We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nord to your Saves list
Hotel Nord
33A Ibar Str., Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Plovdiv
barrow on humber
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

After booking online with a 22 Euro price i was a little bit apprehensive as to what we find on arrival (usualy you get what you pay for) although i did some research before the booking, not finding any adverse comments we thought we would give it a try. We were driving thro Bulgaria so parking was important too, sure enough on arrival the receptionist pointed to a coned area she had reserved for us, right outside the hotel! At reception the young lady was very friendly and professional, even offering to show us the room before we checked in. The room was very adequate, larger than expected, clean well furnished and above all- COOL!!!! After check-in and and a quick freshen up (it was 38'c outside) we decided to visit the old part of Plovdiv, were again the receptionist was extremely helpful with a map and directions.
Breakfast is the usual Bularian fare, there is a choice tho nothing fanciful, but quite acceptable. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone, easy to find too (tomtom), just opposite the International Trade fair. I will defiantely use again next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
15
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valga
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

But not three star as they advertise. Everything is very basic in the hotel, nothing special. The showers in rooms have no curtains, so the water is splashed all over the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is very professional looking. It could pass for a sligthly trendy Holiday Inn in terms of look and comfort. The room and bathroom were impeccable and of good size. The price was amazing and the staff very helpful. I arrived a day early and while they were full, they suggested a nearby hotel. The area is a bit boring but safe to leave the car on the street. It us an easy 10 min walk to the old city.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panagia, Thassos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Can't praise this hotel enough. Although we only paid 22euros a night our room was more than adequate. It was warm & comfortable, not luxurious but for that price very acceptable. The choice of breakfast was great & the food very palatable. All the staff were so friendly & helpful, in fact they couldn't do enough for us & our friends they made our stay in Plovdiv even more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it as it is also so close to the shopping area & old town. I only hope if we return, as there will probably be more investment it doesn't change it too much. Well Done!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Booked a double room and got upgraded to a super room with balcony and view of the city. Double beds are king size and very comfy. Reception Staff are incredibly friendly and informative (not the norm in Bulgaria). This hotel is a small, friendly boutique hotel offering comfortable rooms at very reasonable rates. The breakfast is very nice with plenty of choice. We were thrilled with our choice and they even organized a taxi to the airport and negotiated a very good price of 12 lev.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Upper Floors have great views over the city and some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The value here was pretty incredible. We paid only 22 EUR per night for a double room. That said, this is a budget hotel. While the furniture seemed new and freshly updated, the carpet and bedspread were a bit shabby (and the carpet may have contributed to a slightly stale odour in the room).The bathroom facilities were in excellent repair, however. There was a hairdryer, and shampoo, etc. was provided.

The best aspect of this hotel was the service. The staff was extremely friendly and spoke good English. They made us fresh coffees in the morning without us even needing to ask. They also let us pay for the room in cash in our currency of choice (which was EUR), and they stored our luggage for us on the last day.

The location was great! It was about a 10 minute walk from old Plovdiv. We were initially a bit apprehensive about staying across the bridge from the old city since some parts of Plovdiv look a bit sketchy, but the immediate neighbourhood around the hotel seems to be relatively lively. There are a couple of large grocery stores, multiple pharmacies, bank machines, and a few outdoor bars/eateries all within a block or two.

To get to the old city from the hotel, the easiest way is to hang a left after exiting the building. Then take a right and walk across the bridge. Just over the bridge, you'll come to a pedestrian underpass next to an old hammam. Hang a right pretty much anywhere after emerging from the underpass, and you'll find yourself on the outskirts of old Plovdiv.

A couple of quibbles/oddities that we encountered:

-The doors in the rooms don't automatically lock, so be sure to lock the door manually before you go to sleep at night.
-The mini fridge in the room wasn't fully stocked (i.e. it was missing chocolate bars that were listed on the menu), but what was there (juice, pop, beer, etc.) was reasonably priced (for example, a beer was 2 BGN).
-The wireless internet connection was only marginally effective; however, there was a highspeed wire that worked really well.
-The "double" bed was actually two single beds pushed together.
-Housekeeping needs a little work. There was a bag of mouldy bread that we found in a drawer in the room when we arrived (clearly left over from the last guests who had stayed there), and one day they didn't remove our dirty coffee cups from the room when they cleaned it.
-The toilet paper was coarse and rough, although this seems to be the norm for bathroom tissue in Bulgaria.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and recommnd this as an affordable and convenient option if you're staying in Plovdiv.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN IRELAND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here recently the hotel is new very clean and staff speak english excellent rates

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nord

Address: 33A Ibar Str., Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique type of a business hotel, the brand new three star Nord is situted just across the Main Entrance of the International Fair Plovdiv, only minutes away from the Old Historic Plovdiv, and in the downtown area of the city, close to its main business street. The lobby area impresses with its vanguard style, coziness and comfort. The hotel has a conference room. Its spacious guestrooms have free internet access, minibar, AC, central heating, WC with a hair dryer, minibar, cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.