We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star.... really?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hotel Trimontium Princess

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Hotel Trimontium Princess to your Saves list
Ramada Hotel Trimontium Princess
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Kapitan Raycho Str., Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria (Formerly Trimontium Princess Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Plovdiv
LA, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Five star.... really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were told that the Trimontium Princess is a five star hotel, and maybe it is per Bulgaria standards. While our room was pleasantly large, it needed an update. The bed was hard, the air conditioning did not function, and while most everything appeared to be clean, everything was also shabby. The lounge, the restaurants, the rooms and the outside of the hotel scream for an update. The breakfast is passable. The hotel is conveniently located next to the pedestrian shopping path and some Roman ruins.

Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor; if the air conditioner does not work you can safely leave a window open all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    69
    54
    17
    12
See reviews for
15
42
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weaverville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

In the states I would have rated this hotel as poor, however Bulgaria is not the states. The room was small, but did have a pleasing balcony. The beds were hard. The bathroom tiny and cramped with thin, rather rough towels. The air conditioning didn't function. The staff were efficient, but distant. Breakfast buffet was adequate. The big plus for the hotel is the close proximity to the pedestrian way and the archeological sites. For one night it is okay, but if you are planning a longer stay I would suggest looking elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichenau, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great town location, quite and excellent low noise for resting, very nice indoor swimming pool, friendly staff... strongly recommend to all travellers who need to stay at least one night in Povdiv city, Bulgaria...

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have great view to the town center. Corner suites are large and looking to i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edirne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What I like: Very good location, free wi-fi, nice outdoor-swimming pool in summer, friendly front desk

What I dislike: The hotel is quite old and tired, rooms need restoration,breakfast must be improved.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square are brighter and have more sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Trimontium Hotel appears to be THE iconic classic hotel in Plovdiv, not modern by any standards, but very clean, friendly, good simple breakfast, and an amazing location. I received a corner room on the top floor which was ridiculously huge (with some nice views) - it was somewhat comedic trying the watch the old school 12" TV from 10m away on the bed (I don't think there was even an english speaking channel anyways). Hope I get to travel to Plovdiv again, I will certainly stay at the Trimontium.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had to visit Plovdiv on buisness and my host placed me in this hotel. Dont know how it compares with other hotel's in Bulgaria as this was my first visit. It is a curious mixture of grandeur and basic furnishings. But it is clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall nothing to complain about yet something missing. Maybe a lack of soul? Anyway good location in the city centre, on its own square so it was a quiet night's sleep. It does what it says on the box, Offers a reasonable nights sleep in a clean environment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Excellent hotel! I spent few nights there and I would highly recommend! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was decorated with style . I had delicious dinner in the restaurant with fantastic Bulgarian wine!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Hotel Trimontium Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel Trimontium Princess

Address: 2 Kapitan Raycho Str., Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria (Formerly Trimontium Princess Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hotel Trimontium Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Hotel Trimontium Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Hotel Trimontium Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.