We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for everyone :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensiunea Ela

Pensiunea Ela
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pensiunea Ela to your Saves list
Pensiunea Ela
Noua Street, No. 43, Sibiu 550257, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Sibiu
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great place for everyone :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recommend this place if You want to spend time in a nice and not expensive room.
Our room was very clean, bathroom was small but also very clean, good relation room-price, not very expensive.
the best thing is a family atmosphere and wonderful garden, peace and quiet, nice people - especially the owners of the pension, beautiful surroundings, a place for spending time - garden, arbor and grill :)
it was a really big pleasure :)
thenk You :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are not cleaned, especially the bathroom. The internet and the TV are not working. It is too cold in the rooms, even in October. When we ask dor a higher temperature, the did not do anything. They provide only one towel per person. I think nobody should stay there (even the owner).

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEBRECEN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I will return to this place with my parents after having brought my wife and kids for and very pleasant stay. I will also be recommending this place to other friends for its value, location, peaceful inner hof and picturesque outside dining area with antiques and folk art decorating the perimeter. The roses which run up the sides of the 75 ft long wall will be stunning once they are blooming. Our room was nice and clean with a tidy bathroon although my lower bunk bed creaked a bit. The owner, Ela, was surprisingly very fluent in German and English and very warm and welcoming. Very important as a first impression for the guests. Easy and safe access to the accommodation. You will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper rooms if they have not been taken as the view will be great. Try to phone a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Pensinuea Ela in Sibiu this April while visiting Romania. The owner, Ela, is an absolutely wonderful, welcoming person. She greeted us with hugs and great advice about places to visit. There is breakfast (bread, jelly, meats, yogurt) available for 5 euro extra a day- which is nice. We enjoyed getting to meet other people staying at the Villa. They have two nice outdoor gazebos to eat, drink, hang out in as well as a spacious backyard. It is centrally located about 5 minutes walking from Old Town Sibiu. The location was great and the people were wonderful! The rooms are not extravagant but do just fine. I would stay there again. Felt like home!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, US
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This is a clean, picturesque, quiet, and pleasant hotel, and offers pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

My husband and I wandered over to Pensiunea Ela unannounced at about 8 at night while on honeymoon. Despite looking very confused when we rang the bell, the owners quickly led us around their pension and set us up with a room.

The room was comfortable and impeccably clean, with a nice, en-suite bathroom (with a decent shower). The bed, though simple, was very comfortable. There were English-language TV channels available on the TV.

The best part about this very cozy pension is the owners. Ela is fantastically nice and helpful, and is very happy to chat away with her guests. The pension's dog, Lassie, is sweet (though a little mouthy--he definitely made a move for my hand once or twice) and low-key. Breakfast is very simple--not, perhaps, worth the money but certainly very convenient for the low-maintenance traveler.

Also, this pension is very centrally located in a local's kind of neighbourhood. It is not surrounded by other pensions and hotels, and is a great place to stay if you want to get a sense of real life in Sibiu. It is also only a quick walk (five minutes) from the medieval centre, which makes it perfectly located for sightseeing and nightlife.

We had a great time here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

This friendly pension is for travelers who prefer authentic home comfort rather than sterile, generic chain hotel rooms. Very clean, cozy rooms. Pleasant colors and rose bushes in summer. Garden area for reading, writing, relaxing. Good Romanian breakfast. The pension is in a historic neighborhood that is a nice 7 minute walk from the main squares.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensiunea Ela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensiunea Ela

Address: Noua Street, No. 43, Sibiu 550257, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pensiunea Ela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensiunea Ela Hotel Sibiu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensiunea Ela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.