We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savory Salads” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dayana Restaurant 1

Dayana Restaurant 1
St. Dondukov 2, Plovdiv, Bulgaria
+35932623027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 123 Restaurants in Plovdiv
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Savory Salads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Bulgaria will school even the most traveled diner in the art and variety of "salads." They come in an array of offerings, with or without meat, few, if any without dairy. The yogurt here is every bit as good as that amazing treasure you'll find in Greece, and I daresay that the feta (what they call white cheese) is even better. The traditional "Bulgarian Salad" is very like a traditional Greek Xoriatiki salata (country style salad), but here they generally top it with grated (kaseri?) "yellow cheese and bits of smoked meat. In any case, Dayana offers the best of these amazing salads, and some lovely meat dishes as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    33
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best dining experience in Plovdiv”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

After trying several of the "top" restaurants in Plovdiv as advised by trip advisor and been disappointed by the quality of food and value for money, we eventually found a decent authentic traditional Bulgarian restaurant on our last night out.

Food is great with a huge variety to choose from the menu, the staff were helpful and diligent.

The restaurant itself seemed quaint and genuine it it's rustic decore and style. The severs even wore traditional Bulgarian dress, but don't be put off it's not a tourist trap.

The customers when we visited where all Bulgarians so we felt like we were in the right place.

Inexpensive and they even except Euros for those like us that just happen to have run out of Bulgarian Lira.

Well worth eating there, we will only eat out there on our next trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good traditional bulgarian meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This restaurant has an incredible choice of meat and barbecue meals. The prices are on a good level. Interestingly, the meals are served without side dish.
Antipasti are found in the category "salads".
Sit outside in the garden on the traditional furniture,if the weather is good enough.
The staffwears traditional costumes and is very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were recommended this as a place to eat. We were very disappointed, lot's of cats that pestered us throughout our meal, and the food was just not nice. We had the traditional salad to start and it was flavourless compared to others we have had. We then had a kebab and it tasted sour and so we never ate it .
The waiter serving us never gave us our change once we had paid. We normally leave a tip, but we thought the service was poor as was the food. So we waited for our change, and we waited for a long time and it became clear that the waiter was not going to give us our change. We eventually asked one of the waitresses if we could get our change, she was very abrupt, and tried to pretend that she did not know what we were saying. Eventually the waiter came and gave us our change. But nothing about our visit was pleasant.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Large restaurant with an extensive menu which offers a wide range of typical Bulgarian dishes. Service is relatively good, food is ok but nothing special. Not worth going out of the way to visit though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dayana Restaurant 1 also viewed

Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 

Been to Dayana Restaurant 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayana Restaurant 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.