunca Sibielului, located in a small village with a nice view over the mountains and fresh air to breath. It is situated 30 minutes car drive to Sibiu, probably the most beautiful city in Romania.
The house is very well decorated in romanian country style, with a very nice garden, terrace & barbeque.
The people that own the house are very helpfull and polite. If you want to eat there they are the ones who prepare the food which is very good, but a little bit overpriced.
These are the good points of Lunca Sibielului.
What we didn`t like is the lack of cleaning in the room while we stayed there, although there were not so many guests (maybe 3 rooms).
The drain in the shower was overflowing, the bathroom was not cleaned for 6 nights while we stayed there, the towels were changed only two times, the linen was not change at all and the garbage in the room was not taken (empty plastic bottles). The bed was not very comfortable for us, we found it very hard because of the spring mattress. You can also hear very easily through the walls.
Because we travelled in many locations before we didn`t find this issues very pleasant, especially that this country house is a little bit overpriced for the conditions that we encountered there.
Anyway the staff is very nice and we had a nice stay in this part of our country.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lunca Sibielului is situated in a very nice location at the entrance in Sibiel (coming from Sibiu), quite isolated but easy to access. The place is extremely clean and the interior design is well done - a mix of tradition and modern. The yard is one of the strong points: large, quite, with playground for kids.
It's our second time here and we experienced 2 different approaches from the staff. In spring we were a group that occupied all rooms. The only problem at that moment was the long time neccessary to prepare the food. The staff was slow, but the administrator was nice and outcame the possible issues.
During our second stay (only 3 rooms), the administrator was away, so we were more exposed to the staff. They are slow, without any enthusiasm or proactiveness. They miss a lot with this attitude as we can't guess what they can cook/sell ( too bad as the cook is good). It's like we disturb them, although not rude. Beautiful place, they should improve service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

In the village of Sibiel, this is a good place to stay outside of Sibiu. The place has a "new"look about it. Very clean and well decorated with all needs of the tourist met. The dinner was basic Romanian, the breakfast cooked to order. There were a few problems with the bathroom - the shower stallnot draining well and no available soap for the shower (an attached soap dispenser for the sink is good there but can't be carried into the shower!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went there to relax and we returned tired because we couldn't sleep at night. The pension had every night other group of local tourists wishing to drink and stay overnight outside so for individual tourists was impossible to rest.
Also the staff paid attention only to groups. We had to wait every time to serve first the big groups and only after that they were coming to you.
The pension itself is not a traditional one as they present themselves on website. It is a new building run by people from the city and instead of having a nice vacation in the middle of a village, you feel like you are in a noisy city.
The food was quite expensive for a pension in a middle of a village and not tasty.

Room Tip: don't chose the rooms above the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Decided we wanted to try "agro-tourism" in Romania and learned of this brand new family run pensuine. Stayed 2 nights. Village is picturesque, and the home of a charming museum, founded by a priest, displaying traditional icons painted on glass, a true Transylvanian peasant handicraft.
With a car, is easy to get to, allowing daytrips to other locations such as Sighisoara, or into Sibiu for the day. Restaurant serves traditional Romanian food. It is the only place to get a good meal in the vicinity, also serves local wines.
Owner speaks some English, rooms/baths are spare but spotless and new.
They very kindly did a load of laundry for us, as we were on a long trip and running out of clean clothes.
Well worth a visit for a few days.
Can't argue with the price.

  • Liked — family run, charming village, easy to do daytrips with a car, well priced, simple, new
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lunca Sibielului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lunca Sibielului

Address: | Sibiel Village, Sibiu, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lunca Sibielului reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lunca Sibielului, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.