We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Day by Kotor Private Tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Kotor

Bay of Kotor
Kotor, Montenegro
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 46 Attractions in Kotor
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Miami Lakes, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Day by Kotor Private Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Kotor Private Tours delivered an excellent experience during our recent visit. We really wanted to take the Blue Cave tour that our cruise ship offered but they were sold out. We contacted Kotor Private Tours the day before arriving in Kotor and they delivered a great experience. We found them on-line, made contact and agreed on tour all via email from our ship. We had a full day of non-stop sightseeing including a stop at the Lady of the Rock Church, a ride out to the blue waters cave, free time to swim at a local beach and finally a historical walk through town with Shira, tour guide. It was an awesome place and experience! This was one of our favorite ports, and the service we received on this private tour played a huge role. Thank you for your professionalism, reliability and hospitality! Elly and family

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    88
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
walsall, UK
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Amazing port to sail into!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Visited on a cruise ship. The sail into Kotor was amazing. Just like sailing along the Fjords. The bay itself was charming with wonderful scenery.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Over rated and polluted”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Don't choose the bay of Kotor or the Port of Montenegro near Tivat as a family summer seaside destination. The water is badly polluted due to poor sewage treatment infrastructure on the coast and leftover hazardous waste from ex Yogoslavian naval ships. Cruise ships and large boats spew out tons of carbon monoxide and sulphur which gets trapped by the mountains surrounding the bay. Add the thousands of cars clogging up the coast road and Kotor port and you have a veritable nightmare. Eat at the local seaside restaurants at your peril. Nothing here it seems is properly regulated or supervised. Only high up in the mountains in the national parks where the views are spectacular will you feel it was worth the time and effort to get there. Such a shame. The natural beauty of the place is being destroyed by human greed and corruption.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Sailing into the Bay of Kotor takes your breath away. From the first glimpse of land to the head of the bay and Kotor itself, the views are spectacular. Mountains surround the blue sea. Idyllic.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
500 reviews 500 reviews
279 attraction reviews
Reviews in 255 cities Reviews in 255 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
“Under-rated spectacular beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Wow!! What a beautiful place! I had no idea it would be as scenic and fabulous as it was. We were visiting on a cruise ship and this was my favourite stop. So unspoilt and just beautiful. The scenery is amazing. Cruising in and out of the bay was lovely and the little town of Kotor is in such a beautiful spot, so well positioned. I will definitely return for longer.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay of Kotor also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Bay of Kotor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Kotor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.