We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner was at our disposal during our entire stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renaissance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Renaissance to your Saves list
Hotel Renaissance
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Vazrajdane sq. 1, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Plovdiv B&B and Inns
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The owner was at our disposal during our entire stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was recommended by a friend of mine to use this family hotel during our stay in Plovdiv (it was me and my mother). I stayed for two nights there and I found it very convenient as location, also charming as style of rooms (pleasantly surprised to sleep in decorated in old traditions room, which has all modern facilities). Large beds - very convenient for sleeping. It was great that I had my car parked in front of the property with no any charges. And the main pedestrian street is just 6-8 minutes walking distance, there is a good open market for vegs just 2 minutes away.The Internet was fine in the room, the room and bathroom were clean.
The best part though was the special attention we received and the service we had from the hotel's owner. He was available for every our request - to call for a taxi, to give advices for the best place to eat, where to walk etc.He asked us each day for our preferences for breakfast and we felt really pampered at every moment.
The only problem was that the garden of the house (and the restaurant) was closed and we had no chance to stay and eat there although the weather was great and sunny - we have been told they keep it open only in the summer. I would definitely select this place for my next visits in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We chose the Renaissance because both our guidebooks recommended this place and we didn’t regret it. It is very conveniently located in the old town and also very close to the modern pedestrian streets as well. But as others have mentioned, the real highlight of the place is the owner himself, who speaks excellent English and goes out of his way to ensure that everything is perfect. We needed to go to a bicycle shop (we were on a bicycle trip) - he offered to drive us to the shop to save us the 20 mins walk.

The room was comfortable and clean (we had the big room for the price of the smaller ones) and the breakfast delicious and filling.

The room and hotel walls and ceiling are decorated with beautiful and intricate painting ornaments that apparently took 9 months for the two painters to complete.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A friend found this one on TA and we all loved the rooms, service, and the hotel. The manager/owner speaks great English is quick to ensure all your needs are met. He also sketched out all the sights of Old Town to see and pointed us to New Town too. Gave us a couple of recommendations for restaurants, both which were great and in the top five in TA.

Bed was comfortable and the heating took the chill out of the room. The only issue was the sheets were a little less than needed. Good shower and bathroom.

We had top leave early to get one of our party to the Sofia airport, so missed the chance to try the breakfast.

Great plus: Excellent internet in the hotel rooms. In fact, better internet than the Hilton, the Grand Sophia, and the Hotel Sense in Sofia!

Would stay here if we go back to Plovdiv and next time, stay late enough for breakfast! Good room rates too.

Room Tip: Room #5 faces the street and is the hotel's largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grotte di Castro, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A cosy hotel very convenient located in the old town. In good condition, well maintained and clean.
And above all, an excellent friendly service and guidance from the the managment.
A pleasant stay to a fair price. The restaurant was good as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a tiny hotel and the way it is run makes you feel special. Hotel is very well made in typical Bulgarian revival style & well maintained. Service is very good, location - can't imagine a better one (including parking!!)), breakfast - fresh homemade. One small point: the switches ("lazy switches") of the night lamps in the bedroom #5 are on the wall and are too high one has to get up from the bed in order to turn them off. The hotel owner is very helpful in providing guidance and assistance to guests - making their visit to the city easily enjoyable.
Overall, some people may consider it a bit upscale but you get great value for what you pay. We recommend this hotel for a very enjoyable stay in Plovdiv.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We (wife and I) were in Plovdiv towards the end of June 2013, for a couple of days.
We stayed at the Renaissance on recommendation, and were more than happy. Its time I do my bit for fellow travellers. Cheers hope you like the review. And please do rate it.

Location:
Couldn’t ask for a better location!
Renaissance is situated on the edge of Old Plovdiv and it is still close to downtown boulevard and pedestrian mall. Don’t miss the farmers market a couple of minutes’ walk behind the hotel; you’d get good fresh produce there.
Icing on the cake, you get to park your car right in front of the hotel free of cost.

First Sight:
From the exterior, it screams quaint and homely.

Interiors:
As you spend some time in the hotel and the hotel room it will slowly dawn on you, that the effort and dedication has come from Dimitar’s heart in restoring this 19th century house into his two floor five room, family hotel.
All five rooms (two twin beds, two double beds & one double bed with small balcony, large room) are air conditioned adorned in different deep pastel colours schemes. Walls and ceilings are painted in renaissance themes with matching reproduced period furniture. Hardwood floors with rugs make the rooms invitingly cosy. Quality of linen and tapestry are good and immaculately clean. The mattress is a bit on the softer side, the pillows are nice and fluffy. The air conditioning and fridge work well as do all the electrical fittings.

The bathroom is more western where the shower area/enclosure has a door (unlike Bulgarian). Believe me it’s a blessing, you don’t want to wade into a wet bathroom leave alone sitting on a wet toilet seat. All essentials are provided in the bathroom as expected, here I need to make a special mention of the super soft towels, great towels.
Overall, the rooms and the restaurants are very well maintained and spotlessly clean.

Food:
In-house restaurant, for resident guests to have breakfast and other meals is situated at the basement level, having the same level of detailing in the decor.
The espresso is fresh and aromatic, better than most we had in during our travel.
Besides the standard set daily breakfast menu the breakfast can be customized if you inform Dimitar a day in advance. The food is delicious and portions are well sized. The cuisine is traditional Bulgarian and European.

The restaurant (Cool Garden) is a great semi open air restaurant adjacent to the hotel. It shares the same kitchen and menu. They have a reasonable collection of good wines. Try the Bulgarian reds. Melnik is supposed to produce some great grapes, look for Shiroka Melnishka Loza it pairs well with cheese and game.
The service and friendliness of the waitress (sorry forgot her name…maybe Vjana) is an extension of Dimitar’s nature. Truly was a great experience eating here!

If you have the time, sit and sip a beer, preferably Kamenitza or Zagorka at the old restaurant (next doors), over-looking the parking lot around 7PM and watch the world pass by.

Services:
The level of guest dedication is what makes one want to keeping going to The Renaissance.
The genuine warmth and friendliness (right down the line) is seldom found in higher rated hotels. The effort to please guests is from within.

Unlike a many places the “on the house” offers are without any strings attached and are of good quality.
Free Wi-Fi works perfectly, filtered hot and cold water available 24/7 free, two pints of wine complimentary, complimentary second helpings of espressos customized breakfast and meals on request, free parking. We were even provided with complimentary laundry service (one pair of jeans and shirt) how good is that?

We stayed in Room No 5 (the apartment or the red room) extra-large room, with a small balcony front facing, overlooking the entrance and parking lot. I believe it is the best room, we liked it and would ask for it the next time around.

Room Tip: Room No 5 extra-large room, with a small balcony front facing, overlooking the entrance and parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I can only reiterate what most other reviewers have said, Dimitar is friendly, welcoming and helpful. I was particularly impressed by the incredibly whiter than white bed linen and towels and thought the hotel restaurant was very good value. Breakfast is plentiful in typical Bulgarian style! I was only there for a couple of days as I was visiting a local dentist (from London), but immediately felt relaxed and at home. The old town is beautiful and I was lucky enough to catch an opera by Verdi at the Roman amphitheatre (Atilla the Hun!), accidentally because we'd gone to the restaurant which overlooks the amphitheatre. So we got a fantastic view and great acoustics without buying tickets. I'll definitely go back to the Renaissance when I next have to visit Plovdiv.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renaissance

Address: Vazrajdane sq. 1, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renaissance 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renaissance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.