We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the best in Plovdiv” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ego to your Saves list
Hotel Ego
2 Eliezer Kaleff Str, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Plovdiv
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Among the best in Plovdiv”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed at this property for 3 nights in May 2014. The rooms are spacious, clean and well furnished. The staff is friendly and helpful. I only wish the breakfast buffet had more choices. While breakfast was included we didn't find anything decent in the hotel and hat to eat out each day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aida M, Director of Sales at Hotel Ego, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Artima, Thank you for taking the time to shareyour experience in our hotel EGO in Plovdiv. We are happy to have highly praised by its guests. We work every day to improve the diversity of our buffet breakfast. We provide and vegetables, milk, sausage, sirloin, eggs, bread and desserts. I believe that our guests will tell us what they expect to see at the breakfast table and we will gladly respond to their expectations.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest in Plovdiv, Bulgaria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Very happy with this hotel. Excellent location within easy walking distance of pedestrianised streets and Old Town, and I don't like walking far! Good restaurants also close by. Very good suite with a balcony. Very helpful staff. Some staff do not speak good english so be careful who you ask for help! Breakfast was good but the room is very small. That apart I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Nice situation just 5min from the amphitheatre. Rooms have a bit dim lighting that can strain your eyes but they are spacious and the old style window shutters are a nice touch. Staff is friendly. Parking can be better because its needed when the hotel is almost in the city center. Overall - not bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I've have stayed on numerous occasions for weeks each time, and its perfect. Staff speaks fluent English, and are friendly and amicable. Bathrooms are modern with a shower and glass doors, and the rooms are spacious and are kept very clean. There's very fast internet available in all floors, and the LCD TV has around 80 channels plus VGA/HDMI input. The room prices usually include breakfast, WIFI and free secure underground parking. The location is ideal; it's close to the city center, yet tucked in a quiet and safe street right in front of a park. (A taxi to the citky center or the mall would be 2 Euro). Also, there's 2 restaurants (1 with international cuisine) just outside the hotel, and its less than 100m away from 4+ bus stops, a 24 hour pharmacy and small convenience market. And lastly, prices are extremely compitive and there's nothing better for the money in the city. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: If you stay longer than 4 days, ask if they can give you the long stay 10% discount... Sometimes the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

When i booked Hotel Ego i didn't have high expectations ! And, to be honest, you shouldn't have them, too, when booking the hotel. But when you check-in with low expectations, you will be positively surprised.

The hotel is situated about 1 kilometer away from the train station (about 2 Leva with a taxi) and about 1 kilometer away from the city center (15 minutes walk). Directly in front of the hotel is a restaurant, which is okay, but the food is nothing to rave about, though almost all restaurants in Plovdiv seem to be a bit average.

The hotel consists of a small reception, a very small breakfast area, which can easily feel cramped when its full and of course the rooms. Our room, we had a studio, was really spacious, well appointed, though a bit dark. It had a bed, a sofa, a table, a desk with a chair and a kitchen area, where you could cook your own food. Well, the room had a kind of a dark feeling, partly because the light was so dim, but also because there were almost only dark colors in the room. But, i found the room pretty adequate. It was big, sufficiently packed with everything you could need and it wasn't heated like crazy, so the temperature was almost always on a good level. One thing though, housekeeping always let fresh air in the room by opening one window and never closed it. Meaning when you returned to your room, it was pretty cold in it. It took 30 minutes for the heating to heat it up sufficiently. But, rooms were clean and the bathroom was even really slick looking and it was a real treat to have shower inside of it.

Staff was a bit hit and miss. Not really professionally trained, but most of them were pretty nice, though never really helpful if you had a touristy question. Their english was also a bit hit and miss. Sometimes better, sometimes worse. The manager or owner however was the total opposite. Friendly, helpful and full of knowledge.

Breakfast was pretty basic, as almost always in Bulgaria.

Verdict: I liked my stay in Hotel Ego very much. It's not really a professional operation, but charming in many ways. The room was big, the price was right and i had very nice stay. Not to mention the city of Plovdiv, which is probably one of the nices in the country.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the pedestrian mall and old town. I was a bit dubious as its surroundings are not that welcoming but the room was spacious, shower excellent, and staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arrived in the evening for 2 nights and could park our car next to the hotel which was free parking. Dimitri on the reception desk was very helpful as were all the staff. The room was comfortable ,the shower room extremely modern and all were spotlessly clean. The breakfast was fine and enough for us. Wifi in the room was a benefit. Great value for the price. Restaurant Quinoa nearby is excellent and chef Nickolai speaks English as he has worked in the UK even though the menu is in Bulgarian so he can translate.

Room Tip: On a higher floor as there is a restaurant across the street at the front which plays music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ego

Address: 2 Eliezer Kaleff Str, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.