We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and friendly service, not so good breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant Kriva Cuprija

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Restaurant Kriva Cuprija to your Saves list
Hotel-Restaurant Kriva Cuprija
Kriva Cuprija 2 (Onescukova), Mostar 88104, Bosnia and Herzegovina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Mostar
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Great room and friendly service, not so good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for about 3 nights in June 2011 and it's a great place to stay, close to all the 'action' in Mostar. Very clean room as well and friendly service. Strange there wasn't a seat in the room though, so used one of the outdoor seats. Didn't use the restaurant as it's overpriced. Breakfast is very average, with sometimes old bread and yoghurt way passed its date it should be used. All in all not bad, but would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    43
    9
    5
    9
See reviews for
20
58
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great location for viewing of the Stari Most bridge. A bit difficult to find but if in the car, keep following signs to the Center of town and then look for the white with black/red sign. The hotel is tucked down beneath street level so suggest sending in someone to check in until you discover where the car park is. Be careful with a manual transmission and getting your car in and out of the very steep gravel driveway!! Staff were incredibly welcoming and lovely. We ate lunch right away and asked for menus but our waiter asked if he could suggest some things. I said sure but could I see a menu. Never did get to see one. We had a charcuterie platter with savory fried donuts that was tasty and filled us up just fine with a couple of beers. But, then came a massive tray of chicken, meat patties, hot dogs and the famous garlicky beef chunks. We couldn't believe our eyes how much food there was! Ended up having some wrapped to take away to the room fridge. They said we could sign the check later when we had our pre-dinner drinks. We were encouraged to make a reservation for dinner but only thought it was a ploy to get us to eat there again when it was quite empty at 8pm. The room itself was very clean and lovely, seemed newly decorated although the bathroom handle kept coming off the door. Upon check out, we were given a total price for all of our meals, drinks, etc. but not an itemized bill. It seemed high to me and I wanted to ask for an itemized bill but it was one of those 'do we really care?' moments - we're on holiday and we had to hit the road so just smile and be glad we had a nice time and pay, etc. Advise to see the prices in advance though! Would stay here again regardless of feeling like they were taking the mickey out a little bit. Friendly and nice, good service & great clean room goes along way.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105 with 2 twin beds, not pushed together. Good location but maybe a wee too many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hugging the river that runs through the old town, this charming hotel is the best place to stay in Mostar. The hotel is nestled in-between the river, loads of trees and the crooked bridge. This being said it is a little challenging to find if you're driving in by car, but if you plug the hotel coordinates into a GPS system and then follow the signs to the Old City/Bridge, you should have no problems. Parking is what we had a difficult time with. My fiancé sat in the car on the side of the road while I ran into the hotel to ask where we can find parking. One of the workers was more than willing to walk us to the parking spot and helped us park the car. The parking lot, which is free, is down a steep, narrow hill into a little nook next to the river. There is a sign for the parking, but it's tiny and is located on the wall of a building so it's a bit difficult to see. So I recommend asking the hotel workers for help. After we parked safely without damaging the rental car, the worker carried our luggage to the hotel to help us check in. The walk into the hotel is very serene and tranquil with the sound of waterfalls, trees and brightly colored flowers all around. It was beautiful! During the check in process, they brought us to an air-conditioned room and brought us a cold drink of fruit juice. Already, we felt very welcomed to this hotel!

The hotel ended up giving us an apartment suite which overlooked the crooked bridge. This room was amazing. It had stone walls, wood floors, a separate lounging/seating area and thankfully a powerful air conditioner! We visited Mostar the first week of July and it was already 40 degrees Celsius. The hotel worker who assisted us with everything during our stay told us a hilarious joke "what's the difference between Mostar and Hell? Answer: 10 degrees!" So if you go in the summer, be prepared for extreme heat.

We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and had the best experience. We were the only ones at the restaurant, so they placed us on the balcony which overlooks the crooked bridge and the river. The food was absolutely amazing! We tried all the local foods such as the cheeses and cold meats and our main meal was a huge meat platter with fresh vegetables. Along with the meal we tried the local wine which was splendid! We liked the cold meat so much, the hotel staff gave us 1/2 a kilo of some to bring home with us.... for free! The hotel staff is seriously superb. They all speak incredible English and make you feel as though you've been friends forever.

The only downfall of this hotel, and it is a very slight downfall is the buffet breakfast. There wasn't too much offered, but perhaps we just got down there on the later side.

As everyone on the reviews have stated, the hotel is in perfect location for walking the town. If you want romance, historic charm, perfect location and incredible service this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

A lovely old town appartment with terrace. very roomy and good location to explore old town. very helpful staff including Alan who was really nice. Didnt manage to eat here apart from breakfast which was good. A well recommend place to stay in Mostar and great value compared to other places we saw for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel along the crooked bridge, minutes to stari grad. Service is very attentive, rooms extremely clean albeit small, and buffet breakfast perfectly adequate. Didn't try the restaurant, but had the best calamari ever in the restaurant underneath it, Taurus something.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The charm of this hotel immediately catches your eye as you arrive. All of the beautiful stone work, the river running by and fresh flowers everywhere create a beautiful, romantic atmosphere. Although the original structures are very old, they have done a beautiful job of restoration so that he rooms are clean and modern with working a/c. The staff only add to the experience as they were all very warm and friendly - after a 2 night stay I feel like I have a new friend and more than a tourist's understanding of Mostar and its people! Marajg was correct in her review - she should have taken Adi's recommendation on the wine. I took his advice and was not disappointed! The location is perfect for exploring Old Town as well as the other side of the river - just don't plan on wearing high heels on all of the cobblestones! As others have noted, it is a bit diffucult to find, however, the staff was more than helpful when asked for directions. My persistance in looking for the perfect hotel in Mostar certainly paid off!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Kriva Cuprija, particularly thanks to the lovely service. To begin, the room (#104) was perfect. It featured three large windows, one directly overlooking the water and a smaller bridge. It was also very clean, had comfortable beds, and a good shower. The building itself is lovely, made of stone with lovely rounded staircases, wood gates, pretty patio areas, and a restaurant balcony overlooking the water. As others have noted, the location is perfect for walking into old town or seeing the "front line," the Gymnasium and other landmarks from the war. In addition, the highly professional staff -- people such as Adi and Senada -- made the visit extremely memorable. For example, we decided to try the hotel restaurant. While it was a splurge for us, we put ourselves in Adi's capable hands, and he selected a slate of incredible Bosnian dishes. It was one of two best meals of our entire 11-day trip to Croatia, Bosnia, and Vienna. I view meals as a critical element of a vacation, so I did not begrudge the cost of that lunch-- I only wish I'd taken Adi's advice and tried the Bosnian wine he recommended, because I never saw that particular wine again during the trip. If we're fortunate enough to return to Mostar, we will definitely stay at the Hotel Kriva Cuprija again, and I highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Kriva Cuprija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Kriva Cuprija

Address: Kriva Cuprija 2 (Onescukova), Mostar 88104, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Herzegovina-Neretva Canton > Mostar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Mostar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Kriva Cuprija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Kriva Cuprija Hotel Mostar
Hotel Kriva Cuprija

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant Kriva Cuprija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.