We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlike any other, but in a nice way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maritza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maritza to your Saves list
Hotel Maritza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Tzar Bors III Obedinitel Blvd, Plovdiv 4003, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Plovdiv
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Unlike any other, but in a nice way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The decor is a waaaay over the top, but it is meant to be. Totally theatrical and quite sexy. It has to be seen. If you want to experience an exotic hotel in Plovdiv, give it a try. I found some of the staff a bit odd, but that's Bulgaria. I found the level of food and comfort as good as any other in Plovdiv, but the decor is completely out on its own, in a nice way. It's like that friend with a big personality. Great for a short time, but would be too much after a few days.

Room Tip: It's cheaper to book online at Olotels.com or Agoda.com. They charge a higher price at the desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    9
    13
    6
See reviews for
5
8
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotel is overly ornate, but also run down. The bathrooms all have a bizarre smell that did not go away during our stay. The air conditioning was not reliable and our hotel room was often hot/humid. The beds were rather uncomfortable. On return trips, I would stay elsewhere.

The positive notes: We found the staff to be helpful when asked. As Rower's review states, the hotel is VERY affordable. The reception area is beautiful and the hotel restaurant is not bad for lunch or dinner. The breakfast was mediocre at best, but who expects breakfast at 50Euros a night?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was in Plovdiv for almost 2 weeks, and therefore decided to spend a little bit extra for a '4 star' hotel. I left disappointed. Firstly the rooms. Opulent, lavishly furnished, but mine was also extremely hot and was next to the main road so was woken up every morning by the traffic. The worst thing about the room was the shower, which leaked everywhere (there was no shower curtain) and was not fixed despite a request to the front desk. Also be aware that at the moment there is no use of the sauna or gym, as part of the hotel is being renovated. Breakfast was also poor, but maybe that is just a westerner talking as it was of a similar standard to the Sankt Petersburg hotel (which I have stayed in before)

Positives? Well the rooms are comfortable, and the location is right opposite the Plovdiv fair. Views over Plovdiv are also pretty stunning if you are high up but to be honest I would go for somewhere a little bit less grand, and probably much better value for money.

Room Tip: Away from the main road! A shower that works
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

DO NOT GO THERE NOT EVEN IF YOU ARE GIVEN HOTEL STAY FOR FREE..never in my traveling life have I been to a supposedly 4* Hotel which has left me sick in the stomach each day I spent there. We had to hold our noses and open our bedroom windows for fresh air in freezing weather.The nasty smell,as soon as you enter the hotel as well as the smell of sewage in our room was unbearable.The air freshner they tried to use to hide the smell made it worse. A HOTEL OF HELL.Forget anything the internet advertises it is all lies we just arrived yesterday AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID even the staff knew about the smell but they could not help us. Feels like we need a proper holiday after this. However Bulgaria is a nice place to visit if you know where to go. IT should be renamed as ZERO HOTEL AVOID.Wish the smell could be photographed but smells can't be.

Room Tip: Forget it just do not go......
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

First of all - the hotel was 50 Euros per night - for 2 people, including breakfast! Reception is like something from a film set - beautiful chinese vases (nearly 6ft tall), fabulous plants, and all sorts of quirky art deco pices - look for the telephone and stand near the reception desk. The room was - simply amazing - it made us giggle every time we went in - luxurious drapes, red and black furniture - we were upgraded to a suite, beautiful tiling in the shower room - and the aircon worked. Red lamps - it was like a bordello - and just gorgeous, in an 'over the top' sort of way. Breakfast was a bad as all the other reviewers have said - but have a light breakfast, and then enjoy lunch or dinner in any of the amazingly low priced restaurants. Yes - have to agree, the staff were a bit 'distant' - but all in all, worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidney, ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

As I write this I am in the bedroom of our "apartment". We have a king size bed which consists of 2 twin beds along with a sofa that pulls out to make a full size sofa. Unfortunately the hotel staff has no sheets for the pull out sofa that is simply a single cot only for one person and we are four people. The decor I would describe as gaudy in red, black and gold, the lamps are red and I mean really red. If you are familiar with some of Edgar Allen Poe's writings then you can imagine. The room seems clean and smells only faintly of smoke. The receptionist that greeted us Irina was very nice and courteous, however the rest of the staff reminded me of "bouncers" at a bar and really not friendly at all. My husband speaks fluent Bulgarian and he was the first to complain about their behavior as rude. We thought about using the hotel restaurant but the menu was relatively inexpensive but looked bland. We could not use the pool either. Free Wi-fi that works pretty fast and free parking if you can find a spo,t with cameras to monitor the parking area.

Room Tip: Just follow previous traveller's tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Wow, the service at this hotel was one big disaster. Starting from the breakfast, same items served for 4 days. If you happen to wake up later than 8:30 and the hotel is busy, you can say bye bye to breakfast " no big deal as it was tasteless". Reception area.... yeah I'm left without comments, this guy at the reception chewed gum all day and had very bad manners " I guess he thought he was in some pub or something" and when asked for advice his answer was " naaaa" which means do what you want. Room was clean and towel too. Surely will not suggest.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maritza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maritza

Address: 42 Tzar Bors III Obedinitel Blvd, Plovdiv 4003, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Plovdiv
#7 Luxury Hotel in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maritza 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Maritza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritza Hotel Plovdiv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maritza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.