We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable rooms, with handy location for Old Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ego to your Saves list
Hotel Ego
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Eliezer Kaleff Str, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Plovdiv
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable rooms, with handy location for Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is about 15 mins walk from the train station and wheeled suitcases will take a bit of a battering from the broken pavements (a common problem in the country but don't let it put you off from going). The bathroom was very clean with a walk in shower and a good supply of toiletries and towels. The air conditioned modern bedroom had a window screen as well as shutters. A corkscrew was provided in the room and there was reasonable wardrobe space with extra blankets. Be careful of the bed frame as it is dark and protrudes outside the mattress and it was easy to knock into them (a few bruises!). The staff on reception were very helpful and English was spoken. There was plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast.
The Bulgarian restaurant opposite the hotel (XIX BEK) is well worth a visit with excellent traditional meals. There is a local fresh food market and some small shops a few minutes walk away, as well as an ATM.

Room Tip: Room 208 is opposite the sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here for two nights earlier this month. The hotel is about 1 km from the train and main bus station and conveniently located in front of an excellent Bulgarian restaurant. The rooms are modern and clean, and the bed was comfortable. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The only strange thing about the hotel is the funky art on the walls and in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel overall. The facilities are generally very modern, the bathroom in particular looked brand new. It was nice to have some fresh fruit for breakfast, as well as good coffee. Wifi was available all over the hotel albeit slightly intermittent in our room. Only issue was that the air con didn't relly work in our room. Being August it got pretty hot in the night. Still, definitely recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights with my husband.
We wanted a middle range hotel where we would easily park the car while not being lost in Plovdiv.

Ego hotel met our expectations.
Easy to find. room ok. Parking ok even if it's not a private parking with control.
15 mn walk max to the center.
The restaurant in front of the hotel is good and cheap.
The breakfast of the hotel is very simple : i would not advise to pay for it.

To conclude : good value for money, no néed to pay more

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed here twice in 3 years. My wife has family here in Plovdiv and the apartment are very small and does not allow us to all stay in the same place so it requires us to stay in a hotel. The hotels rooms are very clean and the rooms are spacious. The staff was very accommodating and was very kind. The hotel is very central and within waking distance of the best Duner that is open 24 hours a day. Im sure that I will stay here again and would recommend this hotel. The only thing that I would say is that the rooms do smell like smoke and the beds are not that comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

An excellent hotel located within a walking distance to the very centre of Plovdiv, the old part of the town is close as well. The room was well-equipped - the king bed was large enough for two of us to sleep on it, there was TV, free WiFi in the room and we had our room cleaned each day and the towels replaced with new ones.
I really liked the breakfast - it was not a pompous one but still there was enough abundance of different types of food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Traveling with 2 children during a very hot August. This hotel was very clean, cool and room was spacious. Staff were extremely helpful. Great restaurant right across the street with beautiful patio and a play structure. A bit of a walk from the hotel to the centre, about 5 minutes to the stadium. Good breakfast, good coffee. Wifi in the rooms. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ego

Address: 2 Eliezer Kaleff Str, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ego 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.