We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Cafe Philipopolis

Art Cafe Philipopolis
29, Saborna Str., Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
+35932624851
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 123 Restaurants in Plovdiv
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Loved the food. I had a lamb kebab with Greek bread. Beautiful ambience. Nice garden. Overlooking the road down below. Service was good. Price was modest.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Deluxe Room with Very Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Very good food and attentive service. We sampled a number of offerings shared at our table. Lamb and spinach specialty a good choice. All were excellent. Many modestly priced wine options. Apple tart with a splash of creme anglaise and a scoop of vanilla ice cream a nice finish.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Meal, desert and service: VERY GOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had lunch at the restaurant's terrace, very nice atmosphere. Very friendly staff. I love risotto and felt tempted when the waitress described 'Risotto with king boletes', an exquisite type of mushroom from Bulgaria. Despite the unique and great taste, the meal is attractively presented. I got a sense that such a place would also have delicious dessert. Decided to order the best apple pie I've ever tried and I'm not a huge fan of apple pie. Definitely, it is worth visiting this restaurant when in Plovdiv. After I finished my meal, the waitress asked if I liked it, little things and care like that are memorable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in Plovdiv”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Convenient location in upper old town, with superior food and wine. Lovely indoor setting, as well as options for outside dining. Service was friendly and prompt.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kardzhali, Bulgaria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gourmet dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a cut above the other Bulgarian restaurants. Prices reflect this but well worth it. Luxurious decor and so many dishes to choose from a Bulgarian/English menu it was hard to decide. These meals are not meant to bloat you but all are very beautifully presented. Each course was a taste sensation, especially the aubergine and garlic starter. The chefs selected lamb cuts were melt in the mouth surrounded by a tasty bed of spinach and the sirloin steak was cooked to perfection. We recommend the Bulgarian red wine, Terra Tangra Grand Reserve - absolutely delicious. Service was great too and we were never waiting long and never felt imposed upon so had a lovely romantic meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Cafe Philipopolis also viewed

Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 

Been to Art Cafe Philipopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Cafe Philipopolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.