We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Nina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Nina to your Saves list
Hostel Nina
Celebica 18, Mostar 88104, Bosnia and Herzegovina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Mostar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Best Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Its a shame I can only give this place 5 stars!
Upon arrival the older lady ushered me into my room, brought me delicious meal and when I wanted to pay she waved her hand with dismissal and assured me ,later. Tea was brought in the morning.The room was clean, wifi good. She set me up with a guide, and I felt as if I was an honored guest.She was genuinely happy to see me! She then dropped me off at the train station several days later. I hope to go again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
21
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in September and would agree totally with the reviews by BeeLazaric and DvdVen. My bus from Split was delayed but Jadranka waited for an hour in the late evening to pick me up and was friendly throughout the stay. Jacob's tour of historical Mostar was very moving, including locations and stories that added much to my experience of this unique place. Like BeeLazaric, I couldn't access the internet but managed for 2 days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

15 euros a night for a single room with a shared bathroom, wifi included.
Expect to wait for the bathroom, i always had to when i wanted to use it.
Room is clean, pickup & drop off to bus station is included, though i had to insist on getting the return drop off.
( Nina mentioned the car might not be there as they have to pick someone up and that i could walk - which i wasnt prepared to do with my bags )

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed 3 nights - What a wonderful family run hostel in the heart of Mostar! Nina, Jadranka (mama), Jacob (Nina's husband) were fabolous hosts. Booked a private room incl LCD tv, air con,balcony and one nice comfy bed with clean linen and towels. The hostel feels more like a homestay than a hostel. There is a common kitchen to use and PC. Great front garden area to relax in and overall just an amazing househould. Highly recommend the tour they provide for 30euros p.person get to see some great sights and is run by Jacob who has a huge history and geographical knowledge. Thank you so much for a homely stay - hope to be back again one day :-)
Please note: Wifi/Internet is tempermental cuts in and out on the lappy and doesn't connect to the smart phones. Abit annoying when needing to book more accommodation and do other travel things. But there is plenty of cafe's nearby that provide free wifi.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Private room with balcony. Spacious room with nice view, LCD TV, air con and comfy bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oss, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at hostel nina for two nights. The location, the room and the service were great. We were picked up from and brought to the busstation for free! We also had free wifi and we got a free city map. The room was very big. We even had our own flatscreen tv.We didn't have a private bathroom, but the shared bathroom was clean. It took 5 minutes to walk to the old centre.

Room Tip: We had a doubleroom. It wasn't expensive at all and you get a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I had no booking but was able to get a bed easily in the dorm at Hostel Nina. The hostel is in the familys house and is clean. They will pick you up and bring you to the bus/train statin if you so wish. They also organize walking tours for wich is quite nice to do because you hear real life stories. The family also owns a bar in the old town and if you do the walking tour, you'll probably end up there and get a free drink. :) Very, very nice people! would definitely recommend to stay in this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed at this hostel for two nights with a friend. Our overall impression is very positive and I would definitely recommend staying there. It's run by a family, and is kept clean and quiet, its location a 5-10 minute walk from the old town. They will take you to the bus/train station when you arrive/leave and provide you with all kinds of information!

We were charged 10 euros each for the room, which was shared with another person. This price seems to be what you have to pay for your average budget accomodation in Bosnia. The hostel provides a small garden where you can sit and escape from the heat in the evening. Some of the rooms don't have air condition, while some do (we stayed in one with and one without, and there was no price difference) so be sure to ask for air condition if you book early.

Two tours are organized; a walking tour of war sights in Mostar that I highly recommend. It's largely based on Ziko -Nina's husband's- personal recollections of the war which gives it a genuine feel and serves to remember that this happened not so long ago. I didn't try the other tour, but other travelers seemed to be pleased with it.

For those overly worried about their belongings (you needn't be), it might be useful to know that the doors of the rooms don't lock. Nobody seems to worry though, and I highly doubt that lost belongings has ever been a problem at Nina's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Nina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Nina

Address: Celebica 18, Mostar 88104, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Herzegovina-Neretva Canton > Mostar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Mostar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Nina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Nina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.