We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful church, more of a chapel really” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Church of St. Luke

Church of St. Luke
Trg Sv. Luke, Stari grad, Kotor, Montenegro
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 46 Attractions in Kotor
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
710 reviews 710 reviews
397 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
396 helpful votes 396 helpful votes
“A delightful church, more of a chapel really”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I know the guide books said St. Luke's was small, but I was shocked to see how small. It really consists of just one tiny room inside and outside it hardly fills a corner of the square. Nevertheless, it is beautiful in its simplicity. And really ironic that this was one of the few buildings to survive the most recent earthquake.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
148 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Little church”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Little church that seems beautiful but you must pay to enter and visit. I do not like going into churches and feel pressured to give money, so I limited myself to peek inside. Which is very sad. It would be much more interesting if the priest's attitude was different. It's preferable to let each one decide whether to give money to church or not.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Priest is full-time fundraiser with attitude and cruise critic lies about the altars”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

i was really excited to find this church because of a note on cruisecritic.com that says it is noted for having two altars, one for the the Eastern Orthodox Church and another for the Roman Catholic Church and that this shows the religious tolerance there. False. There is an Eastern altar and then a blank wall where, apparently, there was a Catholic altar 500years ago when it was torn down. Compliments for having had two altars, but boo to all the resources claiming it's still there (sadly also the staff of Holland America cruise lines claimed there were these two altars, causing me to seek out the church.)

Then there's the hustling priest mentioned in this last review as well. We had befriended some other local man well enough to translate for us to ask the priest about the 2nd altar (it was apparent there was only one). Then the priest showed us that he had Saint Luke's bone and was very clear that we should leave a donation there. So i reached into my pocket, pulled out all the change there and put it there near the Apostle's relic. What came out was 50cents in Euros and two American quarters. The priest picks up the two quarter begins speaking unhappily and then says "banks" is points down with his thumb and throws the quarters down in what appeared to be disgust. i would have taken the quarters back but we had lost the attention of our translator by this time and not being able to give a zinger back to him made getting the change back not worth it.

In the photo attached you can see the (beautiful) Eastern altar on the left, the blank wall where the Roman Catholic altar was on the right and in the middle you can see the priest helping some other man get some money out of his wallet for himself.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tiny church nestled in my favorite Adriatic town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

When I approached this church, the priest was in the door beckoning. He was so proud to show me his tiny serbian orthodox church, and I was afraid at first, since I thought I might feel obligated to pay or stay or who knows what? He was sweet and insisted on taking my picture inside and showing me this little source of pride and joy that he runs. I asked him (he spoke no English but my "sign language" worked fine) if I could buy a cute little box on his shelf which was the only box of any kind in the church. It was sort of beat up but I wanted to remember this sweet kind man. He sold it to me for five euro, and gave me some kind of prayer papers - not sure - but they were pretty. I have attached a picture, check it out.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of St. Luke also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Church of St. Luke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of St. Luke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.